We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
FindHotel
Trip.com
Priceline
Agoda.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
15
8
1
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
15
8
1
3
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2019 via mobile

Palace decor rooms overlooking a river with multiple activities being carried out by villagers and some lip smacking local food as lunch and dinner made this halt before hitting Jaipur just perfect. This place is 170 kms from Jaipur , with a 10-15 kms off route from the main highway. Next to a now abandoned fort on a hill this palace is very well kept with manicured lawns , some geese and remnants of a forgotten chieftains mansion/palace. The caretaker takes utmost attention to detail and is very helpful. It's pitch dark at night due to its location and on a starry night the views can be just amazing.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SudipS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 March 2019

We were pressed by our tour agent to stay here , and the other reviews didn't seem too bad , but I'm afraid we turned up , had a look and walked away. Our key concern was lack of anyone who spoke English. We were the only potential guests , and the old guy who showed us around clearly had no English , and he seemed the only presence. How on earth would we get fed , ask for a beer etc? . The rooms were typical faded grandeur, vast but old furniture , doubtful hot water , one tiny fan-heater (it was chilly in February)..... Just got a bad feeling about the whole experience.
Not helped by him offering a very dubious glass of water and a "full but unspecified lunch" through our driver as interpreter. Its about 20km down a long dirt road in the middle of nowhere. I think the 4&5 star reviews are VERY "rose-tinted". Such a shame : the building itself is pretty and "has potential". Difficult to believe anyone actually stays here.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank alann6
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 January 2019

Not too many people seem to pass by this a bit hidden, but beautifully located heritage hotel. When I checked the book, into which one has to write all the formalities, I discovered my wife's name just on the previous page, although she had been here exactly a year earlier. Being here with friends she liked the place, especially for its setting, and wanted to show it to me as well, although she also has painful memories from here, due to the bite of a big centipede, which had been hiding in one of her sneakers.

The hotel is located outside a village, also called Rajmahal, next to the river Banas and below some rocky hills, which are part of the Aravalli range. On top of the closest one is an old fort, to which one can go up from the village. Entrance to the palace is through two gates, one with cannons in front, and first one comes to a green lawn by the restaurant and the open reception. Next to it - reached through another gate - is a courtyard, also with a lawn, around which the rooms are located.

Since we were alone we could select our room and picked No 4 out of 15 in total. It was a spacious room with a marble floor and a lovely arch in the middle, thus separating the seating arrangement from the two attached beds on the other side. It also had windows with coloured glass on top, through which one could look at the Banas river with women doing their laundry and kids bathing. At several places the paint came off the wall in the room and as so often in heritage places it had no wardrobe or drawers. Only at night I became aware that the bed was way too hard. Also the light was almost too weak for reading, so we had to use the headlamps, which we often take on tours.

Good and strong was the shower and it had soaps and shampoo sachets in the bathroom. We also liked to sit out in the courtyard in front of the room, do some reading, although one could even do bird watching there. What we didn't like was the fact, that when we came back the next day in late afternoon from a rather strenuous excursion the room hadn't been serviced yet. All the staff was idling around, chatting to each other, and only when we arrived they started to sweep everywhere like mad and to clean our room. Also in the whole hotel there was no WiFi.

The place is managed - and obviously not too well - by two rather strange and authoritarian old men with almost no knowledge of English. We especially didn't like their attitude to payment. Although we asked only for a soup and chapati's for lunch, they told us that we have to pay for a full meal anyway. As said we were alone at the hotel. There had been no complimentary water in the room as elsewhere and they had the strange habit to constantly bring fresh chapati's for the meals, or toast for breakfast, which we couldn't eat anyway. Checking the bill at the end we saw that we were charged all the chapati's brought, eaten or not. Obviously they had exactly counted them. To us this was not very hospitable and rather ridiculous.

The typical Rajasthani food itself was quite good, but it was only served inside, in the restaurant, not at one of the tables in the courtyard. Kingfisher beer was available, though only the strong variety. On the second day they brought us for dinner most of the plates, which we had already tasted for lunch.

With some renovation, especially in the rooms, and some professional English speaking management this heritage hotel could be a top selection for a quiet holiday - due to its architecture, its layout and the wonderful surroundings. Also the people in the village, where it is fun to walk around, are among the friendliest we have encountered in Rajasthan.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank saronic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 November 2018

We were to book a hotel in bundi and after lot of hotel photographs and reviews we zeroed in on this hotel and then saw that it was 55kms away from bundi. We still booked it since it also offered breakfast and one meal included tariff. It is 14kms inside from nh52 , entry from dolta more reasonably good road since the road also takes you to bislapur dam. It is a typically old time haveli or palace with one entry gate then second gate and you see a huge lawn and a mandir. Another gate and you are in a courtyard about 40 x 70 ft with rooms around it, kitchen and dining room good for 30 people and the only place which has television. Go to another gate and it takes you to another courtyard around 50 x 90 ft surrounded by rooms. Most rooms are suite rooms very basic in nature offering double bed, one 3+2 seate sofa attached toilet and a/c. The beuty of this place is enjoying your bed tea in the lawns, for breakfast and dinner it is mandatory to go to dining room. The palace has a lake at the back side Wich has little less water this year due to scanty rainfall in this area.
You should only book this hotel if you don't need television and love to be near nature whenever possible. Almost no sound and service is excellent. Mobiles work so does internet. It is also good for gettogethers but distance from Delhi is little daunting. Toll from Delhi to deoli are RS 65/80/130/80/125.

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank yash g
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 November 2017

Hospitality is very good. The environment is very calm and peaceful. Lovely natural surroundings with lots of greenery.
You have to tell menu in advance so that they can arrange for the ingredients. Taste is like homemade food.
If you are used to drinking treated water then always order bottled water because they normally serve water directly from the tap.
You can even pluck some seasonal fruits from the garden.
Be aware of the monkeys. If you want to enjoy the early morning breeze carry a stick provided by the guard.
Before checking into the hotel you can visit the nearby Bisalpur dam.

Room tip: Since limited number air conditioned rooms are available book in advance depending on the weather.
Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank akgaur_45
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews