We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (214)
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveller rating
188
17
6
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
188
17
6
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvegetarian foodother guestshis wifethe perfect hostswimming poolrecipe bookfour coursesolive grovesattention to detailan overnight stayout of this worldsat navgluten freefood experiencetaking photosmemorable visitwell trained staff
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 214 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2017

Dinner is an experience you will never forget. A great place in Umbria with stunning views, close to wonderful Umbrian villages and best of all a Vegetarian Menu that is out of this world!

Strongly recommend Montali - Alberto is a top host and makes you feel at home

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ryanh20162016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

This summer we were at Montali's, we came for the food. As a gift we stayed in the hotel, which is very charming and quiet. A few small houses with luxury rooms. And magnificient views from the terrasses and swimming pool. The breakfasts, lunches and dinners were awesome. We booked an extra night to enjoy Alberto's hospitality and Malu's culinary creativity. We asked Alberto and Malu to visit Amsterdam and cook in our cook's atelier and they immediately said yes. So Malu's cuisine is for a few nights in Amsterdam this winter, we wish it was winter already!
We can recommend this hotel and restaurant to anyone who wants to relax and have the best vegetarian food in Europe.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cookyourlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

Nothing changes at Montali which in this case is a good thing. The food continues to be outstanding. Adventurous gourmet vegetarian cooking that has you taking photos of every course and sending them to those not so fortunate as u in being there
Malu the chef and her husband Alberto are superb hosts who mingle with the guests as if they are family. So many people are returning guests which speaks for itself
Accommodation is very comfortable with lovely views. The grounds and the pool are immaculately maintained.
Even the breakfasts are a treat
Love the pre dinner drinks which gives u a chance to meet interesting fellow guests who are always delightful. Highly recommended The drive up the hill is challenging but the end result is worth it

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank melstein13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

We had an overnight stay at Country House Montali. The property is on a ridge with great views from the grounds and the surrounding area. We were greeted most warmly by Alberto, who allowed us to try some special vegan cheese. Malu's cuisine was exceptional, and she produced some wonderful vegan dishes for my partner and I. The breakfast crepes with fruit were also delicious, and the swimming pool wonderful in the heatwave. We had some great conservations with the other guests, who were all lovely. Overall the attention to detail and high quality is exceptional, and we had a memorable visit.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gareth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

This the 7th time we have visited Montali and that tells you everything. This time we had a seven night stay and ate Vegan, where else on earth can you eat 28 courses of delicious vegan food, full of flavour and unique taste and not have the same thing twice? Here at Montali, that's where. Alberto and his staff really do know how to make the guests feel very welcome and nothing is too much trouble for any of them. The setting is lovely, tranquil and quiet, the accomodation is superb, all rooms are kept spotlessly clean and are very comfortable, The food is out of this world, delicious, ingenious and like nothing you've tasted before. Alberto is the most genial, comical and knowledgable host you could wish for and he enjoys spending time with his guests. We will be returning for visit number 8, without doubt.

Room Tip: all rooms are lovely
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews