We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
58
15
2
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
58
15
2
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront porchacross the streetopera roomlake chapalacomfy bedsitting roomfriendly servicestaff were wonderfulno issueshomemade granolaoverlooking the gardenhollywood suitenice breakfastlocation was perfectnext morningfireplacemusic
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2018 via mobile

The Hotel is a restored Mansion just steps away from the Malecon or boardwalk of lake Chapala. The Malecon is lively with many Mexican families enjoying their weekends walking along the boardwalk. The hotel itself is small with about ten rooms. Each room is different with different names. Some have quaint little balcony's. All rooms offer a cooked breakfast from 8-11 AM which is served on the front terrace. We stayed two nights and in two different rooms and were very satisfied with the price and the rooms. All rooms come with free WiFi and cable TV but very few English speaking channels but that ok because we spent very little time in the room. There many shops and restaurants along the boardwalk or Malecon as the locals call it We enjoyed the Mexican seafood restaurants at the end of the Malecon which is a huge two storey palapa.The speciality is the Molcajete, a piping hot stone bowl loaded with cooked steak and shrimp. If you are looking for a real Mexican experience come to Chapala you won't be let down. I give the place 8 out of 10 stars. Very clean and well kept hotel with friendly staff.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Valdezmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018

This is an absolutely beautiful place in an excellent location but we had no hot water! We told them several times and they always claimed to fix it, to no avail. They provide a nice breakfast and have a small bar area.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank nanatravels2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieRevakDecker, Owner at Hotel Villa San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

I am so sorry to hear about your problem with the water! My manager reported that all the boilers were working fine when he checked, and I didn’t see any report from reception. Our guess is that the connection to the new drier caused a temporary reduction effect on the gas pressure. Please confirm your stay date and tell me when the problem occurred so that I can speak personally with the receptionist who received your complaints. I hope you plan to return soon so that we can make it up to you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

We stayed here Dec 29-Jan 5 while visiting my father who has retired in the area. We found the hotel extremely clean, with friendly service and the breakfast included was very good. If you are staying here in a holiday period be forewarned it can get a little loud with music and fireworks right across the street on the Malecon. We brought earplugs so had no issues with the noise.
We found the room to be perfect for our needs and my wife loved the comfortable king bed, which is rare for her. We would both recommend this hotel, especially when the rates are so reasonable and a great breakfast included.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank blairb683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieRevakDecker, Owner at Hotel Villa San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Feliz Año Nuevo! Thank you for your lovely review. It's always good to hear that our efforts at providing the best stay possible for our guests are paying off. Providing earplugs to all our malecon facing guests during fiestas should be an automatic amenity. (If your room faced the malecon you did indeed have a front row seat to some pretty great incendios!) Please come visit again soon!
Stephanie Decker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018 via mobile

Our stay was Jan 6-8, 2018. We Arrived very early in the am after an all night flight and we were blessed with a “temporary room” until our reserved room was ready. The temporary room was lovely. Very small, quaint, clean and quiet. We actually would have liked to stay there as it was on the back of the hotel facing the gardens which were beautiful and peaceful. The staff were ultra attentive. Once we got our reserved room it was a spacious suite and was very nice, the only down side was that it was facing the street/malicon which can be very noisy at times. This was the only negative, but all in all it was a great stay. The breakfast was delicious and best that they served until 11 am. The best surprise of all is that they didn’t charge us an extra night for the temporary room! Very generous and we are grateful. Thank you.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieRevakDecker, Owner at Hotel Villa San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

It's always nice to hear that our guests are happy with the service and that our staff were able to make your stay comfortable and memorable. Ah, the noise of celebration! The weeks around Christmas, New Year, Easter and special fiestas are always busy on the malecon. That is the tradeoff we have to make for our ideal location, walking distance to everything that is happening. Come again and enjoy some of the quieter times! Chapala is usually very peaceful!
Thanks for your review,
Stephanie Decker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed for two nights both front porch and back porch very nice and relaxing, we were with another couple and it was their first time to the area this hotel just was so impressive and charming and yes it can get a little noisy if your room is facing the front of the malicone but regardless well worth the stay, would stay here again

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Luciano M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieRevakDecker, Owner at Hotel Villa San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

It's wonderful to know that people return to this area bringing new visitors, and we're so happy that we helped make your time in Chapala a memorable one! Come back soon; we'll be happy to accommodate you again and again!
Stephanie Decker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews