We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (729)
Filter reviews
729 results
Traveller rating
210
257
146
66
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
210
257
146
66
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews state park valley view separate bedroom hiking trails wild turkeys gift shop main room pfeiffer beach heated pool blue jays wi fi beautiful area redwood forest the cottages general store full kitchen peace and quiet
Filter
Updating list...
258 - 263 of 729 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2017

Average accommodations for price. Staff was lukewarm. We felt that the location was prime but given road closures it was not a good tome to visit. Staff often assumed we were not guests and were not always joyful to help. Gift shop was above average. Location was perfect but cost was high.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

Chandra at the main desk was delightful. She goes above and beyond to make sure your visit is special. Check in and check out couldn't have been smoother. Have been visiting the Lodge for over 30 years and can't imagine staying anywhere else. The recent renovations in the cabins are very nice. James in the restaurant is also a gem. Very conscientious and attentive. Can't wait for my next visit!!!!

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank kayp941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

Arrived by tandem for our overnight stop. Was very disappointed to learn that the restaurant would not be open to serve an evening meal. Luckily our guide was able to take us by car to a restaurant a mile or so away. Advice is check when booking that the restaurant would be open. It also didn't open for breakfast until 8, we were leaving at 7! Our lodge/cabin was quite spacious but could have been a tad cleaner. It was also very warm when we arrived and the inside of the lodge/cabin was like a greenhouse!

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana C, Manager at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017

Thank you for staying with us at The Big Sur Lodge. With the bridge and road closures it has been quite a challenge. We appreciate your input. We have a bright red banner that runs across our website stating that the restaurant is running on limited hours. I am so sorry that our challenge became your challenge. We look forward to seeing you when all the roads are open and our hours are longer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017

Had a reservation for two nights on our honeymoon. Drove down from Monterey and tried to check in at about 5:30 pm. The office/restaurant/gift shop is just off the highway at the bottom of a hill, and after checking in, you drive up the hill a bit to get back to the rooms. We got the key, drove back to one of the farthest rooms, and the keys did not work. Drove back to the office, had the keys reprogrammed, drove back to the room again - still did not work. Drove back to the office, they gave us a different room with new keys. Drove to the new room and wow...bed had not been made, towels and trash thrown about the room, a complete mess.

We figured that was the third strike, and since not much of an effort had been made since the key didn't work the first time, and this is a remote spot, we didn't really trust them to provide the basic service needed of a hotel. The hotel did refund our stay.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank H2O_log
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile

I bought a green jade necklace for my wife. The jade is local and non commercially mined. The supply is limited. The color quality of the jade was excellent and it was translucent in the light. I am well pleased with the value and quality of the jade

We missing seeing the waterfall because the bridge was out

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank davepamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana C, Manager at Big Sur Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

We are so pleased that you found that jade! There is something magical about art and jewelry that is created in the place that you visit. All the ‘locals’ wear their favorite piece of jade; so welcome to the family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews