We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
Nearby Hotels
US$ 443
US$ 337
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 499
US$ 467
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 372
US$ 341
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 399
US$ 265
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 813
US$ 445
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 489
US$ 302
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 522
US$ 448
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 746
US$ 574
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
28
45
16
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
45
16
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsliving roomlounge chairsstay there againfull kitchencoffee makerbeach accessburner gas stovemin walkocean viewsmall poolbeach loungerspatio doorsbottom floorthree nightscleaning stafffirst floormain building
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 96 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2011

This was our first night in Mexico. At check-in, a note informed us that one of our oceanview studios had been upgraded to a suite ("more spacious"), which was nice. Our cost was $75 USD per accommodation for the night. There were very few other hotels guests. Since it was our first view of the sea, we were obviously ecstatic with the surroundings.
That said -- a) it was difficult to figure out where the hotel actually was from the information on the website. Finally found it by getting out of our car and wandering. b) in the suite, the tv kept going on and off during the night. c) this was our introduction to "don't flush your waste paper, put it in the garbage container" toilet routine, so that was an adjustment. d) there is little or no attention paid to interior design, the rooms were functional/sparsely furnished. e) air-conditioner was noisy but we were glad it worked! f) nice beach chairs and of course that view of the sea; g) the suite had a very large bathroom; the studio had shower stall on one side of the room, the toilet stall on the other side of the room, with the kitchenette area in between.
I felt it was adequate for one night, but it is not a very romantic or atmospheric place. That said, we did meet a couple from Toronto who are staying there for five months and obviously happy with their choice.

Room Tip: Specify actual beach FRONT because our studio had a "view of the beach," but was not really near the beach at all.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twincitiesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2010

I took my 23 yr old daughter with me for her 1st Caribbean vacation. We stayed for a week over New Years. What a great experience! We found that the Hotel lived up to all the great reviews. The employees could not be more accommodating and helpful. The rooms must have been 800 square feet and looked exactly like the photos online. Our bottom floor suite led out to a green lawn and then down a couple of stairs to the white sandy beach. The only 2 problems we had were immediately taken care of. 1) the rail on the fridge door broke breaking 6 bottles of cervesa which was cleaned up pronto and the beer replaced by the hotel. 2) an ant trail suddenly appeared off our little porch and another employee sprayed them and cleared up that mess pronto. Clean bedspeads appeared midweek which proved they did not eternally leave 'that scary hotel bedspread' as many top hotels chains do. Beach towels were provided along with any other requests large or small. One night I decided to cook up a pot of stew and half way through discovered that the pot provided was no where near large enough to hold all the fixings I had chopped up. The young fellow on duty ran back and forth with different pots until I received a good size one. Like I said, accommodating. We enjoyed ourselves so much that I have booked a month for next Dec/Jan. Can't wait!

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

We stayed at the Suites Arrecifes from 12/24/2009-1/9/2010. The suites are very roomy. Sheets are nice and the bedspreads got changed often.
They had 2 double beds in the bedroom and a couch that made into a bed in the living room. I had a scheduling overlap and Liala offered to put a rollaway in the living room for 2 nights. The living room is big enough I could have done it if I had needed.
There is air conditioning in the bedroom only and we needed it every night. It worked well. We got a nice cross breeze going during the evening but once you closed the beach side slider, it was to hot to sleep in the living room. The toilets flushed well and the water pressure was good in the shower. The staff was very friendly and we each spoke enough of English and Spanish that we got along fine. There is a water dispenser in your room. The first 5 gallon jug is free, after that they are 30 pesos a piece. It is a half mile walk to town center but the main street is well lit. We walked it many times after dark without any problems.
I would recommend the Suites and will be going back again next year. Thanks to Laila and the rest of the staff.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank volksie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

We stayed here for our anniversary and were looking for somewhere secluded and inexpensive. Beforehand, the hotel was helpful answering questions about directions and accommodations in English. Once in Puerto Morelos, we realized the directions were completely wrong and no one working at the hotel spoke fluent English the entire time. We had to rely on our little Spanish. The room was not fully air conditioned, only the bedroom had a/c, so about 1/3 of the suite had a/c. That meant the living room, bathroom, and kitchen were very hot and you had to leave the doors open to get any air flow. It had a beautiful view and was inexpensive; however, on the weekends and holidays locals swarm the beaches and are there in large groups crowding the beach. Many locals vacation here. The family beside us in a one bedroom suite consisted of 11 family members all staying in the room who were loud and could look into our suite while on their balcony and the stairs - not very private. The lack of a pool and lounge chairs were also huge negatives. There were lounge chairs, but they were snagged early in the morning with towels from other people staying there, even though they were not used by the family most of the time. Next time, I will spend the money to stay at an all-inclusive. There are a few inexpensive restaurants, but most are nearly U.S. prices and it would have been more relaxing to be at an AI with a fully air-conditioned room, pool, and drinks and food closer and included. For the price, I think we would've even saved money getting an all-inclusive. The staff was nice and tried to be helpful, but the limited English really was a minus.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RWAJ08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yellow_seahorse, owner at Hotel Arrecifes Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2010

Thanks for your comments, because it gives us the opportunity to identify our areas of opportunity and keep improving.
We are now specifying in our room´s description that a suite has air conditioning in the bedroom and a fan in the living room, and we recently acquired more beach lounge chairs for our guests.
On the other hand, the maximum capacity of a suite is 5 people, and perhaps when you saw more people could be friends from another room who were meeting there.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2009

I stayed at Arrecifes in November and again at the end of a longer stay in March. It's a 2 story apartment hotel located a few blocks north of the zocalo (town square) along a white sand beach. It's quiet and very clean. There are about a dozen units that face the water with a covered patio and a couple more on the street side that are studios. The larger units face out on a lovely lawn ( a rarity in these parts) edged with tropical plantings. All are well-equiped with cooking utensils, a 20 litre bottle of purified water, refrigerator and cook top range. The units are well described in other reviews and I will agree rather than repeat it all. The beach is fine white sand with the reef in sight. Each morning early risers are treated to a magnificent sunrise on balcony and in the living room. There's a nice walk left (north). Within a hundred yards is a stretch of mangroves with interesting birdlife. The town is half a kilometer to the south past a series of private homes and small hotels. Between a 5 and 10 minute walk, beach or street; half that by bike.
The desk was open ~9-9 in November before the high season started and someone was there around the clock during March. It's an understatement to say they were helpful. They provided unusual care, included computer and cell phone help, keys-locked-in-car rescue and a ride across town with all my belongings.
Walking south, toward town, is some of the best snorkeling with a dozen or so coral heads and a variety of fish, rays and turtles. The best part: it's all reachable with a swim from shore by anyone who is an average to good swimmer. Partner up with one of the daily swimmers along the beach to learn the best spots.
This hotel is an outstanding value. A large fully-equipped apartment on the beach for under a hundred usd/ night. For me it has the perfect mix of access to town and amenities and the right amount of quietude in a natural setting.
If you're looking for night life, wild times and raucous fun, stay on the bus; Arrecifes isn't for you, nor for that matter is Puerto Morelos likely to be your cup of tea. Head to Cancun or Playa. On the other hand, if you're looking for some sun, solitude, or a place to write the great American novel, give this economical small hotel a try. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MPCamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews