We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (641)
Filter reviews
641 results
Traveller rating
351
183
70
20
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
351
183
70
20
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews platinum club french restaurant marina side butler kevin ile de france murphy bed cold pools beautiful property adult only pool sales people ceviche crepes large pool one bedroom suite great week ocean view pros and cons
Filter
Updating list...
378 - 383 of 641 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Just got back from a trip to the new Ventus at Marina El Cid. This addition to the Marina El Cid is very very nice. The new Adult only pool is a nice addition and while the deck chairs are sometimes tough to get there are other options with a bar very close and service is great (thx Oberto) The addition of the French Rest is great ( just remember they have a dress code, long pants and no open toe sandals for guys) The food court is great 7-8 different selections and pretty easy to get things no long lines.
Then you still have the options of the original El Cid.
Yes the beach is nice but the water is kind of a rocky reef, we found walking to the other side of the Marina you can get a very nice in the water experience.
The town of Puerto, is a delight, you can find nice places to eat, and snorkeling at the Co-op diving you can get for $20-25/person for a 2 hr of great snorkeling, and because you are closer to the reef less boat time and more dive time.
The service at the hotel is great, the weather is great, the food is very, very good. We will be going back!!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardBustamante, Manager at Ventus at Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Friends,
On behalf of all the staff of VENTUS AT MARINA EL CID I wish to thank you for your perfect comments and for choosing our resort.
It was very nice to know that you spent a wonderful vacation in our resort.
Thank you also for your kudos for our staff, I will make sure to share your comments with Roberto and with the rest of our team.
Thank you again for your stay with us and for sharing your comments on tripadvisor.
Muchas gracias amigos, esta es su casa!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We had a beautiful ocean view room on the top floor of building 24. The room had a king size bed a sitting area with a table and chairs. It was plenty large enough and quite comfortable. The sinks and bathroom areas are separated by a shelf wall which was great for storing all the things you want to grab on your way out the door. Unfortunately the lighting is really poor in the bathroom/sink area for makeup. The walls are paper thin, we could hear the extremely loud people next to us slamming doors morning and night ( I think there was 3 separate entrances in their suite). After 2 days of this I slammed our door right after they did, it did stop after that. The gentleman who replenished our mini bar was very nice, he came every day and did a great job to make sure that we had exactly what we wanted. Housekeeping did an excellent job making sure everything was clean.
Restaurants were good. Our favorite was La Marina (Seafood),you can't go wrong with any fish dish at their restaurants. Hacienda Arrecife (Mexican), food was good but the guac was great. Íle De France (French) was good but by no means a truly French restaurant. EL Alcazar (Mediterranean fusion?) good food and beautifully presented. We were not impressed with La Trattoria Di Gulio (Italian) food was ok, service was terrible, waiter said the kitchen just kept messing up the dishes, maybe once but on each course? We also were missing silverware and forgot our wine. The Mercado food for the most part was good, we stuck mostly to the "street tacos" and ceviche. It feels like a mall food court, not a great place for dinner.
Pool was COLD, we didn't see too many people in the pool and if they were, they were only in long enough too cool off. The hot tubs were pretty crowded, too many people in too small of an area.
The beach was full of seaweed, no one goes in the ocean. We knew ahead of time the beach wasn't great but we didn't think it would be this bad. Others we talked to were very disappointed. There really isn't a beach, it's a small strip of sand that is mostly covered with piles of seaweed. I didn't feel they did a good enough job removing the seaweed daily. You cannot swim at this beach, too many rocks and the water was just yucky. No fault of the resort that is just mother nature. We didn't go in the water once.
Drinks were ok, very sweet. I stuck with G&T for the most part. Beer available was Tecate or Dos Equis both good.
The spa was a huge disappointment. The hydrotherapy was quite nice, unfortunately the assistants are trying to hustle everyone through too fast and forget who has just come in. Our massage was good but not relaxing, they were doing construction right next door and it was really loud. The rooms need a makeover, they are not aesthetically pleasing at all. Just plain (dingy) white is all I can really say about them.
Although, it really is a beautiful property, the grounds are still really immature so it does feel barren, but a walk over to the other side shows you how beautiful the potential is. It is brand new, with a friendly staff and we had a great time. It is just not a good fit for us, we are a beach family and this is just not much of a beach place.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor on beach front or you will smell the rotting seaweed piles.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank esthichick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardBustamante, Manager at Ventus at Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Guest,
On behalf of all the staff of VENTUS AT MARINA EL CID I would like to thank you for your comments and for your past stay with us.
Thank you also for your positives and for your feedback that it is very useful for us.
Our beach staff works really hard everyday to remove the seaweed from our shore and we try to maintain our beach area in the best condition for the enjoyment of our guests.
I will make sure to share your suggestions with our team and it will be a privilege to serve your family again in a near opportunity.
Thank you again for sharing your opinion and for preferring El Cid Resorts.
Warm regards and best wishes to all!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

My husband and I used RCI exchange to go to this hotel. It is nice that they allow guest to go to all-inclusive restaurants at both hotels. The food is mediocre at best but we were expecting that. The french restaurant probably was the best at about 3.5 Stars. We really loved the adult only pool overlooking the beach. It was beautiful and relaxing to hang out there. The service from the bar and waitresses was first rate.

We also enjoyed a massage at the spa, I would recommend you ask if you are at Ventus to not have outdoor massage. There was an obnoxious group at the adults pool sitting by the curtain of our massage and they were screaming to each other like they were across the pool yet were sitting side by side.

Be wary of the sales people for the time share they were very aggressive after we told them we are 100% not interested. The sales man was fine but his boss was relentless. I'd recommend skipping this all together.

Room Tip: Request a room closest to the ocean.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardBustamante, Manager at Ventus at Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Friends,
What a great pleasure to read your nice comments and find out that we achieve our aim to offer you a lovely vacation.
We always share all these comments with our team and it is very rewarding for all of us to exceed our guests expectations.
We look forward to seeing you again in our resort VENTUS AT MARINA EL CID.
Thank you again for preferring our resort and for sharing your experience on tripadvisor.
Hasta la vista amigos and best regards for you and your husband!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We just got back from our Spring Break here! It is an absolutely BEAUTIFUL resort! Our only real complaint is that they do not offer WiFi which is a little ridiculous this day and age. Otherwise the facilities are great with four beautiful pools and a great gym with beautiful views of the ocean!

The French restaurant is delicious and our waiter Gustavo was WONDERFUL!!! We also really enjoyed our daily stretching class with Jaiar!!!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardBustamante, Manager at Ventus at Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Friends,
On behalf of all the staff of VENTUS AT MARINA EL CID I wish to thank you for your perfect comments and for your confidence.
It was very nice to know that you spent a wonderful vacation in our resort.
Thank you also for your kudos for our staff, I will make sure to share your comments with Jair, Gustavo and with the rest of our team, our team is our greatest asset.
Thank you again for your stay with us and for sharing your comments on this site.
Esta es su casa amigos, hasta pronto!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Stayed at this property over Presidents Day weekend. We have traveled to this area of Mexico over 40 times and somehow never stayed at the El Cid property. Saw the Ventus addition and decided on a whim to go. First off El Cid has been there as long as we have been going and has a devoted group of repeat visitors, largely part of their timeshare program. For that reason it has an old East Coast type of vibe, very appealing to families. Ventus are their higher end offerings. Resort was impeccably clean, felt larger than it is because of how the resort is constructed or evolved, lots of little hidden places. Food in all venues was very good, their Market Cafe is a really nice touch, like a food hall. Beach is well maintained. The only negatives, and they are minor, I can see are these.
Pool in central area of Ventus was underused, people complained of water being cold. The addition of a swim up bar would really help it. Pools that overlooked the beach were crowded all the time, much smaller so to find a mix of sun and shade get there early. Pool with water features and swim up bar in center of El Cid was always crowded and we actually did not find it until the last day.
Workout facility needs an equipment upgrade.
Shows at night move around and one night it was against the wall of our building, making for a very noisy night.
While the food is very good, at night you really have two options; a reservation at one of the open restaurants and make them in advance, or the food hall. There is supposed to be another buffet restaurant open but it was closed our entire trip even though we were sent there two nights after being told it was open.
Not a lot of organized events or activities to hold interest for more than a 3-4 day stay. That could be helped by centering more of those at the central Ventus pool and adding a bar area

Stayed: February 2018
Thank tfaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardBustamante, Manager at Ventus at Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Guest,
It was very rewarding for us to read your amazing review and thank you for your stay with us.
Thank you also for appreciating our efforts to please our guests and for your compliments for all our staff, in our resort our guests are our reason to be.
Thank you again for your lovely comments and for your past stay.
At VENTUS AT MARINA EL CID there is something for everyone, hasta la vista amigos!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews