We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (683)
Filter reviews
683 results
Traveller rating
191
244
138
61
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
191
244
138
61
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstate parkvalley viewseparate bedroomwild turkeysgift shopmain roompfeiffer beachhiking trailsblue jaysheated poolwi fithe cottagescell phone servicepeace and quietcoffee makergeneral storeparks
Filter
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 683 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2018

We stayed 1 night at the Big Sur Lodge. The bungalows were tucked among the redwoods, a very nice setting, close to Pfeiffer beach. The night was quiet. There were a couple issues though: wifi was not incuded in the price, and the bungalows were not in very good condition (damaged bathroom shade, grungy shower).

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Bass957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana C, Manager at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2018

Your points are well taken and we will look in to the maintenance issues that you have brought up. Big Sur is remote and wifi is generally not available. We hope to have a system in place before your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

Retro lodge in a gorgeous setting. The room was spacious and the bed was so comfortable. Quiet time is 10pm so it was easy to fall asleep and very peaceful. The staff make this place; so kind and knowledgeable. The food in the reasturat is overpriced for what it is, but I loved the hotel so much that it didn’t bother me too much. Great hikes around the lodge, too. I’ll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana C, Manager at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2018

Megan, I will pass your kind words on to our staff! We love Big Sur and we love taking good care of our guests. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

For $450 per night, guests should expect more than what is actually the case. I wanted to really love this place, but unfortunately it didn't turn out to be what we had hoped for. We had to pay extra for internet, our room had a fireplace but it was in such a weird location (Kitchen!), and the patio/deck faced out to the parking lot of cars. Sadly, not worth the money and will spend the money elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana C, Manager at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2018

Thank you for staying with us and we are so sorry that we did not meet your expectations with our kitchen cottage.. Your cottage had a wall heater with the ‘look’ of a fireplace and we are sorry that we had that miscommunication. We hope to have a chance to wow you on a future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

We stayed on NYE, 4 adults and 2 children. The park and Pfeiffer beach are amazing and the lodge is close to it all. The rooms were bigger than expected and very clean! We loved it so much that we decided to come back and stay longer next time!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MaddiD7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana C, Manager at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2018

We loved hosting your beautiful families! Thanks for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018

There was no housekeeping, mediocre restaurant, and hardly any trails open. I thought there would be more hiking opportunities, given that it is in a State Park. But, the room was nice and the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ellen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana C, Manager at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

We are sorry that our amenities did not meet your expectations. As the year progresses, more and more hiking trails are opening. Last winter really took its toll. Do check back this summer when most trails will have reopened.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews