We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveller rating
271
8
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
271
8
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews attention to detail antique furniture abel tasman golden bay new zealand course dinner wonderful service across the road nothing is too much trouble able tasman national park cup of tea fresh flowers amazing food perfect stay bed was very comfortable top quality spa pool
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 282 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2018

This lodge is luxurious. We stayed here for 2 nights inbetween two Great Walks and we couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. The bed was very comfortable and the room large and well presented. The spa pool was a much welcomed treat.
Bridget who was a wonderful host (the owners were away) made us feel welcome and relaxed. We made use of the complimentary bikes to have a look around Pohara. Unfortunately we couldn't try out the dinner as they had stopped these during the week. Will have to go back in summer!

Room Tip: The rooms are all fantastic.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018

We arrived off the Wainui Hill in the rain, and Pete was there to pick us up with a very welcome cold local Beer, that was pretty nice!
The room was great and would loved to have a swim and spa which looked beautiful but the weather was not quite up there.
Still the shower was very welcome after getting in.
Decided not to eat in as the Penguin place next looked pretty good and not disappointed.
The beds were heaven, feather filled covers on the mattress and the pillows were feathers as well, very nice!
The lovely tea cups and saucers made for morning tea very nice.
Breakfast the next morning was very nice and Steve ensured everything was perfect.
Even the lovely card in our room welcoming us was a nice touch.
We would recommend this place if anyone coming to stay in Pohara.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank turtle63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018

This was our final stop after walking the Abel Tasman over 4 days and I was blown away by the wonderful service and the comfort of the lodge. Steve was an extremely warm and friendly host, he really made us feel right at home. We also had dinner here and the food was amazing.

The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Really couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ssu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

This was a great end to the Abel Tasman track. Wonderful service, great lodgings. Thanks to Steve & Pete for their awesome hosting. Would definitely come back and recommend to others. The high pressure hot shower was heaven after three days of walking!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank CathyM2946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

There are simply special places to stay, and this is one of them. I booked Ratanui Lodge due to TripAdvisor reviews and its location. We initially drove past it, as it's hidden behind a hedge. But once we found it, we found we didn't want to leave.

The manager Marcus cannot be given enough praise. His patience, service, and willingness to answer any and all questions with great kindness and a passion for the hotel, the area, and all things Kiwi were unparalleled. I truly owe him a debt of gratitude for his suggestions regarding our itinerary.

This is a lovely, elegant, single story English style hotel with only a few rooms. The rooms had antique furniture, the lobby was lovely, and there is an outside seating area you had to drag me out of. We had our Valentine's Day dinner here, and the food was spectacular. My husband is an excellent cook and he was so impressed he asked to meet the chef.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 5, which was excellent. Rooms on other side of lobby may get headlights from parking lot.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews