We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic amosphere !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kloster Hotel Woltingerode
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vienenburg
Reviewed 10 September 2015

Staying in an old monastery is always something special. This is no exception ! The interior is nicely modernised, yet maintaining
the right ambiance !
Our only reservation concerns the buffet dinner, which was not very exciting. The inn next door was much better.

Room Tip: Dont take the cheapest alternative !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ragnarotterstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2014 via mobile

Great hotel for anyone looking for a little peace and quiet, unfortunately it wasn't well suited to our particularly party as it is quite a religious establishment and we aren't particularly quiet. The rooms were a good size, bed and bathroom spotlessly clean and nicely presented. The breakfast was a disappointment, at €14 a head I thought it was particularly steep for what was served. We stayed one night after a day skiing in Harz.

Stayed: December 2014
Thank Halestrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel over Christmas on a package of dinner, bed and breakfast, for five nights in order to visit family in the area. Our room was in the 'comfort' range and was absolutely beautiful, overlooking the monastery courtyard, more like a junior suite, with old timber upright beams separating a small seating area from the sleeping area which had a big wooden bed with carved headboard and very comfortable matresses. The shower room was small but adequate. We did not check out the other rooms.

The public rooms are impressive and interesting and particularly charming with tasteful decorations at Christmas time.The little church which forms part of the monastery was beautifully decorated for a Christmas Eve service, which we attended.

The monastery is part of what used to be a self-contained community surrounded by a wall and utterly charming, with another inn/restaurant, bakery, distillery, salmon fishery etc, all well maintained and interesting. The surrounding area is lovely for long (and easy) walks (I believe bicycles can also be hired) and the hotel's proximity to the Harz mountains and the historical town of Goslar make it an ideal base for exploring. A car would be useful for this, although walking (or taxi) into the small town of Vienenburg with bus connections and a railway station is possible, but probably more attractive in the summer rather than in winter.

The buffet breakfasts were fantastic with a huge choice of cold and hot foods. The evening meals were buffet style on 3 out of 5 days over Christmas, with three choices of main course and several for the other courses. We have no experience of a la carte dining at this hotel. There is a nicely appointed cocktail bar for use after dinner.

In summary: The Klosterhotel is a beautiful and interesting venue, good walking close by and well placed for exploration further afield. A wet winter may not be the best time to be there, but Spring/Summer/Autumn must be lovely, also for those looking for peace and quiet, as the crowds tend to go to the nearby Harz mountains.

Service was friendly and 3-star plus as the hotel claims but not 5-star as the surroundings might suggest. There is no identifiable lounge for guests to have drinks or coffee and possibly interact with each other, although there is a beautiful library with large sofas and several areas to sit and relax, but not a 'drawing together area'. Also an indoor smoking area would be helpful rather than people standing in the rain and spoiling the good looks of the place with soggy ashtrays.

Despite those little niggles, we found our stay at the Klosterhotel at Christmas a bit special and shall cherish the memory and for that it deserves top marks. We look forward to one day visit in the summer or autumn.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shamboleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Old monastery, beautifully renovated. Respect for old style and religious symbols. Interesting garden with herbs and spices and nice courtyard. Breakfast top delicious. Long corridors where you let little lost.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsBondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We wandered across this hotel in our travels! Really wonderful, old structure, cool ambience, and great staff! But, BEWARE! The Classic Room is not good! My boyfriend doesn't even fit in the shower or the bed, and the beds are metal beds, with no support! Seriously, this would be a great place to stay if they just updated the beds!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcort1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vienenburg
9.6 km away
Novum Hotel Kaiserworth Goslar
9.5 km away
Niedersachsischer Hof
Niedersachsischer Hof
#2 of 36 in Goslar
146 reviews
9.5 km away
Hotel DER ACHTERMANN
Hotel DER ACHTERMANN
#10 of 36 in Goslar
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 km away
Hotel Alte Muenze
Hotel Alte Muenze
#1 of 36 in Goslar
200 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Goslarer Strasse
Hotel Goslarer Strasse
#2 of 2 in Vienenburg
11 reviews
8.5 km away
H+ Hotel Goslar
H+ Hotel Goslar
#4 of 36 in Goslar
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kloster Hotel Woltingerode? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kloster Hotel Woltingerode

Address: Woeltingerode 3, 38690 Vienenburg, Goslar, Lower Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Lower Saxony > Goslar > Vienenburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vienenburg
Price Range: ₹ 3,767 - ₹ 8,444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kloster Hotel Woltingerode 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kloster Hotel Woltingerode reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing