We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home Stay, a very homely experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Devagiri Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sakleshpur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Devagiri Retreat
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Home Stay, a very homely experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

This home stay truly stands to its name as a home stay. We booked this place for 2 nights 3 day stay as we were attending a offroad event in sakleshpur. Devagiri retreat is easily accessible by road, its just 13 kms away from sakleshpur town towards mangalore road. They have a main bungalow where the family accommodates couples and families visiting. The out house is typically for bachelors. Its surrounded by coffee plantations, lush green. The home made coffee served was awesome, so was the food which was authentic malnad cuisine. Mrs & Mr Nagesh are the friendly lot, very interactive.
Manjarabad fort is about 8 kms distance from this place, which one shouldnt miss out seeing while visiting sakleshpur.
It was indeed a good stay at Devagiri retreat.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hifazath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bangalore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

I stayed with family (along with children). This was an incredible place to just unwind and forget all about the hustle-bustle of the city. True value of both time and money. Great food and wonderful people (Mrs and Mr Nahesh).

Comes highly recommended.

Room Tip: preferably stay in the old house...will take you back down the memory lane.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jetsblr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Mrs & Mr Nagesh treat you as family and not really as guests. Amazing hospitality, very neat clean place. Good, hot food! Very close proximity to Railway track trek and also the estate itself can be visited for hours. Drizzly misty weather added to the charm of the whole place.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank talwaredge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

"Felt at Home"
This is one of the best place I have stayed in the past 20 years of my pleasure trips which me and my family(wife and kid) will remember for ever.
We felt like being with family there, for the hosts are so receptive, caring, helpful, well mannered and have a lot of knowledge to share. Chatting with them was wonderful :-).

I went there on 4th and 5th of August 2012 and enjoyed the stay, though could not roam around much because of heavy rains. Still a wonderful stay and experience!!

Room Tip: For families and couple the Planters Bungalow will be great if you get to stay there. For a group o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PradeepKumar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2009

In less than a month’s time, we were off to another place around the Sakleshpur-Hassan stretch. This time it was a place called “Devagiri Retreat”. Well, the Bangalore-Mangalore NH 48 seems to be catching up with my likes, especially for driving.

Nothing compared to the Mysore road or the Tumkur stretch purely from a design phase. One thing you need to be extremely careful on the B-M highway are the dividers and loads of bitumen poured on the road. As for the rest, it’s quite peaceful. We left Forum Koramangala at 8am and regretted for not taking the NICE corridor. The drive through Yeshwantpur, Peenya is horrible and thanks to the development work on this road, the journey is unbearable. No, I’m not talking about the road condition, it’s the traffic!

After long and winding (with a hundred shifts between brake and gas) we reach the Nelamangala cross, taking a left from there and driving through Kunigal. A good place to stop for breakfact would be Mayura Veg restaurant, on your left hand side. The food is good and so is the menu card, the eatables are overpriced and it made me wonder if hotels in Bangalore city really charge this much? Post breakfast we setout to Hassan and took the mangalore bypass, the road condition between Hassan and Sakleshpur is pathetic and to make matters worse, the manganese ore ferrying trucks make your life miserable. Don’t know when to expect one whizzing past your car like an A380!

June to September is a period when you can expect maximum rains. Without much trouble we found the estate on our left hand side and one look at this place tells you that, this place is “Homely”. Over 40 acres of coffee plantation and you can see the greenery till the horizon. There are multiple activities you can do in this place, trek through the plantation, walk to the mangalore railway line tunnels etc. The staff and the hosts are very amicable and ensure that you are at home. You are free to carry your own music system and create a mini dance floor for yourself. Of course, stock your favorite tracks from home.

We stayed there for 2 days and 1 night and found the place quite good. The estate has 2 houses, the guests can chose from either of them. The food is like I said, very very homely. If you like reading books, you can laze out in the open and spend time with unadulterated nature. My best practice here too (like Rappa, Hassan) was to not carry any baggage of expectation. This did a whole lot of good to the trip and the experience. Hope to be back there soon!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank prasheno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sakleshpur
26.4 km away
Vijay Comforts Hotel
Vijay Comforts Hotel
#1 of 1 in Subramanya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.0 km away
Trivik Chikmagalur
Trivik Chikmagalur
#3 of 16 in Chikamagalur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.0 km away
Misty Mountains Homestay
Misty Mountains Homestay
#7 of 25 in Sakleshpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 km away
The Hills
The Hills
#15 of 35 in Sakleshpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
13.6 km away
Hema koota Homestay
Hema koota Homestay
#2 of 35 in Sakleshpur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.0 km away
Stone Valley Resorts Sakleshpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devagiri Retreat? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devagiri Retreat

Property: Devagiri Retreat
Address: Heggadde Post | Hassan District, Sakleshpur 573145, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Sakleshpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Sakleshpur
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,500 - ₹ 2,000
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Devagiri Retreat is originally a 40-year-old Coffee Estate and a farm run by the Hodachalli family, with Mr. Nagesh at the helm. The Devagiri Retreat Homestay within the coffee estate is a family-operated business provding quality Homestay facilities. Homestay facility also provides Bed-and-Breakfast inn services for those on shoestring budget and wish to tread the untrodden paths of India. Since this is a working farm and we are all actively engaged in running it, please feel free to contact us about your requirements and we will be glad to assist. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Devagiri Retreat Sakleshpur, Karnataka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing