We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice simple meal - kids enjoyed”
Review of Hawthorne Farm

Hawthorne Farm
Ranked #2 of 5 Quick Bites in Yeadon
Description: Family pub restaurant with fantastic carvery, cakes and cask ales. Fabulous outside seating area for viewing the planes on a sunny day.
Restaurant details
Description: Family pub restaurant with fantastic carvery, cakes and cask ales. Fabulous outside seating area for viewing the planes on a sunny day.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Family meal with kids. Food was okay and service couldn’t be faultless. Enjoyed by all. Bonus that kids can play too!

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank Basque1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 23 of 1,256 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

A small plate carvery for £4,95, medium £5.95, large £6,95.....what value. Some places you wouldn't get a sandwich for that price. How do they do it?
Staff were friendly, capable and attentive.
Some reviewers commented about how crowded it was. Does that not tell you how successful they are? There are several other eating places where you could pay 3x
as much.
You can't please all of the customers all of the time. But I'm happy with the convenience and the value. It is what it is........

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Charles093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2018

We were six adults and two children and I do not know how my son found a seat for us all together - it was late Sunday afternoon. The place was jam packed and, although, oddly enough, rampaging children were not really a problem (not enough room?) the whole atmosphere was poor and noisey. The queue for the buffet was abominably long. I had turkey and ham, which was OK but other members of my party felt the beef was not as good as the "Generous Pioneer" in Burley in Wharfedale which we had visited the previous week. The roast potatoes were too greasey. I think the main selling point is aimed at people who want a basic meal, piled high at a cheap cost and are not bothered about the environment in which it is eaten. My own meal wasn't too bad but I will not be back.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hibees43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth H, General Manager at Hawthorne Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your visit with ourselves. I will pass your comments onto the team. I do hope you visit us again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

Last time we visited the Hawthorne Farm my friends and I had the carvery which was freshly prepared and of good quality. This time we decided to have something from the set menu - which was a great mistake. The meal was average at best and the veg had obviously been sitting around for some time the peas being overcooked, dry and less than edible. Replacement veg was offered when staff asked if we had enjoyed our meal but we were just about to leave by this time and so declined the offer. The pub was surprisingly quiet for a Saturday and so perhaps pre prepared food had been kept warm for just a little too long. Pity.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank alandW3226ME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

We called here for a family Sunday carvery
It was very busy even at 4 o clock when we arrived it took about 30 mins to get a table then about the same time queueing to get our food !
The food was very nice but the place doesn’t seem to have air conditioning it was ridiculously hot with the carvery on and so many people there very uncomfortable there was people including myself going outside to cool down not something you need when your having a family meal !! The sweets/cakes are amazing quite expensive but it’s a large portion you get ! Worth a visit but wear shorts and tee shirts

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank J4766VTanthonyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hawthorne Farm also viewed

Birkenshaw, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Hawthorne Farm? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing