We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Everything we hoped for!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Post Ranch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Post Ranch Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Big Sur
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Worcestershire, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Everything we hoped for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

I was very worried that the Post Ranch might not live up to the hype. I had nothing to worry about. We booked one night in the middle butterfly room ($625) and lower butterfly room ($575) about 9 months ahead of our trip via email direct with the hotel. The booking was easy.

On arrival we we're greeted with a glass of either Champagne, orange juice or water. The staff were friendly and helpful. My husband and I stayed in the middle butterfly room and my in-laws in the lower. I was impressed that the hotel had thought to put us in separate butterfly buildings - giving us privacy.

The middle butterfly room was wonderful - spacious and yet cosy with a built log fire, we even had a tiny glimpse of the ocean from one of the windows. If you have noisy neighbours then you can hear them in the butterfly rooms but most people are very considerate. I would recommend the Butterfly houses even though they are not on the cliff with the amazing sea views. There are so many private seating areas to soak in the magic Big Sur views. However, next time i will be confident to spend a little more to have an ocean view as I am certain it will not disappoint.

One of the things that delighted us is all the extra touches - for example, they provide a free stainless steel water bottle to use while you're there and to keep, the fridge is packed with goodies that are included everything from juices, cheese, crackers, water, chocolate, nuts to wine and cookies. You are even given some californian poppy seeds as a keepsake.

They really have thought of everything. The bed was very comfortable, the views are of course unbelievable and the grounds and flowers are like a slice of heaven. The cliff edge pools are open 24/7 and we took the opportunity to see the sunrise from one - amazingly we were alone. This is another great thing, the accommodation was all booked on the night we stayed yet the place did not feel in anyway busy which added to the relaxation.

We ate in the restaurant on the evening and the food was super. Breakfast was the best we had on a 19 night trip to the USA. We ate outside on the terrace.

We were so sorry we hadn't booked for longer. We plan to return. Thank you for a great stay!

Room Tip: Go for an upper butterfly. There is a tree house close to the restaurant that must have an ocean vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Boo1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    917
    95
    47
    18
    24
See reviews for
59
846
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, TN
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

I have visited and stayed at THE POST RANCH INN many times over the years and I am never disappointed. It has one of the most beautiful locations I have ever experienced. It is quiet and peaceful and an ideal place to just relax and enjoy. I was there with my lady friend for a three night stay in late March when there was still a bit of a chill in the air, but the wood-burning fireplaces take care of that. I hope to return again next year.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jesret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

If you are driving along the Pacific Coast Highway then we thoroughly recommend that you stop in at the Post Ranch Inn.

- Fantastic location - The views from the restaurant are awesome. You are perched high above the coast and if you look hard enough you will see whales in the ocean
- We just stopped for a drink and to admire the views - they had plenty of space in the actual restaurant to eat but the patio was fully booked, so i would suggest booking in advance if you want to eat outside.
- Staff where very good.
- A real treat would be to stay for the night in one of their rooms, which are nestled into the top of the cliff. This is something we will definitely do when we next pass through.
- Plenty of parking
- Will return and hopefully stay the night next time

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Canadauk2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We spent two very relaxing days in a Coast house at the Post Ranch Inn on a package deal which included an hour-long massage and a dinner at the Sierra Mar restaurant. The setting is stunning - amazing Pacific views, wooded grounds to explore, heated basking pools (almost deserted when we were there and perfect for a quick dip on a cold morning or under the stars), a wide variety of wildlife, far from city life. Yes, it is eye-wateringly expensive, but well worth the splurge for a special occasion. Every member of staff we encountered (reception, cleaning, restaurant, spa) was warm, friendly and quietly efficient. The upper coast house was spacious well-equipped and very comfortable with stunning views from inside as well as out on the private deck. Uninterrupted panoramic ocean views with beautiful sunsets. Bliss.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank svoloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Post Ranch in April. It is by far the most beautiful place I know on the West Coast. Service, amenities and setting are impeccable. It is expensive but the number of stuff per guest and quality of everything easily justifies it. We stayed in a tree house that I think is better designed than the more expensive ocean front houses. Maybe I just like trees. There is a great lap pool where nobody ever goes to and many hidden lovely spots around the property. It is a very quiet and delicate place mostly, but we met some very interesting travelers at the bar. No television anywhere in site, great music system and working desk with a view. Great place to write or read. Restaurant is very good, but in this New Yorker’s opinion, overrated. The only things that clashed with the general tone of tasteful understated luxury and Scandinavian rationality were the “sealed safe” fireplace (so well isolated that it makes almost no heat) and rather stupid looking black Lexus SUVs that shuttle guests and waiters around. Really the ranch is not that big and most guests are thin. A golf cart would have worked as well.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mgelfand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Sur
30.2 km away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
38.5 km away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
34.4 km away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.6 km away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#10 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
1.0 km away
Ventana Inn & Spa
Ventana Inn & Spa
#4 of 8 in Big Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
32.1 km away
Carmel Valley Ranch
Carmel Valley Ranch
#2 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Post Ranch Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Ranch Inn

Property: Post Ranch Inn
Address: 47900 Highway 1, PO Box 219, Big Sur, CA 93920-9576
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Big Sur
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Big Sur
#1 Green Hotel in Big Sur
#4 Family Hotel in Big Sur
Price range (per night): ₹ 68,508 - ₹ 1,53,774
Hotel Class:5 star — Post Ranch Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Post Ranch Hotel Big Sur
Post Hotel Big Sur
Post Big Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing