We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Devagiri Retreat
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Sakleshpur
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Gopis Farm(Hassan)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Dwara(Subrahmanya)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Akshayadhara(Subrahmanya)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Stream Of Joy(Dharmasthala)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
7
9
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
9
2
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
15 - 19 of 19 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I stayed with family (along with children). This was an incredible place to just unwind and forget all about the hustle-bustle of the city. True value of both time and money. Great food and wonderful people (Mrs and Mr Nahesh).

Comes highly recommended.

Room Tip: preferably stay in the old house...will take you back down the memory lane.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jetsblr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Mrs & Mr Nagesh treat you as family and not really as guests. Amazing hospitality, very neat clean place. Good, hot food! Very close proximity to Railway track trek and also the estate itself can be visited for hours. Drizzly misty weather added to the charm of the whole place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank talwaredge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

"Felt at Home"
This is one of the best place I have stayed in the past 20 years of my pleasure trips which me and my family(wife and kid) will remember for ever.
We felt like being with family there, for the hosts are so receptive, caring, helpful, well mannered and have a lot of knowledge to share. Chatting with them was wonderful :-).

I went there on 4th and 5th of August 2012 and enjoyed the stay, though could not roam around much because of heavy rains. Still a wonderful stay and experience!!

Room Tip: For families and couple the Planters Bungalow will be great if you get to stay there. For a group of friends and Bachelors Hunters lodge is the best.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PradeepKumar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2009

In less than a month’s time, we were off to another place around the Sakleshpur-Hassan stretch. This time it was a place called “Devagiri Retreat”. Well, the Bangalore-Mangalore NH 48 seems to be catching up with my likes, especially for driving.

Nothing compared to the Mysore road or the Tumkur stretch purely from a design phase. One thing you need to be extremely careful on the B-M highway are the dividers and loads of bitumen poured on the road. As for the rest, it’s quite peaceful. We left Forum Koramangala at 8am and regretted for not taking the NICE corridor. The drive through Yeshwantpur, Peenya is horrible and thanks to the development work on this road, the journey is unbearable. No, I’m not talking about the road condition, it’s the traffic!

After long and winding (with a hundred shifts between brake and gas) we reach the Nelamangala cross, taking a left from there and driving through Kunigal. A good place to stop for breakfact would be Mayura Veg restaurant, on your left hand side. The food is good and so is the menu card, the eatables are overpriced and it made me wonder if hotels in Bangalore city really charge this much? Post breakfast we setout to Hassan and took the mangalore bypass, the road condition between Hassan and Sakleshpur is pathetic and to make matters worse, the manganese ore ferrying trucks make your life miserable. Don’t know when to expect one whizzing past your car like an A380!

June to September is a period when you can expect maximum rains. Without much trouble we found the estate on our left hand side and one look at this place tells you that, this place is “Homely”. Over 40 acres of coffee plantation and you can see the greenery till the horizon. There are multiple activities you can do in this place, trek through the plantation, walk to the mangalore railway line tunnels etc. The staff and the hosts are very amicable and ensure that you are at home. You are free to carry your own music system and create a mini dance floor for yourself. Of course, stock your favorite tracks from home.

We stayed there for 2 days and 1 night and found the place quite good. The estate has 2 houses, the guests can chose from either of them. The food is like I said, very very homely. If you like reading books, you can laze out in the open and spend time with unadulterated nature. My best practice here too (like Rappa, Hassan) was to not carry any baggage of expectation. This did a whole lot of good to the trip and the experience. Hope to be back there soon!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank prasheno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews