We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Indonesian cottages are very beautiful”
Review of The Hills

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hills
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Indonesian cottages are very beautiful”
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Stayed for one weekend, the cottages are very beautifully done up. The food is also very nice. The view from the room is not very great but the cottages are surrounded by greenery and away from each other

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Neha_Kiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    27
    16
    11
    13
See reviews for
46
18
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2010

Most people from Bangalore head off to Coorg for a weekend break or for cooler climate. An unexplored and still undiscovered place is Sakleshpur. Not many people know that Sakleshpur has the same, if not better, charm of Coorg; minus the crowds that Coorg attracts during a weekend. Sakleshpur is coffee country with lots of mountains, streams, waterfalls, greenery, birds, etc. And, it is on the Bangalore-Mangalore highway, which is being freshly laid.

The Hills Resort is a gem of a resort which is still new and fresh and undiscovered. It is about 25 kms from the BM highway and the drive is awesome. The road is good and overlooks the Western ghats. And, there is absolutely no traffic once you turn away from the BM highway, which itself isn't busy.

If you want a quiet vacation, The Hills Resort is the place to go to. We went there with parents and our kid and the place has something for everyone. Lots of activities for kids (including a large trampoline; giant toy trains), activities for adults (badminton, board games, archery, darts, etc), long walks for elders or just pond-side relaxation feeding the many ducks. The resort itself is all of over 20 acres, so, we went for long walks within the resort. There is a nice hilltop within the resort which has a view of the hills surrounding the resort. We also got to pluck coffee seeds and other flowers growing within the resort.

The chef cooks very delicious food - we were treated to north Indian (Chole batura - with not a single drop of oil), south Indian (lemon platter, vadas, idlis, dosas), Chinese (fried rice, veg momos), sweet dishes (gajjar halwa, etc). On your trip, make sure you try out as many variety of dishes as possible.

The cottages are very luxurious, almost a 5-star hotel experience. The only thing that keeps you connected with the rest of the world is a large LCD TV with DTH connection. There are 5 wooden cottages on stilts (apparently imported from Indonesia) and 5 tented cottages. We stayed in a wooden cottage, which has the feeling of being up in the air, overlooking the trees. Plush mattresses ensure that you are only woken up by the chirping of birds early morning. The 2 mornings we woke up to were misty and serene. Birds, insects, trees, flowers - of many colours - make it a bunch of nature. There is also a mini-fridge and coffee maker in the cottage.

The staff at the resort were very friendly and went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. It was service with a smile and the warmth was visible throughout our stay. Be it the boys who ferried our suitcases to the cottage or the restaurant serving staff or the receptionist or the people working in the gardens, they always would greet us, enquire if we needed anything and made us feel at home.

Of course, there are some downsides. There is little or no mobile connectivity at the resort; so be prepared to inform your other family members that you may not be reachable for a few days. Also, as there is lot of vegetation around, one is forced to keep windows and doors of the cottages shut in the evenings. Else, insects (we did not see any mosquitoes) do come into the cottage. There are no popular sightseeing places around the resort. It would have been nice had there been a swimming pool in this resort.

However, overall this resort is an undiscovered gem. Our vacation of 3-days seemed too short; with our kid not wanting to return to Bangalore. I would definitely recommend this for folks who want a quiet getaway: honeymooners, family vacation, etc. We will definitely return to this resort.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Shriram2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

The Hills resort sakleshpur is one of the best resorts in india.

Excellent food
Friendly Resort manager Mr.Vinayak
Great adventure games.

We totally enjoyed our trip last week (25th,26th June)

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sapreviewers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2010

This is a fabulous new resort just 5 hours drive away from Bangalore. It was the last weekend of the school vacation and we were wanting to go somewhere to relax. We started in the morning at 6 am and reached the resort around 11 am. The road through Nelamangala, Kunigal, Hassan, Sakaleshpur is very nice. The resort is just about 25 kms away from the Bangalore-Mangalore highway, just before the Western Ghats. The drive through the coffee estates of Sakaleshpur is heavenly. The smell of fresh coffee, the view of the Western Ghats, the greenery all around, the little streams of water, the birds chirping, etc makes the place a very nice getaway.

(a) The resort is exotic, with wooden cottages on stilts. We understand that the cottages are imported from Indonesia and similar cottages can be found in Bali. The rooms were luxurious with LCD TV, air conditioning, coffee maker, etc.

(b) The food was excellent. Though we are vegetarian, the chef prepared food to our needs.

(c) There was lots of activities within the resort. My son wouldn't get off the trampoline. We tried our hand at remote-controlled motor boat. We chased the many ducks and rabbits. We went for long walks in the coffee plantations.

(d) The overall service was very warm and friendly. We felt at home and were always greeted with smiles.

(e) Hanging out on the balcony of the resort reading a book was the ultimate pleasure. It was very romantic to laze throughout the day in the wonderful cottage overlooking the coffee estate and hills.

(f) My mobile network did not work there.

Overall, it was a great rejenuvation and my family thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It was hard to return to Bangalore and just a 3-day stay seemed too short. I will definitely make a week long trip out there as I missed out on many of the activities and nearby sight seeing attractions out there.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SanjayAhmedabad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sakleshpur
26.0 km away
Hotel Mayura Velapuri Belur
35.8 km away
Vijay Comforts Hotel
Vijay Comforts Hotel
#1 of 1 in Subramanya
154 reviews
33.9 km away
Hotel Mayura International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.9 km away
The Ashhok Hassan
The Ashhok Hassan
#7 of 21 in Hassan
153 reviews
32.1 km away
iLike Satya Comforts
iLike Satya Comforts
#16 of 21 in Hassan
5 reviews
0.0 km away
Eka Resort Hallibyle Village
Eka Resort Hallibyle Village
#13 of 38 in Sakleshpur
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hills? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hills

Property: The Hills
Address: Kundalahalli Village, Sakleshpur 577119, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Hassan District > Sakleshpur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Sakleshpur
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,686 - ₹ 8,538
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Hills 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Western Ghats of India: This name brings to one's mind images of tall mountains, enveloped in mist, the clouds hanging at touching distance, vast tracts of greenery, with hardly a soul to be seen, endless expanse of coffee estates, a century old temple on the top of a mountain, a lonely sheep enjoying the grass in the warm sunlight... The Hills, a ten cottage resort, nestled in the foothills of the Western Ghats and within a 32 acre coffee plantation, brings to life all the images of tall mountains, touching clouds and endless greenery.. Choose between the cottages made of wood imported from Indonesia or the classy and contemporary Swiss Cottages (air conditioned with all modern amenities). You will find the resort a place for relaxing your tired mind and muscles from the daily hustle of city life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip, Booking.com, Yatra, MakeMyTrip and TravelGuru so you can book your The Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hills Sakleshpur, Karnataka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing