We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for road trips, great breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barion Hotel & Congressi
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Torre a Mare
Reviewed 3 May 2015

We booked this hotel because we were planning on a road trip around Puglia and Camparia. It's in the Bari-Brindisi highway by a petrol station, which by the way is one of the cheapest we found in the whole trip.

At arrival everything was a bit chaotic due to a large group check in before us. Also, one of the receptionist looked completely lost and was walking around the desk without knowing what to do. We waited a bit too long for any eye contact.

The room was basic and outdated although very big. It smelled a bit like cigarettes as you walked in and the smell didn't go away through the week.

Housekeeping should get a bit more sustainable and up to date. We stayed for 7 nights and always hang our towels properly after using them but every day they would change them for new ones. There is no need to do so and it's a wasteful and outdated hotel tradition. Also they kept leaving the mini fridge open every day, we had things in there and every evening we would come back to the room and find them hot and/or spoiled.

The real selling point of the Barion it's the great breakfast. Very nice coffee, good selection of breads and spreads, plenty of different cakes to choose from and delicious juices (specially the bloody orange one). We would spend at least one hour every morning. Roberto and the younger waitress (I couldn't get her name) were exceptional. We missed them on their days off.

Would definitely recommend it if you are driving, having long days out, on a budget, and don't plan on spending too much time in the room.

Room Tip: Try to get a seaview.
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlbaWaterhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (642)
There are newer reviews for Barion Hotel & Congressi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 642 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2015

It was a business trip, with a handball team society, for the national and female Coppa Italia. At the beginning, we were assigned to another hotel, but it revealed a terrible one. So, we moved in second instance to Barion hotel: here we found competence, hospitality, neatness, good food, excellent service, friendliness. And everything in short time (we were 26 people) and low price.
Notice that, as official event Photographer I consider the wi-fi service as a very important one: here I found a free wi-fi with a good power in every room and floor I visited, including restaurant, hall, gymnasium and so on.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ganisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2014

This hotel is a perfect base for visiting nearby towns. We took the train from Rome to Bari and then rented a car. The hotel was easy to find and the front desk staff arranged for us to have lunch in the dining room, even though they do not serve lunch. Our server, Vito, was fabulous. He was charming and offered us lots of suggestions of nearby towns to visit. Service was excellent! We also had dinner at the hotel restaurant that evening. Roberto was our server and a professional! A very extensive breakfast is served on the top floor with beautiful views from the terrace. A major plus for our group of 5 was the lounge area where we could gather. Even though this is a large hotel, primarily for business, it is great for "pleasure" travelers. Excellent value with an exceptional staff!

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank srogl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2014

We found this hotel by trying to get free parking really but it was a very nice hotel. It does feel very businessy and the parking area gets quite busy at night. Locationwise it is a bit far from the city centre and it is by a busy road so you do need a car if you stay here as you couldn't just stroll across the road to the beach. We did have a lovely sea view room and the breakfast is served upstairs by the terrace with great views of the sea. Breakfast itself was really good and included in the room rate. The hotel staff were lovely and very friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2014

Found this as a last resort when we couldn't find anywhere in the small coastal towns south of Bari. We'd never have chosen a business hotel on the dual carriageway but it was surprisingly nice. Reasonably sized room with sea view (albeit across the dual carriageway), good breakfast on the 6th floor terrace. Small gym free to use. Very nice supper with local specialties. Very good value room, one of the cheapest we had all trip.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torre a Mare
14.2 km away
Hi Hotel Bari
Hi Hotel Bari
#1 of 40 in Bari
367 reviews
14.9 km away
The Nicolaus Hotel
14.0 km away
Pietrablu Resort & Spa CDSHotels
Pietrablu Resort & Spa CDSHotels
#2 of 8 in Polignano a Mare
2,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Hotel Gabbiano
Hotel Gabbiano
#1 of 1 in Mola di Bari
121 reviews
14.9 km away
Mercure Villa Romanazzi Carducci
8.1 km away
Hotel Majesty
Hotel Majesty
#12 of 40 in Bari
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barion Hotel & Congressi? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barion Hotel & Congressi

Address: Strada Statale 16 Per Brindisi Km 816, 70126 Torre a Mare, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Bari > Torre a Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Torre a Mare
Price Range: ₹ 3,223 - ₹ 5,449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barion Hotel & Congressi 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located between Bari and Brindisi airports, Barion Hotel & Congress is a modern 4 stars hotel, offering its hospitality both to business travelers looking for relaxing and friendly ambiance during their business trips and curious leisure travelers looking for a strategic base to explore the enchanting land of Puglia region. Barion Hotel & Congress is a short ride far from the very centre of Bari city and from the central railway station and offers clients a privileged access to the main panoramic highway which runs along the Adriatic sea connecting all Apulian cities. Barion Hotel& Congress offers 95 rooms dislocated in a main building facing the Adriatic sea, all equipped with modern furniture with complete facilities including bathroom with shower, WI - FI connection free, satellite television , Pay Tv, direct dial telephone, minibar, hairdryer and safe. Tasty local menus mixing the flavors of Apulia dishes with Mediterranean cuisine are daily proposed by the chef and served at the cozy restaurant with the charming atmosphere of the brand new sea-view terrace. Buffet breakfast is served at the Roof Garden where clients can even enjoy an enchanting view of the Adriatic sea while sobbing their cappuccino and crunching fresh biscuits and handmade cakes. The modern Congress Centre offers seven meeting rooms with natural daylight and equipped with the latest technology, with modular sound-proof panels to accommodate a number of participants ranging from 10 to 270 seats. Depending on clients' needs it is possible to arrange coffee-breaks, welcome cocktail, buffet lunch and dinner. Our professional multilingual staff is at clients' disposal to customize the offer, to optimize the costs and the standard of services required. Free spacious guarded parking area for cars and GT coaches is also available . Thanks to the Hotel privileged geographical position, all Unesco sites and tourist centers of Apulia and Basilicata are easy to be visited: Trani, Castel del Monte, Alberobello, Ostuni, Castellana Grotte , Lecce and Matera are all at least 2 hours far from Barion Hotel& Congress, which represents the ideal 4 stars hotel to allocate your groups in Apulia. Transfer and guide services are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Barion Hotel & Congressi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing