We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Niklas Å
Skedsmokorset, Norway

A gem with personal touch. Do not miss this place!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Jun 2016
Me and my wife spent 2 nights here. We always look for the small places with a personal touch and good kitchen - and this time we hit a homerun. Kastanjelunds Wärdshus is just right in every aspect, situated 8km south of Åhus and 1km from a very nice beach.

The rooms are nice rooms, not big - but big enough and well appointed. The beds are really nice, and will be firm enough for most people. All in all very nice, especially considering the price.
The "common" areas are well appointed and in keeping with the period the main building is from.

The owners are doing a great job making sure their guests have a good stay, interested, engaged, serviceminded and.... They run the best kitchen for many, many miles around.

The restaurant is superb. All food is coming from their neighborhood, and everything has their local stamp on it. Very well indeed. The wine list is well balanced with their menus as well. Furthermore the breakfast is one of the best I have come across, lots of the items has their local stamp. Like the jams, pickled herring, freshly made bread and so on...

This place is worth a serious detour for a stay and even longer for the kitchen! We will be back for sure - already planning!
Date of stay: June 2016
Room Tip: Ask for a room with a outside seating area.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.3 km from Kastanjelunds Wardshus
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
1.7 km from Kastanjelunds Wardshus
Free Wifi
  • Vio.com
4.6 km from Kastanjelunds Wardshus
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Agoda.com
0.4 km from Kastanjelunds Wardshus
    1.1 km from Kastanjelunds Wardshus
    ₹13,705
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Expedia.com
      ₹13,705
    0.0 km from Kastanjelunds Wardshus
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    ₹16,641
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
    • Hotels.com
    • eDreams
    • Expedia.com
      ₹16,641
    6.0 km from Kastanjelunds Wardshus
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Cigarrkungenshus
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Priceline
    • Expedia.com
      ₹5,958
    • eDreams
    6.6 km from Kastanjelunds Wardshus
    ₹14,088
    ₹13,354
    Fully refundable
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    6.9 km from Kastanjelunds Wardshus
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    ₹6,315
    No prepayment needed
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    7.2 km from Kastanjelunds Wardshus
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Yngsjo
    Reviews (68)
    Filter reviews
    68 results
    Traveller rating
    50
    15
    2
    1
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    50
    15
    2
    1
    0
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    8 - 13 of 68 reviews
    Reviewed 27 July 2015 via mobile

    We enjoyed the grill buffé on the Saturday evening. We first sat outside and then moved inside for coffee and cake. The food was fantastic, the service was great and the place was very beautiful. We want to give Kastanjelunds Wärdshus our most warmest recommendations!

    Date of stay: July 2015
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    1  Thank Jonas G
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 6 July 2015

    We stopped at Kastanjelunds on our way driving south towards Denmark. Room are decent and clean with nice beds. Vety reasonably priced. We where surprised by the menu provided for dinner and decided to eat at the hotel. Very nice, high quality. Wouldnt stop anywhere else 100 kilometers north or south...
    2 km to lovely beach and beautiful Åhus 5 minutes drive away.

    Date of stay: July 2015
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Rooms
      • Service
    1  Thank Ajaxson
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 22 June 2015

    Had dinner with friends, which turned out to be a very enjoyable evening with excellent food and service in nice, very Swedish surroundings (but what's with the depressing pictures on the wall?)
    The food is mostly locally sourced; my lamb saddle was superbly cooked, only just beyond pink and the vegetables were delightful. Also very good was the cod from the Baring Sea (not very local, though). Food presentation was very good and the chef, who also functioned as the waiter, explained the dishes expertly in flawless English. All in all, Iäm inclined to compare it favourably with some of London's starre restaurants.
    We shall certainly visit again when next in Yngsjö.

    Date of stay: June 2015
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank PeterT260
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 1 November 2014 via mobile

    This charming courtyard hotel is run by a delightful gentle couple. The emphasis and highlight for us here was the wonderful dining experience.. a few well chosen seasonal exquisite innovational signature dishes beautifully prepared and presented. The menu is intentionally small to ensure attention to quality and detail so any specific dietry requirements should be discussed beforehand as all ingredients are fresh. There is a warm friendly atmosphere through the the main house. The rooms are in the outhouses set out around the courtyard and are clean and pleasant but not luxurious.

    Older buildings with wooden floors tend to have squeaky floorboards and noisy staircases...charming for some, bothersome for others .. this could be an issue when fully booked.. I always have earplugs with me, just in case.

    Date of stay: October 2014
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    Thank aloisw8
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 2 August 2014

    Visiting a friend in the village of Yngsjö, we stayed the night at Kastanjelunds Wärdshus. The main building, housing the restaurant (divided into several rooms, and a very nice lounge for coffee or reading) is oldfashioned and renovated & decorated in a nice, oldfashioned, style. Here, the breakfast is also served. Outdoors service weather permitting. Rooms are distributed in the wings, renovated keeping the charm of the old style and very comfy. I would, however, ask for another room than No. 1, since there is a staircase to the top floor rooms and the walls are very thin. Maybe go for room No 2 or ask!

    Room tip: Avoid room No 1 where you can hear noise from the staircase and the room on the topfloor, just ask.
    Date of stay: August 2014
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    1  Thank JanochBarbro
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews