We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food and service in West Bay”
Review of Rachel's

Rachel's
Ranked #1 of 24 Restaurants in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 16
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: CLOSED UNTIL 2019 Rachel's is open daily from 11.30am to 3pm. Opening is weather dependant and there will be occasional days that they close for personal reasons. We will endeavour to advertise these closures on Facebook. Customers are welcome to telephone the advertised mobile number to discuss needs or book a table between 10.30 - 11.30am. Prior to start of service.
Reviewed 18 April 2018

The food is cooked to order and so fresh. The staff were so friendly. I had lovely tempura prawns with chilli dip, chips and delicious salad with homemade coleslaw. My husband had fish and chips which were scrummy. Everything was wonderful. Thank you to all the staff of Rachel's.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ruth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Many thanks Ruth for your amazing review. We are pleased you both enjoyed your lunch and hope to see you again one day.
I shall pass on your comments and thanks to the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (930)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 107 of 930 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2018

The sun came out as we sat down and things got better.
Beautiful view over the quay in the sunshine.
The food was outstanding. I chose the Fish Stew and my wife had the haddock chowder. Best we had ever tasted, fresh, beautifully cooked and each dish enough for two!
Fantastic value and friendly service
Looking to visiting again

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

We are pleased you enjoyed the fish stew and your wife the chowder Colin.

Many thanks for your wonderful 5 star review.

See you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

A lovely discovery (thanks to TA).
The fish stew was super and the kids loved the prawn platter. Unfortunately for us no crab or scallops were available as the fishermen hadn’t brought any back but next time....

Thank LondonSony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

We are thrilled you enjoyed your first visit to us and look forward to seeing you again.

Our menu revolves around what fish is available to us from the local fishermen so let’s hope that crab and scallops are about next time you visit.

Many thanks for your excellent review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018

We visited on the only sunny day this week and Rachel’s was very busy!!
The friendly and helpful staff explained that we could order, they would give us a spoon with our number on it, and then they would call us when a table became free. We were warned it may be about an hours wait. We sat on the wall with a very decent bottle of Sauvignon Blanc watching the activity around us. In less than 15 mins we were called to our table, by a lovely friendly waitress.
We had ordered the Fish Stew and the Prawn Platter. Both were excellent and very good value for money with the portion size generous.
A very popular stop for any fish and seafood lover. We will be back on our next visit to West Bay.
Good food, good service, good value, good views, good atmosphere and dog friendly.
What more could you ask for?

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TaniaPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you Tania for taking the time to write us such a lovely review.

It is always good to hear that customers enjoy their lunch and the whole experience of Rachel’s.

We look forward to seeing you when you’re in this area again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

The food as always is amazing. I booked a table and Rachel was very accommodating, especially as we got stuck in awful traffic.
We had the haddock chowder which comes in the most amazing creamy sauce and the fish stew which is a medley of white fish, prawns, mussels, squid & salmon in a tomato & cider sauce.
Excellent value for money at £9 each, you'd pay double in a restaurant.
Wrap up warm if you visit in the colder months as you're sat outside on picnic tables.
Remember it's cash only, so be prepared.
We would highly recommend Rachel's for the excellent food and friendly & hospitable service.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RachelAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rachel's also viewed

Burton Bradstock, Bridport
West Bay, Bridport
 

Been to Rachel's? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing