We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good standard hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Colchester

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Colchester
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eight Ash Green
USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good standard hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

I have stayed here several times over the past ten years and always find that the hotel is a comfortable place to stay. Check in and desk staff are always courteous and efficient. The rooms are always very clean and pleasant - plenty of space and much better than the London hotels that I have to stay in. Bathroom has a modern sink and large bath with shower (though on this occasion the pressure was a little poor), plenty of open hanging space with trouser press, iron and ironing board, tea making facility, large and useful work desk, though there could be more electric power points in this area. Beds are very comfortable though the pillows really let them down - hence the loss of one star. Most noticeable was the flat screen TV HD picture - very, very good compared with my London hotel fuzzy picture and a good interactive menu. Some rooms overlook the main London railway line which can be briefly noisy but the rest of the hotel is very peaceful. Breakfast buffet is very good. Rooms have a couch or two chairs and small table.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the railway line if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RedsteveUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnColchester, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Colchester, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank you very much for commenting on your recent stay with us. At Holiday Inn Colchester we pride ourselves on providing a clean comfortable environment with excellent facilities to cater for every need. We focus all of our efforts on providing excellent levels of customer service and I was very pleased to read that you consistently find all of our team to be welcoming and attentive. Thank you for your many years of loyalty and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    246
    106
    51
    40
See reviews for
200
182
25
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

had a fantastic weekend break with granchildren, all the staff were very friendly, excellant with children and the health centre pool brilliant. every where was clean ,tidy and restaurant great food. highly recommend this hotel to anyone

cheers

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnColchester, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Colchester, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. At Holiday Inn Colchester providing clean, welcoming and comfortable surroundings, coupled with supurb facilities and great customer service is our aim for every Guest. We look forwared to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

We arrived about 8 pm on Saturday and were told we had an upgrade to an Executive room. We were delighted with it - large room, very big screen tv, spacious bathroom and well stocked mini bar, as well as an extremely good choice of teas, coffees etc. There was also a complimentary bottle of sparkling and still water and a chunky Kit-Kat! The bed was large and very comfortable after a hectic day. We didn't have breakfast but it smelled good. All the staff that we saw were extremely pleasant and helpful. Lovely grounds and very good access to the A12. We will go again when in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnColchester, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Colchester, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. The comfort and cleanliness of our Guest bedrooms is very important to us, the facilities offered and the ambiance of the room all contribute to ensuring a relaxing and enjoyable stay. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

This hotel is very good value for money. The staff are very courteous and helpful. The facilities are good and the breakfast choice is excellent.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maybill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnColchester, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Colchester, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We put our guests at the heart of everything we do and I was very pleased that you found our staff to be helpful and friendly. We offer an extensive English and continental breakfast at Holiday Inn Colchester which is currently being reviewed to offer even more choice and variety. We look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

This holiday inn is completely different from a few i've stayed at before, the staff were friendly and helpful, it was incredibly cheap for 2 nights and it was quiet!

The spa facilities were great! ... Apart from the reaction i had to the chlorine from swimming!! (not Holiday Inn's fault however!) oh and some incredibly noisy neighbours that insisted on playing music until 2-3 in the morning! The manager did sort it out for us though!

The only thing i would mention is that food and drink is incredibly over priced for what it is... although some restaurants charge an awful lot more!

Will definitely be going back there this year!

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is not joined to another one by a door (the noise from neighbours can get ann...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yasmin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnColchester, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Colchester, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
Thank you very much for commenting on your recent stay with us. At Holiday Inn Colchester we pride ourselves on providing a top quality product at a reasonable price. I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and will be returning in the near future.
Throughout our restaurant and bar we aim to offer a menu that provides quantity, quality and value. To that end we have supplemented our standard menu with an array of freshly prepared specials to suit all. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eight Ash Green
2.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel
10.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
7.7 km away
Premier Inn Colchester (A12) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester
8.4 km away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
5.0 km away
The North Hill Hotel
The North Hill Hotel
#7 of 24 in Colchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Colchester? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Colchester

Property: Holiday Inn Colchester
Address: Abbotts Lane, Eight Ash Green, Colchester CO6 3QL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Eight Ash Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eight Ash Green
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,190 - ₹ 8,379
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Colchester 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Colchester in Essex is 3 miles away from Colchester, the Oldest Recorded town in Britain. The Hotel is ideally located just off the A12 in a quiet village setting. This Colchester Hotel offers excellent facilities for all whether travelling on business or pleasure. Facilities include air-conditioning and High Speed Internet Access in all bedrooms, accessible & family rooms, and a Spirit Health Club with Swimming Pool. Our Hotel Restaurant, Bar & lounge offer tempting traditional British dishes and international cuisine including the famous Holiday Inn Breakfast in a relaxed, informal atmosphere. The Hotel has seven conference rooms; that cater for all your requirements from training courses, boardroom meetings & 1:1 Interviews to Wedding Ceremonies & Receptions. Not only does the Hotel cater for a diverse range of corporate clients, it offers outstanding weekend & leisure packages for those couples or families wishing to relax - Remember Kids Stay & Eat for Free*. Surrounding attractions include Colchester Zoo, Freeport Designer Shopping Village, Castle Museum and PGA seniors tour golf at Stoke By Nayland. Colchester United's New Ground, is only a short drive away. What s more the Hotel is less than 30 miles away from Stansted Airport connecting major cities around the world. *Terms & Conditions Apply ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Colchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Colchester Hotel Eight Ash Green
Colchester Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing