We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautiful Location with Absolute Peace” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Torri Di Bagnara

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Solfagnano
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Torri Di Bagnara
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Solfagnano
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location with Absolute Peace”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

We travelled to Le Torri Di Bagnara for a week in the countryside after 3 days in busy Florence. The first impression of the Hotel is very impressive, both visually and also in the warm, personal and efficient handling of our welcome.

Our apartment was absolutely tiny, but we soon got everything packed away and began to enjoy our environment. The buildings and surrounding grounds are stunning with lovely views over the Tiber valley. The pool is possibly one of the nicest I have ever been to, again with beautiful views from its vantage point. Everything was very clean and the staff could not have been more helpful and really seemed to want to make sure that you had a good time.

Be prepared to feel in the middle of nowhere though as this is a place for proper relaxation and to experience the countryside. There are good restaurants near-by if you want to explore beyond the grounds and some interesting places to visit within an hour's drive.

A lovely place with minimum bells and whistles.

Room Tip: The apartment we stayed in was so small that we could not be in the same room at once! Ask for some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulDonoughue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    14
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
47
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in this hotel and had a really relaxing and enjoyable time. The hotel is set on top of a hill and is reached by a really steep track which we found great fun and perfectly manageable in our modest hire car. The delightful old buidlings have been beautifully renovated to create really good quality accommondation set around a delightful courtyard where meals are served. The hotel is quiet with only seven rooms and has excellent staff who could not have been more helpful. There are also some self-catering apartments available.

We slept in a junior suite which was excellent except for the very firm bed (fairly typical of Italy). My daughters had a standard room which was still really good. The room were
beautifully clean with excellent facilities.

One of the real highlights of this hotel was the infinity swimming pool - absolutely beautiful
and big enough for a decent swim. We all loved it.

In fine weather evening meals are served in the courtyard which is a lovely setting. The food
was OK but didn't quite match the quality of the setting or the quality of the rest of the hotel.
A four course meal was 36 euros plus drinks and we ate in for two of the three nights we
stayed.

Although the hotel is in the countryside it's only a few minutes away from the E45 with really
easy links to Perugia and Assisi. We found it to be a really good venue from which to tour
but it also felt like a real oasis to return to at the end ofnthe day.

I strongly recommend this hotel - high quality, great service and a beautiful pool.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wrecktor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
222 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

Happy to say that Mrs EPR and I will remember the Torri di Bagnara very fondly - not only for the peaceful medieval surroundings and the fantastic Tiber valley views but also for the really pleasant and efficient team that run the place. They clearly are interested in the welfare of their guests, and, certainly, we felt, wanted to make everyone’s visit special.

Needing a bit of an effort to find, the Torri is buried deep in the Umbrian countryside and is approached via a winding, unmade (but exhilarating) hilly road complete with steep hairpin bends - but my little automatic managed fine!

The main residential area is within a medieval abbey which itself is attached to a church, Further up, the hill is more, and separate, accommodation located in the Torri (Tower) itself.

We got a warm welcome from the charming Lucia, a young lady who can seem to turn her hand to anything, and who remains utterly composed throughout. She gave us a brief tour of the key parts of the stone clad lodge before leading us up the winding stairs to our pretty accommodation - the Peony suite.

This was a lovely, elegant and well-decorated room with classic furniture and attractive features dotted around. Two big airy windows (and a little one about the size of an LP cover) all with peony-based net curtains and matching stripey drapes. A comfy double bed had two separate, quite firm,mattresses, covered by the inevitably peony-designed cover - I slept like a log. Plenty of spare pillows and covers too. Also in the room was a little mini-bar and a small flat screen TV. Finally, I really liked the delicate antique bureau in the corner - just the size for a traveller's laptop.

The air-conditioning was quiet and effective, and the lightly glazed terracotta tile floor was cool on the feet.

Between the bedroom and the bathroom was a small corridor housing the large wardrobe (plenty of hangers) with an easy-to-operate safe inside too
.
The bathroom was nearly as large as the bedroom and was notable for the rhubarb (probably peony) red tiles. Again, it was tastefully decorated in a peonish way, and was filled with nice big ceramic apparatus and serpentine classic plumbing. There were plenty of large monogrammed towels (replaced as required) and freebies in the ample storage area. The big effective rainforest shower was above the whirlpool bath (which was the shape of a normal bath). About the only irritation with whole stay was the gap between the shower screen and the bath rim; tedious excess water on floor etc. Within the bathroom, the hairdryer was functional at best.

Big gold star to the glamourous room maintainer who kept the whole place spotless on a daily basis.

Outside our suite was a large shared drawing room area, which,again, could only be described as elegant, with lots of classic furniture and fittings. We also used a discreet rooftop terrace above our room, which overlooked the courtyard, for winding –down post-meal drinks.

The Torri’s suites are within two separate blocks which form part of a courtyard within stoneclad walls, and this is where meals are taken - in a very pleasant atmosphere amongst large, potted, lemon trees and within the lantern-clad 16th-century Abbey buildings.

As for the meals, at breakfast the choice is certainly not as wide-ranging as a 200-bed city centre hotel, but there was ham on the bone, meat and cheese options, croissants, fruit and dairies. The bread option was somewhat limited and denture-crackingly crusty. Quantity seems aligned quite precisely to the number of guests in attendance. Getting the right coffee choice was a slight struggle, but I appreciated the effort before we reached a compromise. Good guy Romanian waiter big Dan certainly did his best.

However, the evening meals were all charm and courtesy, with an extraordinary daily variance which was quite brave when takers could be so few. Each meal we tried, we found to be fine and high quality. Made with flair and care, and served with precision by Lucia. And, we subsequently found, they were good value too. But we also enjoyed eating out, although options were limited with only two pizzerias anywhere near close by.

Elsewhere, the pool area was superb and stunningly scenic with an rolling view overlooking the Tiber valley and surrounded by gardens and forests. Plenty of good-standard sunbeds, mattresses and umbrellas for all, but, I have to say, the peacefulness and serenity could be shatteringly pierced if children were in the area.

Drives out to all the sights were easy and once you know your way around you could get a long distance in quite a short time. Big surprise for us was Perugia; completely off the radar as a tourist spot for Brits, but actually a superb,well-preserved medieval town centre and the leading example of architecture found elsewhere in the region

So grateful thanks to the radiant owner, Zenaide, the (of course) charming Lucia and the laid-back Torri cat Sylvestro ( a very handsome and good-natured specimen) for making us so welcome in their unique domain.

100% total recommendation!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElmParkRoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

We arrived at Le Torri Di Bagnara after staying at the Brufani Palace Hotel in Perugia. Yes that was very nice and we did really enjoy it, Perugia is a stunning place and that hotel was in the middle of it, however when we arrived at Le Torri Di Bagnara we knew immediately that we had found something unique! The place is an easy short drive from Perugia. As we approached the stunning old buildings the attention to detail in the courtyard and the flowers in beautiful pots just set the tone for a wonderful stay in every sense! Lucia on reception could not have been more welcoming. we felt like we were with family. We were shown to our lovely rooms named after flowers. My Father who travelled with us had a ground floor room which we did not ask for but shows the attention to detail as when booking I had said we were travelling with my Fathe,r a nice considerate touch. Drinks on the upper terrace of the tower were served on silver trays with nibbles. We sat and just gazed at the views in awe! This could turn into an essay but to try to be brief....the staff Lucia, and Antoinetta in reception excellent and clearly very caring, The waiter from Romania- Dan was calm, friendly and the best waiter I have ever had anywhere! From the lighting of the candle as we sat down, to the way he placed the napkins, opened the wine, poured the water and was always one step ahead of our thoughts at every dinner and breakfast we were truly in the company of a professional! He also has a dry sense of humour when you get to know him. Each meal was a pleasure, after the first dinner we asked for less salt in our food and after that everything was just exceptional! We really enjoyed ordering in the morning and looking forward to our freshly cooked meal in the evening a really nice relaxing way of planning meals. Every course was lovely.
We enjoyed meeting Zenaide she was very welcoming and friendly and clearly not only cared about her wonderful establishment but we felt she genuinely cares about her guests. We felt that had my Father become ill or any other need we had she and her staff would truly care and sort things out for us. That kind of attention and comfort is hard to find anywhere. The pool and grounds are stunning! We walked over a lot of the property and its just a joy with so many interesting things to see. I will not spoil your delight at the unexpected by telling you, but take the time to wander along the paths on the short walk.
All in all most of us travel a great deal and its rare infact probably almost impossible to find a true treasure like this place. We will go back and infact I hope it will become a special family retreat for our family for many years to come.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stephYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Proprietario at Le Torri Di Bagnara, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Dear Guest,

I thank you very much for sparing time and posting a review of your stay at "Le Torri di Bagnara" on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased that you found our property unique and that my team and I could create memorable experiences on your holiday. Your appreciation very much motivates us, thank you.

My staff and I do very much look forward to welcoming your Family and you back soon to your home in Umbria.

Kind regards,

Zenaide Giunta
owner
Le Torri di Bagnara – country medieval resort
e-mail: zenaide.giunta@letorridibagnara.it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

Le Torrri di Bagnara was a perfect find for my wife and I. We had booked in advance with no difficulty whatsoever - the Owner and all the key staff speak excellent English - and from the moment we arrived for our four/five day stay we enjoyed the very best of attention from the staff - they were attentive, enjoyable and interesting. They ensured that we had everything that we wanted and they made the environment of Le Torri relaxing and a pleasure to be in. Our bedrooms (we had two as we left and returned 24 hours later) were immaculate and the environment of Le Torri, with its beautiful Courtyard and excellent relaxation rooms made this one of the very best places that we have stayed in Italy. Add to that the perfectly kept acres of gardens and the immaculate swimming pool and you can feel, as we did, that we had found a small (though not all that small) piece of Heaven. We stayed for 5 nights and wished that it was 3 weeks.
Of course any stay at Le Torri does mean that you have to have a car. This wonderful place is set in the most glorious range of Umbrian hills. As a result the views are dreamlike; the walks and strolls are delightful and the large, immaculate swimming pool is a lure that stops one wanting to go away. The other, most important lure is the restaurant. We thought that we would 'eat in' for one night. Instead we ate in every night as the food was excellent and the ambience was first class.
Now I'm sure that you want to hear about the drawbacks of this wonderful place. Well, simply, we found none - a piece of heaven! Go there and see!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulvivian92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Proprietario at Le Torri Di Bagnara, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Dear Guest,

I thank you for sparing time and posting a review of your stay at "Le Torri di Bagnara" on TripAdvisor.

I am very pleased to note that you found this place a piece of heaven with no drawbacks.
Our philosophy is to welcome our dear Guests as they were old friends and our goal is to make them feeling at home, so your enthusiasm and kind appreciation very much motivates us.

I thank you very much and look forward to welcoming you back soon to your home in Umbria.

Kind regards,

Zenaide Giunta
owner
Le Torri di Bagnara – country medieval resort
e-mail: zenaide.giunta@letorridibagnara.it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solfagnano
13.4 km away
Hotel Centova
Hotel Centova
#16 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
7.6 km away
Relais San Clemente
Relais San Clemente
#1 of 1 in Bosco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
11.4 km away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 66 in Perugia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.3 km away
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
#1 of 1 in Boschetto Vecchio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
13.6 km away
Relais Dell'Olmo
Relais Dell'Olmo
#3 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
13.2 km away
Domus Volumnia Residence
Domus Volumnia Residence
#27 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Torri Di Bagnara? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Torri Di Bagnara

Property: Le Torri Di Bagnara
Address: Strada Per Brufa 8 | loc. Pieve San Quirico, 06135 Solfagnano, Perugia, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia > Solfagnano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Solfagnano
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,845 - ₹ 15,333
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Le Torri di Bagnara" is a word-class collection of exquisitely restored medieval rental castles set in the private estate of Tenuta di Bagnara, an historic 1500-acre superb estate and natural reserve over the Umbrian Tiber Valley. Located 18 km north of Perugia, 30 min car to Tuscany, conveniently close to Assisi, Siena and Cortona,almost equidistant between Rome and Florence, this peaceful estate is a haven for the mind and the senses and makes a tailor-made base for the best stay in central Italy. The main villa, Pieve San Quirico castle (11th century historic house), is a stylish medieval castle, surrounded by a courtyard with an octagonal tower, beautifully renovated and made into a private house. It has been restored according to the highest standard of renovation and design to create a luxury villa with 7 bedrooms and 9 bathrooms with breathtaking views around it and in total privacy. Four apartments set in the Tower (11th century historic house), just up the hill are available for large groups on request (15 extra beds) and can be rented only in addition to the castle. The castle features an 18th century consecrated parish church that seats 70; it can be used for celebrations, meetings and social gatherings. All hotel services are available at our villas. Our on-premises concierge, knowledgeable and fluent in both English and Italian, is available to help you enjoy the entire region to the fullest Le Torri di Bagnara's 1500-acre estate provides superb opportunities for walking and biking, mushrooms and truffle hunting, wildlife watching and photography, yoga. Blessed with a large variety of wild flowers, ancient trees, 5 small lakes, several streams, 16 km of the Tiber river (italy's second main river), a resident population of Roe Deer and Hares and a wide range of bird species from Herons to Pheasants, the estate is a haven for all things bright and beautiful. Guests may also enjoy our high quality Farms' Produce: extra virgin olive oil, honey, fresh vegetables, aromatic herbs and the vintage wines from our Tuscan vineyards. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Torri Di Bagnara Perugia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing