We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Now Jade Riviera Cancun(Puerto Morelos)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Hacienda Morelos(Puerto Morelos)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
La Casa de los Angeles(Puerto Morelos)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel el Moro(Puerto Morelos)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cabanas Puerto Morelos(Puerto Morelos)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Condo-Hotel Marviya(Puerto Morelos)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Suites 918 Hotel(Puerto Morelos)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (7,217)
Filter reviews
7,217 results
Traveller rating
3,514
2,406
811
290
196
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,514
2,406
811
290
196
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplatinum clubmurphy bedcliff jumpinfinity pooltime shareplatinum servicebedroom suitekids clubconvention centerwater shoesboogie boardsitalian restaurantfamily vacationfire showmain poolmain buffetswim up bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5,101 - 5,106 of 7,217 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2012

This hotel is excellent for kids!!! The food is wonderful at the buffets, there are tons of fresh choices for everyone. No one got sick from food on our trip. The restaurants were great, and the staff is absolutely so friendly. There was always things for the kids to do all day long, from the water slide to the cliff jump and the fun games they play in the pool. The staff always had us going in some sort of activities! The kids loved the soccer and dodgeball on the beach, and the boogie boarding had them all smiling too. They also loved the spiderman pinata and the super hero show. It did sunshower a couple days for a bit but it was no big deal, they had spanish bingo with pictures and bracelet making going on to keep them entertained. I welcomed the cool minutes of clouds to read in the shade from the sun. The girks also got their hairbraided next to the pool and it lasted 2 weeks!! It was nice to keep their hair out of way in the pool all day. After dinner each evening their is always a show of some sort. And right before the show while waiting they of course do games for the antsy kids. They did hulahoop contest, musical chairs, and kids music dance. Very nice. There was a night when they did face painting for the kids too. All this was included, and it was terriffic!! Our room was very spacious and comfortable. I loved the balcony to read and have coffee in the am. We were in the last building back room 1141 and they were doing construction but we were by the pool all day so it didnt bothe us. The spa is gorgeous and there is a small gym overlooking ocean with machines and weights. Lots of people running along ocean in am. I am so used to people peddling goods on the beaches in mexico, but there was not 1 person on this beach who ever came up to us. It is very secluded and quiet beach. We made lots of sandcastles, and 1 evening they had karoke on the beach, with mini smores for the kids right there on the ocean. Very cool!! The kids loved making them after dinner. Also they have the Kinect by the pool in the evening, Guitar Hero. I think it was more a competition for the teenangers being that it was on medium, the kids all wanted it easy but Carlos was teasing them that they had to do it on hard, very funny!! Carlos was soooo great with the kids, and they loved his spanish lessons by the pool in the am. The lobby bar has nice music in the evening and the bartenders are super nice. We had to go to the lobby each evening to view all the professional photos that were taken of the kids on the beach and pool area everyday, and they were AMAZING pictures. Be prepared, bring cute outfits and get a family photo done for your home or a greeting card. They sell them on a disc for 10-12 dollars a piece. We had 5 kids there altogether with another family friend of ours and we had 300 photos by the end of the week in our file we saved. We bought the ones of the kids in the hammocks and of them holding the iguana, baby squirrel monkeys, parrots. Very, very cute. Next time I will be more prepared to get one of all of us. All in all, we had a wonderful trip, felt very safe always and super relaxed!! Thanks for the great vacation, we definitely will come back. You get ALOT for your money!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank lovetotravelwkidsllg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Dear family:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El CId Spa & Beach Resort I would like to thank you for your amazing review and for your stay with us.
We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed our resort on your well deserved holiday:)
We will be delighted to share your fantastic review with our hotel staff, our staff is our strongest recomendation letter.
We hope to serve you and your family again in a near future and from the bottom of our hearts we thank you for sharing your review and for your preference.
Best wishes and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed the week of feb. 18th to the 25th with my husband and 3 boys. My sister n laws came also with a total of 8 kids ranging in age 15-10. It was wonderful, never bored! There was plenty of choices for the kids, from the kids club, teen club and just the pool and beach alone. Everybody working there was so nice!! We went snorkeling right next door at the marina. Booked it threw the hotel, that was very reasonable. Bring lots of sunscreen cause it's very pricey there!! Food was great, lots of choices. If you have never been to the cancun airport just ignore then in the airport and walk right out or you will get talked into tours or time shares!! We will be back thought!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Moemac97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Dear family:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El CId Spa & Beach Resort I would like to thank you for your great review and for your preference.
We are so glad that all your group enjoyed our services and facilities.
Our main goal is to exceed the expectations of all our guests and mantaining our resort beautiful for all:)
We hope to serve you all again in another occasion and thank you again for your preference.
Sincerely,
Richard Bustamante and all our valuable staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We spend almost 2 weeks there in Feb 2012. We traveled with 3 generations of the family and we all had a great time. The resort was located close to a nice little town called Puerto Morales so walking into town was an option, or taking a cab was very inexpensive. Security in the resort was excellent and we felt very safe at all times. The staff were helpful, friendly, respectful, all made you feel special with 5 star treatment and had a great sense of humor. In fact, the staff was the best part of the trip. Our room was wonderful, overlooking the pool and ocean, beds were okay for comfort. Facilities and grounds were clean, tidy, and well maintained. We enjoyed watching the wildlife and flowering plants and informative displays on the local plants and animals. Pool was huge so you never felt crowded. The "cliff jumping" and water slide were a great addition. Food at the main buffet was excellent with many choices for all including kids. Many activities for kids of all ages as well as adults which were also fun to just sit back and watch, especially Crazy Hour. We enjoyed attending the evening activities/shows, particularly the Pre Hispanic show. It was nice to be exposed to the Mayan culture and to see how proud they are of their culture. There was little need to leave the resort if you did not want to as vendors came into resort on specific days, were not too pushy and willing to negotiate. There is also a boutique on site with reasonable prices. Easy to arrange outings from resort and prices were reasonable. The worst part was some of the other guests were quite rude, inconsiderate, and treated staff poorly, but I think the staff were always respectful back. We are already planning another trip for next year.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Dear friends:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El CId Spa & Beach Resort I wish to thank you for your perfect review and for selecting our resort for your past holiday.
We are so glad that all your family spent two nice weeks on this piece of paradise jeje:)
It will be an honor for me to share your amazing review with our hotel staff, the main resource of El Cid.
We hope to serve you all again in this your hotel and thank you for sharing your review with the world and for your preference.
Warm regards my friends!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Hotel Marina El Cid

We stayed at tis resort in Puerto Morelos Mexico from Feb. 6 to Feb. 16. We had booked through Orbitz and we booked the lowest category room that Orbitz offered. We did not book their Privilege package. At check-in we were offered an upgrade to a ocean front room on the ground level for an extra $200 total. How could we not take that deal?

Room-
Our room was very large with a large patio. The patio had two chairs and a table. The bath had a huge shower and double sinks. The view was great. We were steps from the pool and from the beach.

Food and restaurants-
I thought the food was wonderful at El Cid. I thought the food was very good quality for an AI resort. Breakfast every day was buffet at one of two restaurants on the resort. Lunch was at one of these two restaurants. There was a smaller buffet lunch in one restaurant and a huge buffet in the second restaurant. Except for one day, we had lunch at the smaller buffet. There was a man grilling steaks, burgers, chicken, and a few other things each day.
Dinner was at one of four restaurants. One was buffet and three ala carte. Reservations were required for the ala cartes. At one of the ala carte restaurants the menu changed every two days. Each meal that we had was from good to excellent.
The only restaurant with out of doors seating was the buffet. Some people would think that was great but, for me, I like to dine out of doors.

Beach-
The resort is on a great beach. You can walk through the marina next door and continue on to walk a very long way on the beautiful beach. If you go the other way you can walk into Puerto Morelos. There were plenty of beach chairs and a lot of shade on the beach. Bali beds were available to everyone. You did not need to take an upgraded package to make use of a Bali bed and you did not need to pay for the use of the beds. There was continuous waiter service on the beach. The waiters at El Cid came by many more times than at any other resort where I have vacationed.

Pool-
El Cid had a great pool with a swim up pool bar. The area around the pool was larger than most and had loungers and numerous tables and chairs. One end of the pool had an area of slides and other things to keep the children busy.

Service-
I found the service at El Cid to be great.

Bars-
There were bars four situated all around the resort. One was in doors and the others were out of doors. The resort had champagne. There were two different kinds. One was OK but, the other was good. Other types of liquor were Appleton (three types), Absolut, Tangueray, Jack Daniels, Johnny Walker and quite a few others.
My favorite was a bar right on the beach. It had tables with shade from palapas and the bar itself looked like a typical Caribbean tiki type bar. I loved finishing up our night have a drink at this bar.

Adult area-
The resort had one area for adults only. It was situated higher than the beach but, overlooking the beach. You had the feeling that you were on the beach but, removed from all of the things going on there. This area had a huge hot tub, which was nice for evenings. There was a bar located in this area with numerous bali beds and lounge chairs.

A few other things-
This resort seemed to have everything including a lot of kids. If you are bothered by this, this isn't the place for you. When we first arrived there were a huge amount of children at the resort. In about three days most of them went home and about 1/3 of the original number was about what was at the resort for the next week. We are not ones to be bothered or care if kids are around so, this was fine with us.

For us, this resort had everything needed to make a vacation wonderful. I am hoping to return to El Cid in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank max2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Dear friends:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El CId Spa & Beach Resort I wish to thank you for your amazing review and for your past visit to our resort.
We are so glad that you and your wife had a fantastic holiday and took advantage of all the services and facilities that El Cid has to offer:)
It will be a privilege to serve you both again in another occasion and to share your review with all our staff.
Thank you again for your visit, we are at your service anytime and wish you the best.
Sincerely,
All the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We recently stayed at El Cid for 6 days in February 2012.

Overall, the resort exceeded our expectations and our family was sad to leave.

The good:

- We had a 1 bedroom platinum level suite. It was beautiful. Plenty of room - two full bathrooms and two balconies. Fantastic view. For the location/view alone, the platinum level is well worth the upgrade. We were also able to borrow movies from the platinum lounge each night, which was a great way for our girls to end the day - popcorn and movies!

- The resort is fantastic. Very clean and well maintained - lots of seating available around the pool and ocean. Hammocks on the beach were very much enjoyed. The resort is also not too big and was easy to get around. There were activities going on all throughout the day - and there were plenty of fitness classes available every morning. The cliff jump and slide was a ton of fun for all.

- The service, all around, was excellent. While tips were not necessary (we tipped some of the time for drinks/food, and every day for maid service), it was appreciated. The staff at El Cid work very hard.

- Our girls were a little bit too old for the kids club (and my teenager was not interest in the teen activities). However, the daily schedule was varied and there was plenty to do.

- Lots of fun was had on the beach. We went kayaking and boogie-boarding several times. Great waves. The beach is rocky - make sure you have water shoes.

- We saw the fire show one night and it was very impressive!

The not so good -

- The food, especially all of the restaurants (they were really bad), was not so great. We were able to find something at the buffet and room service that was ok and got us through the week. We didn't get sick - most food just didn't taste good.

All in all, we would recommend El Cid. If the food was better, we would absolutely return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mmess1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Dear friends:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El CId Spa & Beach Resort I would like to thank you for your nice review and for your past stay with us.
We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed our resort excepting for the food, we already shared your review with our executive chef.
Thank you for recognizing our hotel staff for their hard work and spirit of service:)
We are at your service anytime and hope to serve you again real soon.
Thank you again for your feedback and preference.
Esta es su casa familia!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews