We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (686)
Filter reviews
686 results
Traveller rating
193
245
138
61
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
193
245
138
61
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstate parkvalley viewseparate bedroomwild turkeysgift shopmain roompfeiffer beachhiking trailsblue jaysheated poolwi ficell phone servicethe cottagespeace and quietcoffee makergeneral storeparks
Filter
Updating list...
175 - 180 of 686 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2017

Beautiful setting. Quiet, peaceful, with so many wonderful hikes and walks. One can definitely leave the world behind in this treasure of Mother Nature. Lodge rooms comfortable, with great patios for a morning cup of coffee and night-time star-gazing. Very disappointing restaurant experience. Would not return to it. Lots of nearby options.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank judydow66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana C, Manager at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Hello Judy,
Thank you for staying with us. We are happy that you enjoyed all that Big Sur has to offer. Of course we are sorry that your restaurant experience was disappointing. We hoe to be able to give you a wonderful restaurant experience on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

This is a nice place nestled among the redwoods. Some of the rooms are shabby and badly need updating. The staff at lodge is generally friendly but the woman who did checkin was not very knowledgeable about the property and kept having to go into back office to consult with manager. I ultimately asked to speak directly with manager who resolved my problem

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank amjabara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana C, Manager at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Oh my! We just remodeled each and every room! It looks as though you started with a fully renovated King room and moved three times; ending up in our best Kitchen Suite with full kitchen, fireplace, lovely living room and private bedroom. We are happy that, at last you found the perfect suite for your three day stay with us.Our apologies for all of the confusion with your reservation and type of room at the front desk…thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Beautiful setting. Clean and comfortable cabins newly rennovated. Close to several awesome State Parks and hikes.Relaxing and peaceful. So happy we had the opportunity to stay at the lodge right in the park. Food not so great.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Agnes H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana C, Manager at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017


Thank you, Agnes for your review. We are constantly working on new menus and are sorry that the most recent iteration did not meet your needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Service was satisfactory. The amenities were minimal. The rooms were recently updated. Bed was good, but for the temperatures, the bedding was too light. Did not feel we got the value for cost of the room and service provided. The Big Sur Lodge is located in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana C, Manager at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Thank you, Patricia. We strive to keep extra blankets in the closet. If ever you need anything in the future, just inform front desk and we will immediately bring you another layer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

The mattress is not comfortable. Could use a better mattress. This is an area of service that is most important to me as a customer. My email is rimera@mac.com
I love Big Sur and would happily come back.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank alohaalice2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana C, Manager at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Hello Rima, we are sorry that our mattress did not work for you. We replaced every mattress this year during our renovation. They are brand new. I will shoot you an email so that I can better understand and so that I can see what we can do to make your next stay more comfortable for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews