We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (11,652)
Filter reviews
11,652 results
Traveller rating
7,674
2,610
913
223
232
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7,674
2,610
913
223
232
Show reviews that mention
All reviews diamond club sports bar splash pool butler service hunter steakhouse zen restaurant gourmet marche tex mex mangrove view presidential suite caribbean grill kids club rooftop jacuzzi hideaway section buffet restaurant guest services dinner reservations
Filter
Updating list...
1,157 - 1,162 of 11,652 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We recently stayed at the Royalton for our son's 8th birthday and had a wonderful time. The resort itself is very clean and beautiful. The pools are fabulous and the splash park was nice although my son said he was too old for it. He preferred the waterpark at the Royalton in Dominican Republic. The food was really good- our favorites were the steak house and the Japanese restaurant. The diamond club was a great addition and our butlers- Christian and Francine were awesome!! They made all of our restaurant reservations for us- I'm not sure how people without reservations get in the a la carte restaurants. If you are diamond club you should make your reservations the day you arrive as some of the restaurants you will need to reserve three days ahead. Christian and Francine made our son's birthday special by surprising him with decorations in our room, a banner on our door and a cake- all free of charge! He really enjoyed it! Overall this was a beautiful resort with amazing staff and we would stay there again. The only con I would mention is the beach- it was pretty small and covered in seaweed. A constant effort was made to clean up the seaweed but it was probably just a bad time of year for it.

Room Tip: Diamond club rooms ocean view or front are the best.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beach B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso L, Gerente at Royalton Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Beach B
We are very pleased to read that you found the Butlers not only “very friendly”, but also “helpful” and our service met all your requirement. We will share your kind comments with the departments concerned.
Hoping to have the occasion of welcoming you back at Royalton Riviera Cancun.
Luxury Regards
Alfonso Lopez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Round two at the Royalton! My wife and I stayed at the Royalton 3 months after it opened and enjoyed the resort so much that we decided to go back again, this time with brought our 11-month-old son.

We chose to stay in the Presidential suite because the separate bedroom allowed us to watch TV, play cards, go out the balcony, etc. during the baby's naps and bedtime (which started at 7pm most nights). The staff was as friendly as we remember and the only real issue we encountered was that the crib we requested upon booking wasn’t actually in the room when we checked in, and took an hour or two to actually arrive.

The room was terrific and, while it was a bit smaller than the suite we stayed in last time, there wasn’t much to complain about. The toilet broke once and was promptly fixed, and the cleaning staff (esp. Isaias) kept things looking neat and tidy each day.

The food was as delicious as we remembered and we appreciated how some of the restaurants (incl. the buffet) would purée and/or customize the menu for our little guy.

I whole-heartedly recommend buying the Diamond club package. The exclusive restaurant is alright, but the real win is the exclusive pool and chairs, the butler service, and the restaurant reservations. The pool was never crowded, and the ample seating around the pool meant that we could show up at 10am after breakfast and still get a shaded cabana bed. When you need to cycle the baby out of the hot sun fairly often, knowing that you have a covered bed right beside the pool makes the whole experience much more enjoyable. As for the butlers, ours were very attentive and did a great job accommodating our requests for dinner at the earliest available time (6pm) each night rather than spending time waiting in line.

We went to the kids pool once and it was perfectly fine, but our son seemed to prefer the peace and quiet of the Diamond Club (which worked out well for his parents).

All in all, I highly recommend staying at the Royalton with or without a baby, it’s a terrific place to spend your vacation.

Room Tip: Opt for the diamond club for dinner reservations, butler service, and quiet pools
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chrismillward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso L, Gerente at Royalton Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Christopher M
It is a pleasure for us to know how you and your lovely family enjoy our Resort!
It feels really good to acknowledge, through your words, that all our efforts to achieve our guests’ satisfaction have been worth it.
I am sure your comments will be a very nice motivation for our staff to keep on working and for future travelers to try our destination.
Looking forward to welcome you back at Royalton Riviera Cancun.
Luxury regards
Alfonso Lopez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

The pool areas are good, especially the kids pools. The beach is nothing special. Huge buffet restaurant with good food. Other restaurants are also nice. Location is a bit isolated and taxis are expensive.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Morten Schiøtt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso L, Gerente at Royalton Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Morten Schiøtt H
It has been really nice read your lovely review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the compliments and recommendation about our resort and we look forward for the opportunity to serve you again soon at Royalton Riviera Cancun.
Luxury Regards,
Alfonso Lopez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

I've been to Cancun MANY times, and this is a sad representation of the city and people. Especially if you are traveling without children, there are MUCH better options. I can not convey how completely disappointing this trip was.

Food - Terrible. There are multiple times throughout the day that you can't even get food as the restaurants weren't open. I didn't eat a fresh vegetable while I was there. Fruit was hit or miss on taste. Everything else was bland or a very sad representation of what a dish is supposed to be. The most palatable was the Italian Restaurant Grazie. Kids menu was limited, and when we ordered chicken nuggets at Zen, they looked like gray Styrofoam on the inside. Disgusting.

Service - Lousy. We tried REALLY hard to find service around the pools to no avail. Once I finally did find someone, even generous tipping would not get them to follow up on you. Service in restaurants was also pretty terrible. At first we thought it was a language barrier, but even pointing to the items we wanted still resulted in slow service and missed items.

Resort Credit - AWFUL!!! We received a $150 resort credit. Every time I have had one of these it is a straight credit. Upon arrival, we were informed that we would not receive a credit, but a coupon book for upgrades. $85 of the "credit" was towards a room upgrade that wasn't even available.
SMOKING - this resort doe not limit smoking except in inside restaurants. Even in our non-smoking room, everything smelled like smoke. Being around the resort, there was no resect for non-smokers, and we (and our children) couldn't escape it. At one point, we were surrounded by 4 tables of smokers with nowhere to move - and some people were even smoking next to their own infants!?

Atmosphere - LOUD. There was no place that was safe from loud music and the "entertainment" yelling into a microphone. There was constant loudness from 7am-10p. We could even hear this in our room and in the spa.

Spa - OVER-PRICED. We tried the hydrotherapy and it was just plain weird. It is usually my favorite thing. It felt more like a game show. A few minutes in each location, then you're moved to the next. At one point, we were put in a shower to stand back-to-back, while a primitive looking bucket of cold water was poured over our heads by the spa staff as they stood outside of the 'shower' pulling a chain on the bucket and laughing at how absurd it was. Not relaxing at all, and could still hear the bass of the loud music in the spa.

Gym - Needs work and is HOT. The first several treadmills I got on were broken. It was also very hot, and felt more like a hot yoga room.

Stores and Staff - Everyone seems to be on quota/commission here. If you enter a store, you will be harassed by the folks there vying for your attention. They will follow you around the store and tell you what to buy. We wanted to get a few items that we forgot at home, but decided against it - a .25oz bottle of saline drops was $15USD. Utterly ridiculous.

Bars and Restaurants - Bars mention that there are many, however they are nearly impossible to find with any convenience, and it takes FOREVER to get a watered down drink. The restaurants are difficult to get into, even with a reservation. If you don't get a reservation and put your name on the list, you will be told 45 mins, which could mean 60 mins or 3 hours.

Beach - unusable. The gorgeous white soft sand can not be used. The smell from the seaweed hits you the second you come close to the beach. If you manage to jump over/walk through the wall of seaweed to get to the water, you'll see that you can't even get into the water since it is mostly seaweed floating throughout the water and waves. Did I mention how bad it smells?

Pools - There were several pools, but getting a chair was a challenge. Even if you claimed a chair, they would move your stuff. After about 9am, the pools were white from sunscreen, had band aids floating around, and were pretty gross. During our stay, there were several times that the pools were closed for safety/illness/sanitary reasons. The lifeguards on duty at the slides wasn't paying attention at all, and kids got hurt many times. There were also very few places to rinse your feet from the beach, so all of the pools had sand in them.

Room Tip: Tips- Don't go
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank jgriffith1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso L, Gerente at Royalton Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear jgriffith1031
Thank you very much for your helpful review, firstly please accept our apologies for the areas that you fell short of expectations. Based on our standard we really take your comments to empower our operation, so it make us feel sad that you have been disappointed with services received.
I truly appreciate your recent visit and hope that you will return again very soon to have a taste of our Product with better expectations.
Luxury Regards
Alfonso Lopez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Staying at the Royalton was such a wonderful experience: the whole hotel is so well-kept and with a great modern-contemporary style! The rooms are amazing, the seating areas and restaurants too and don’t even get me started on the pools: so chic and stylish. The service was good (I must confess I loved the facilities more than the service, but it wasn’t bad)... Food and drinks were also nice, and lastly the jewelry store in the lobby, Fini, which was a nice surprise to start off with, because we were able to buy some very cute and charming pieces at great prices! The service at the Fini store was friendly and helpful, they explained a bit about the gems on the pieces… Look forward to staying here next year!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Azucena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso L, Gerente at Royalton Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear Azucena B
We are delighted our facilities and services meet your expectations of a five-star establishment. Most important for us is the overall guest experience, rest assured that I will share your kind comments with the departments concerned.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Royalton Riviera Cancun shortly.
Luxury Regards
Alfonso Lopez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews