We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A good family holiday” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A good family holiday”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

I have just spent 9 nights at this hotel 20th Feb to the 29th Feb. With my husband, 3 year old son, and extended family.

We were shown to our room which was 1437 fairly near to the lobby. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a sea view room. The rooms are very nice. Large with a lot of space. We had a balcony, however if the people in the room next door, were on their balcony, there is not any privacy.
There was not a bed for my son when we arrived, so I called reception and they said they would put a roll away bed in the room for us. We went for a walk and when we got back it was there. Very good service.

The hotel grounds are lovely, kept very clean and tidy. The only thing we did not like were the rocks which played music!

The pool area is nice, there are three pools to choose from. The children’s pool, the infinity pool with a swim up bar and another pool which had an inflatable rock which children could play on. The children’s pool is large. My son enjoyed many an hour playing in there! There are cabanas around the pool area, which are a nice touch.

We enjoyed the restaurants. Breakfast was fantastic in the world cafe. It seemed very busy at the weekends but during the week it was much quitter. We also had some very nice lunches at this restaurant, You could get anything here from a salad, pasta or fish to traditional Mexican food.
We ate at the Seaside Grill for both lunch and dinner and it was very good and it was nice to eat out side. Lunch times you could get a sandwich or burger with fries. In the evening you could get a tuna steak or surf and turf.
We had a meal at the Himitsu which we were all a little disappointed with as none of the meals had any spice in them.
We had a couple of meals at the El Patio, again both very good.
My parents baby sat for us one night so we could go to the Bordeaux restaurant, unfortunately we were disappointed with our meal here. We felt that it was quite over rated.
We all felt that by far the best restaurant was the Italian Portofino, we had two very good meals here, the restaurant manager came and spoke to us after our meal which we thought was a nice touch

The beach was lovely, you got a nice breeze on the beach. The white sand is so soft. I only swam in the sea a couple of times, as there was lot of seaweed! However the hotel do their best to clear it from the beach.

We all had a treatment while staying at the hotel. The spa is wonderful. When you have a treatment you can spend as long as you like in the spa. There are nice loungers, 3 different hydrotherapy pools, a steam room and a sauna.

I did find this hotel noisy at night. Our room was near to the lobby and every night we could hear the music. It did stop by 2300, but you could still hear people shouting and moving around the hotel. We did not ask to move as I do not think it would have been quieter anywhere else. If you were closer to the beach and pool areas, then you would get the noise from a wedding party or a function around the pool. Again this did stop around 2300, however it was the noise of people moving around the hotel late at night which woke us up. The weekends were the worse for this as this seemed to be the times when most weddings were held.
I would also recommend that you ask for a room on the top floor. All you could here were the people above me moving around. Every time they moved a chair in their room or on the balcony you could hear it. Very annoying!

If you want a quiet time away I would not recommend this hotel especially Thursday to Monday, when big groups came in for weddings.

My Mother took my son to the zoo which is on the main road as you turn down to the hotel. They had an excellent time and would really recommend it. You have a guide who takes you around and you can feed all the animal’s which have been rescued from around the area.

Unfortunately I had to visit the doctor while I was at the hotel. I just want to say that she was wonderful.

Overall we did have a good time

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank packyourbags21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaDRERC, Manager Assistant at Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear TripAdvisor user,

We are very glad that you selected our property for your family holiday.

Thank you for your kind words, we sincerely appreciate your comments expressing your satisfaction with the quality of the service we provided.

We are looking forward to welcome you again at your second home.

Dreams Riviera Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,145
    1,283
    468
    194
    142
See reviews for
2,554
1,572
31
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,479)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

First of all this is not my first trip to a Dreams Resort. We have stayed at Dreams Puerto Vallarta the previous two years in a row. We have been accustomed to excellent service, great food (for an all-inclusive resort), and staff that will bend over backwards to please their guests. The Dreams Riviera was a disappointment in terms of their service and attitude. We upgraded before arrival to the Preferred Club to get the room upgrade and to have access to the Preferred Club ammenities.

First the good - the resort was very nice in terms of age, appearance, and the way it was taken care of. The selection of restaurants was also more than adequate based on an all-inclusive resort. The rooms were also very nice, kept very clean by the housekeeping staff and the fridge was stocked daily. They also do a turn down daily to tidy the room and leave a bottle of water and chocolate on the pillow. There was never a shortage of food or drinks as long as you knew where to look. There was always a restaurant open somewhere, or a bar that was serving drinks. If you didn't want to leave your room you could always order room service, it was usually pretty quick to get it to the room.

Now for the bad - as I stated previously we upgraded to the Preferred Club for the room upgrade and the use of the Preferred Club area which included internet, snacks, and a private bar. On our first trip to this area we went mid-day after being around the pool all day. We were not dressed up, but also not dressed inappropriately, bathing suits, shirts and sandals. Upon our arrival we took a seat and ordered a drink. At first they were very pleasant until the supervisor on duty sent over a waitress who said we were dressed inappropriately and asked us for our room numbers. We gave them then she went back over and told this info to the supervisor. Again she returned questioning us as to if we were part of the Preferred Club. After again telling her we upgraded before arrival she said the supervisor (Rafael) did not think we belonged. We told her that we felt unwelcome and just left. This was not a deal breaker for us, just kind of laughed it off and went back to the pool. We decided we would again try the Preferred Club two days later and as soon as we walked in the same waitress and Rafael immediately asked us for our room numbers and wanted proof of who we were, again stating that they questioned whether we belonged. I confronted Rafael and he was quite rude stating that "the Preferred Club is for Preferred Club guests only" and we were taking advantage of it. I again explained that we upgraded and paid extra to use this "extra benefit" of the resort. He was so rude to our group of four that we left this area again. I don't know if he got us mixed up with another group of guests but the way we were treated at this resort was of such poor character that we don't know whether we will ever visit a Dreams chain again. Such a sad statement to make considering how well we liked Dreams Puerto Vallarta.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaDRERC, Manager Assistant at Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear Trip Advisor User,

Thank you for your feedback, we sincerely appreciate your email expressing your satisfactions and dissatisfaction with the quality of the service you received as a guest of the Dreams Riviera Cancun. It is our endeavor to consistently strive to maintain the highest levels of quality and service upon which we have built our fine renowned reputation.

We would like to let you know that the necessary changes in our operational procedures have been made which will help us minimize these kinds of issues in the future.

It is important to mention that we do not invite guests to leave the Preferred Club launge, when they are not part of the Preferred Club Premium rooms and suites we kindly remind them that only the guest that are staying in a Preferred Club Premium room or suites are entitle to use the Preferred Club launge. If the guest that are part of the Preferred Club are not properly dress, we kindly remind them that the launge has a dress code.
Also, we are aware of the tremendous responsibility to offer impeccable food and beverage products to our valued customers and have elaborated and respect extremely strict hygiene standards and procedures. Convinced we are that you understand that taking the food out of the Preferred Club launge is not part of our Safety and Hygiene standards.

We are making internal changes in our personnel to make sure that we do not have another negative experience with the services we provide. As it is only through comments from our mutual clients that we are able to improve in the respective areas of the Hotel.

Sincerely yours,

Dreams Riviera Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia pa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

We enjoyed everything about this resort. Our son enjoyed the kids club, we enjoyed the beach and pools. Food was good, not great. One thing they could do, is to have more activities at night for adults. We would return to Dreams.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Casey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaDRERC, Manager Assistant at Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Dear TripAdvisor user,

Thank you for your kind words, we sincerely appreciate your comments.

We are looking forward to welcome you again at your second home…

Dreams Riviera Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa, on
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Always said I would never go to Mexico but this was one of the best resorts we have stayed in. Everything was new and clean. Rooms were cleaned very well everyday and always lots of towels and facecloths. Lobby is very beautiful with very high ceilings and fans that are always moving. Washrooms wherever you went on the resort were always clean. The Barefoot Grill had excellent hamburgers and good pizza. We ate there almost everyday. Also if seated near the pool you could order certain food items delivered which was a nice touch. We also took advantage of ordering room service. This was an added feature which was nice if you had lots of sun and fresh air and just wanted to stay in a night or two. There were many families at this resort and this did make us think about adults only for future trips. The down side was not great food at the buffet some nights and at the Seaside Grill the hamburgers are too big and therefore were never cooked.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fifiottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaDRERC, Manager Assistant at Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Dear TripAdvisor user,

We are very glad that you selected our property for your first vacation in Mexico.

Thank you for your kind words, we sincerely appreciate your comments expressing your satisfaction with the quality of the service we provided.

We are looking forward to welcome you again at your second home.

Dreams Riviera Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

We've stayed at Dreams in Puerto Vallarta, so we thought we knew what to expect.

Some background: We were travelling with my parents and my children, using three rooms. My parents live in a different city than we do and arrived and departed at different times and on different days.

THE GOOD:
We started in a regular, garden view room. Although the bathroom design is strange, it wasn't that big a deal for us. After three days at the resort, we upgraded (for $50 per night per room) to an ocean-view, preferred club room. Our room (with a king-sized bed) was on the end of one floor and had a much larger balcony and a door to the bathroom. The girls' room and my parents' room was not much larger and still had the strange bathroom design. However, if we returned, I'd upgrade to the preferred club again because we like the better view and the quick access to the club bar.

The infinity pool is gorgeous! It's also heated. Although my husband did have to go out at 6 a.m. most mornings to get chairs in the front row at the infinity pool, he was awake at that time and didn't mind. Be warned, the staff do remove stuff so mark your chairs with a book rather than with a towel or a magazine.

The staff were super-friendly and seemed to be trying their best to do a good job. The drinks were yummy and doubles definately had more alcohol than regular drinks.

The beach was cleaned regularly so there was very little seaweed. The water was warm and we spent some time on the beach, but not as much as at the pool.

My kids really liked the Explorers Club. The staff were great and came up with some creative, fun activities.

THE BAD:
Although the people who worked there were trying hard, there is clearly a lack of training. In the restaurants, for example, there seems to be a lot of movement, but not a lot is getting accomplished. One night we went to El Patio. We were a group of six and were seated at a table for eight. First the waiter handed my husband a wine menu. Then he came back and took away the two extra place settings. Then he returned and removed the chairs. At this point, we tried to order an appetizer that we'd had two night's previous, but the waiter wouldn't take the order. His next trip to our table was to ask for a wine order (we weren't giving him one). Then he returned to give us menus. We'd been there for 20 minutes and finally got menus. We gave him a drink order and tried again, unsucessfully, to order the appetizer. He returned a few minutes later for our food order. We got our appetizer a few minutes later, but still no drinks. All this time, he's moving around the restaurant, but never multi-tasking. What I would have expected is that (a) there would be someone responsible for removing place-settings, giving us menus, etc. that isn't the waiter and that (b) the waiter could give us menus and then move to the next table and take their orders. Instead, it seemed as if he had to return to a central place between each activity. He never dropped stuff off at our table and picked stuff up from another table, which would have decreased his movement and increased his efficiency. Because of this kind of activity (which happened at most of the restaurants, including the buffet where all we ordered were drinks), meals took a long time.

The bars had a similar problem. During the day, for example, even when the swim-up bar was packed and others were vying to place drink orders, there was one person behind the bar who was expected to keep up with the drink orders and clean glasses and keep his bar stocked. Because of this, service was very slow.

The food ran hot and cold. Some things (like the grouper in any of the restaurants) was fabulous. Other things were overcooked (the salmon anywhere) or oversalted (the hibachi restaurant and the steak in the French restaurant). We were surprised at how few fresh fruits were at the breakfast buffet and how few fresh veggies were at the lunch buffet (and how those that were at the lunch buffet weren't cleaned well). We live in Southern California and can find many fresh fruits all year, so why were they serving canned pears in syrup, canned pineapple, canned peaches, etc?

THE REALLY BAD:
There's a booth near the pool where you can purchase outings. There are far too many options and the people who work there are quick to up-sell you. I should have purchased my outings from the concierge, but didn't do my research and assumed that they were the same. I'm willing to take responsibility for this. One example is the fishing trip my father and husband went on. It sounded like the trip offered at the pool booth and by the concierge were similar, but the booth guy wanted $40 apiece for the taxi ride. The concierge included it in his price (and it was $5 each). The concierge's trip was also closer to the resort and didn't take an entire day.

Although we had a good time at this resort, we probably won't return. The service issues were too severe and there wasn't enough good food. I don't expect gourmet at an all-inclusive, but I should be able to find a salad at the lunch buffet, veggies with dinner and be served within a reasonable time frame based on the level of 'fanciness' of the restaurant. These expectations weren't met.

Room Tip: The preffered club rooms with the largest balconies are great. If you have children who go to bed ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MummyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaDRERC, Manager Assistant at Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Dear TripAdvisor user,

Thank you for your feedback, we sincerely appreciate your comments expressing your satisfactions and dissatisfaction with the quality of the service you received as a guest of the Dreams Riviera Cancun.

I have discussed the concerns with our Executive Team in addition to the individual department heads involved in making the corresponding adjustment.

Your kind words help all of us at Dreams Riviera Cancun Hotel and Resorts to learn in what area we have to work harder to make all our guest vacations as enjoyable and pleasant as possible. It is our endeavor to consistently strive to maintain the highest levels of quality and service upon which we have built our fine renowned reputation.

Again, thank you for your kind words.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity to show you that we can make your vacation the best one.

Best regards,

Dreams Riviera Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
5.6 km away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,649 reviews
1.1 km away
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
#13 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,570 reviews
13.6 km away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#23 of 182 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 km away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,364 reviews
0.8 km away
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
#5 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,163 reviews
8.8 km away
Royalton Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa

Property: Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Address: Carretera Federal 307 | Chetumal–Puerto Juárez, Benito Juárez, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#9 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#10 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price range (per night): ₹ 20,357 - ₹ 45,888
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Dreams Riviera Cancun takes its personality from its incredible location — just 30 minutes from the "hot" excitement of Cancun yet right on the "cool" Caribbean close to Playa del Carmen and many other of the Mayan Riviera’s most sought after sights. Most importantly, it is an enchanting wonderland where families, couples, singles and friends enjoy all the pleasures and privileges of Unlimited-Luxury® where everything is included. Your whole being will relax immediately, surrounded by our large sun-dappled swimming pools and a sugar white sand beach. To this, add lush tropical gardens and of course, our fabulous palm-filled beach. Your day and evening activities range from exciting to purely relaxing — with plenty to do for everyone including endless land and water activities, a world-class Dreams Spa by Pevonia and fitness center, nearby golf and much more. "Home" features the uniquely shaped octagonal room or suite, beautifully appointed with a private balcony, marble floors and full marble bath area with Jacuzzi tub and dozens of other luxury amenities and conveniences that anticipate your desires and fulfill them instantly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort And Spa
Dreams Riviera Cancun Hotel Puerto Morelos
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa Riviera Maya/Puerto Morelos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing