We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is great if you are 55 or older”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It is great if you are 55 or older”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

It is also not bad if you are with grand kids.
All shady palapas as are taken by 'platinum club' rooms at the beach. I have seen same comment from reviewers before.
The shows in the evening are primitive and boring but since there is nothing else to do other than listen to a live jaz music in the lobby one may attempt to watch the show. Yet there is only limited number of chairs next to the pool where the show is.
I guess all 55 years old with grand kids had a dinner at 5 and reserved the seats for the 9pm show.
This place is VERY clean and the food is good.
They serve Jack and Absolut.
Decide for your self.

Room Tip: You will not have a chance to choose a room. Check in service is not friendly at all. The room an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Boss B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear guests:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El CId Spa & Beach Resort I wish to thank you for your review and for your preference.
We are so sorry that your experience with us was not as you expected.
Day by day we read all the reviews and we apply what is in our hands to improve our resort and we try to offer activities for all ages:)
If you ever reconsider to come back to our resort you will experience improvements and changes:)
We are at your service anytime
Muchas gracias amigos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

6,129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,957
    2,065
    680
    256
    171
See reviews for
3,468
1,613
48
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,721)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

This hotel is excellent for kids!!! The food is wonderful at the buffets, there are tons of fresh choices for everyone. No one got sick from food on our trip. The restaurants were great, and the staff is absolutely so friendly. There was always things for the kids to do all day long, from the water slide to the cliff jump and the fun games they play in the pool. The staff always had us going in some sort of activities! The kids loved the soccer and dodgeball on the beach, and the boogie boarding had them all smiling too. They also loved the spiderman pinata and the super hero show. It did sunshower a couple days for a bit but it was no big deal, they had spanish bingo with pictures and bracelet making going on to keep them entertained. I welcomed the cool minutes of clouds to read in the shade from the sun. The girks also got their hairbraided next to the pool and it lasted 2 weeks!! It was nice to keep their hair out of way in the pool all day. After dinner each evening their is always a show of some sort. And right before the show while waiting they of course do games for the antsy kids. They did hulahoop contest, musical chairs, and kids music dance. Very nice. There was a night when they did face painting for the kids too. All this was included, and it was terriffic!! Our room was very spacious and comfortable. I loved the balcony to read and have coffee in the am. We were in the last building back room 1141 and they were doing construction but we were by the pool all day so it didnt bothe us. The spa is gorgeous and there is a small gym overlooking ocean with machines and weights. Lots of people running along ocean in am. I am so used to people peddling goods on the beaches in mexico, but there was not 1 person on this beach who ever came up to us. It is very secluded and quiet beach. We made lots of sandcastles, and 1 evening they had karoke on the beach, with mini smores for the kids right there on the ocean. Very cool!! The kids loved making them after dinner. Also they have the Kinect by the pool in the evening, Guitar Hero. I think it was more a competition for the teenangers being that it was on medium, the kids all wanted it easy but Carlos was teasing them that they had to do it on hard, very funny!! Carlos was soooo great with the kids, and they loved his spanish lessons by the pool in the am. The lobby bar has nice music in the evening and the bartenders are super nice. We had to go to the lobby each evening to view all the professional photos that were taken of the kids on the beach and pool area everyday, and they were AMAZING pictures. Be prepared, bring cute outfits and get a family photo done for your home or a greeting card. They sell them on a disc for 10-12 dollars a piece. We had 5 kids there altogether with another family friend of ours and we had 300 photos by the end of the week in our file we saved. We bought the ones of the kids in the hammocks and of them holding the iguana, baby squirrel monkeys, parrots. Very, very cute. Next time I will be more prepared to get one of all of us. All in all, we had a wonderful trip, felt very safe always and super relaxed!! Thanks for the great vacation, we definitely will come back. You get ALOT for your money!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank lovetotravelwkidsllg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear family:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El CId Spa & Beach Resort I would like to thank you for your amazing review and for your stay with us.
We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed our resort on your well deserved holiday:)
We will be delighted to share your fantastic review with our hotel staff, our staff is our strongest recomendation letter.
We hope to serve you and your family again in a near future and from the bottom of our hearts we thank you for sharing your review and for your preference.
Best wishes and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed the week of feb. 18th to the 25th with my husband and 3 boys. My sister n laws came also with a total of 8 kids ranging in age 15-10. It was wonderful, never bored! There was plenty of choices for the kids, from the kids club, teen club and just the pool and beach alone. Everybody working there was so nice!! We went snorkeling right next door at the marina. Booked it threw the hotel, that was very reasonable. Bring lots of sunscreen cause it's very pricey there!! Food was great, lots of choices. If you have never been to the cancun airport just ignore then in the airport and walk right out or you will get talked into tours or time shares!! We will be back thought!!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Moemac97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear family:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El CId Spa & Beach Resort I would like to thank you for your great review and for your preference.
We are so glad that all your group enjoyed our services and facilities.
Our main goal is to exceed the expectations of all our guests and mantaining our resort beautiful for all:)
We hope to serve you all again in another occasion and thank you again for your preference.
Sincerely,
Richard Bustamante and all our valuable staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

We spend almost 2 weeks there in Feb 2012. We traveled with 3 generations of the family and we all had a great time. The resort was located close to a nice little town called Puerto Morales so walking into town was an option, or taking a cab was very inexpensive. Security in the resort was excellent and we felt very safe at all times. The staff were helpful, friendly, respectful, all made you feel special with 5 star treatment and had a great sense of humor. In fact, the staff was the best part of the trip. Our room was wonderful, overlooking the pool and ocean, beds were okay for comfort. Facilities and grounds were clean, tidy, and well maintained. We enjoyed watching the wildlife and flowering plants and informative displays on the local plants and animals. Pool was huge so you never felt crowded. The "cliff jumping" and water slide were a great addition. Food at the main buffet was excellent with many choices for all including kids. Many activities for kids of all ages as well as adults which were also fun to just sit back and watch, especially Crazy Hour. We enjoyed attending the evening activities/shows, particularly the Pre Hispanic show. It was nice to be exposed to the Mayan culture and to see how proud they are of their culture. There was little need to leave the resort if you did not want to as vendors came into resort on specific days, were not too pushy and willing to negotiate. There is also a boutique on site with reasonable prices. Easy to arrange outings from resort and prices were reasonable. The worst part was some of the other guests were quite rude, inconsiderate, and treated staff poorly, but I think the staff were always respectful back. We are already planning another trip for next year.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear friends:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El CId Spa & Beach Resort I wish to thank you for your perfect review and for selecting our resort for your past holiday.
We are so glad that all your family spent two nice weeks on this piece of paradise jeje:)
It will be an honor for me to share your amazing review with our hotel staff, the main resource of El Cid.
We hope to serve you all again in this your hotel and thank you for sharing your review with the world and for your preference.
Warm regards my friends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
near Chicago
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Hotel Marina El Cid

We stayed at tis resort in Puerto Morelos Mexico from Feb. 6 to Feb. 16. We had booked through Orbitz and we booked the lowest category room that Orbitz offered. We did not book their Privilege package. At check-in we were offered an upgrade to a ocean front room on the ground level for an extra $200 total. How could we not take that deal?

Room-
Our room was very large with a large patio. The patio had two chairs and a table. The bath had a huge shower and double sinks. The view was great. We were steps from the pool and from the beach.

Food and restaurants-
I thought the food was wonderful at El Cid. I thought the food was very good quality for an AI resort. Breakfast every day was buffet at one of two restaurants on the resort. Lunch was at one of these two restaurants. There was a smaller buffet lunch in one restaurant and a huge buffet in the second restaurant. Except for one day, we had lunch at the smaller buffet. There was a man grilling steaks, burgers, chicken, and a few other things each day.
Dinner was at one of four restaurants. One was buffet and three ala carte. Reservations were required for the ala cartes. At one of the ala carte restaurants the menu changed every two days. Each meal that we had was from good to excellent.
The only restaurant with out of doors seating was the buffet. Some people would think that was great but, for me, I like to dine out of doors.

Beach-
The resort is on a great beach. You can walk through the marina next door and continue on to walk a very long way on the beautiful beach. If you go the other way you can walk into Puerto Morelos. There were plenty of beach chairs and a lot of shade on the beach. Bali beds were available to everyone. You did not need to take an upgraded package to make use of a Bali bed and you did not need to pay for the use of the beds. There was continuous waiter service on the beach. The waiters at El Cid came by many more times than at any other resort where I have vacationed.

Pool-
El Cid had a great pool with a swim up pool bar. The area around the pool was larger than most and had loungers and numerous tables and chairs. One end of the pool had an area of slides and other things to keep the children busy.

Service-
I found the service at El Cid to be great.

Bars-
There were bars four situated all around the resort. One was in doors and the others were out of doors. The resort had champagne. There were two different kinds. One was OK but, the other was good. Other types of liquor were Appleton (three types), Absolut, Tangueray, Jack Daniels, Johnny Walker and quite a few others.
My favorite was a bar right on the beach. It had tables with shade from palapas and the bar itself looked like a typical Caribbean tiki type bar. I loved finishing up our night have a drink at this bar.

Adult area-
The resort had one area for adults only. It was situated higher than the beach but, overlooking the beach. You had the feeling that you were on the beach but, removed from all of the things going on there. This area had a huge hot tub, which was nice for evenings. There was a bar located in this area with numerous bali beds and lounge chairs.

A few other things-
This resort seemed to have everything including a lot of kids. If you are bothered by this, this isn't the place for you. When we first arrived there were a huge amount of children at the resort. In about three days most of them went home and about 1/3 of the original number was about what was at the resort for the next week. We are not ones to be bothered or care if kids are around so, this was fine with us.

For us, this resort had everything needed to make a vacation wonderful. I am hoping to return to El Cid in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank max2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardBustamante, Manager at Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear friends:
On behalf of all the staff of Hotel Marina El CId Spa & Beach Resort I wish to thank you for your amazing review and for your past visit to our resort.
We are so glad that you and your wife had a fantastic holiday and took advantage of all the services and facilities that El Cid has to offer:)
It will be a privilege to serve you both again in another occasion and to share your review with all our staff.
Thank you again for your visit, we are at your service anytime and wish you the best.
Sincerely,
All the staff of Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
0.8 km away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,250 reviews
18.4 km away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#23 of 182 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20,669 reviews
22.6 km away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 km away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,547 reviews
11.4 km away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,732 reviews
13.4 km away
Royalton Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort

Property: Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
Address: Boulevard El Cid Unidad 15, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#10 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#10 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#14 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#14 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,082 - ₹ 38,407
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to a luxury paradise of turquoise Caribbean waters, soothing breezes, Mayan cultural sites and beautiful, aromatic flora and fauna. Situated near the charming bohemian fishing village of Puerto Morelos, overlooking the world's second largest coral reef park, this family oriented, all-inclusive beach resort offers a quiet alternative to the larger hotels in Riviera Maya. Enjoy amazing snorkeling, diving, sailing and sport fishing directly from our shores. With a selection of diverse restaurants, fabulous pools, adults-only Jacuzzi, Mayan-oriented spa, complete fitness center, full-service marina and more -- there is everything to do or nothing at all. • Family & Eco friendly Ocean Front Resort • Exclusive large suites • Great All Inclusive & Platinum All Inclusive meal plan options • Four tantalizing restaurants featuring a la carte and delicious buffets • Macondo Ocean Deck Bar with infinity pool • 22,000-square-foot pool • Beautiful landscaping, expansive sandy beach, hammocks. • Convention Center. • Ocean Front El Cocay Spa. • Full-service Marina 120-slip marina • WIFI Internet Access (fee) • Kids Club Center • Fitness center with the latest cardio equipment, free weights and a spinning class area • Pronatours Tour Desk • Half hour from Cancun/Riviera Maya International Airport and 20 minutes from downtown Cancun/Riviera Maya and Playa del Carmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa And Beach Resort
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Puerto Morelos
Marina El Cid Riviera Maya
Hotel Marina El Cid Riviera Maya
El Cid Riviera Maya
Hotel Marina El Cid Beach
El Cid Puerto Morelos
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort Riviera Maya/Puerto Morelos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing