We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful stay - Thank you Nadeem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue On Blue Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 7 St. James B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Being solo traveller been to over 50 countries, and 3 trip per year, I have to say thank you Nadeem from my heart to give me the wonderful Cape town experience. When you stay in a B&B the soul is the one who manage it, in addition to the basic requirement of a clean & confomrtable (but not luxury) room. Nadeem's word "come as a guest, leave as a friend" is really true as I stayed in an luxury (and of course expensive) Hotel in Camps bay after I left Blue & Blue. in B&B you can really understand how you should travel Cape Town. Forget about the guide book such as lonely planet or Time out - you will find it useless when you really talk to a local resident - and this is my experience when I use the guide to travel 50+ countries. I had been enjoyed by many ways of travelling, driveing, trains, cruises etc. But in Cape Town you have to liesten to a local. Otherwise you would not be able to get to many nice place you have to go (and at the right time is very important - that needs the local experience) check the album and you will know what I mean - no word can descrive it!

http://www.flickr.com/photos/photo-man/sets/72157625671740218/

Oh, the last but not the least is - please do donation if you did a township trip. Any cent you offer can change the world!

When you want to make a booking, the BEST way is email nadd@tiscali.co.za directly , not the other means.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueOnBlueBB, Owner at Blue On Blue Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2011

We are honored to have received high praise from a seasoned traveler. Thank you for sharing your spectacular photos. We can't wait to include some on our new website.

Your support of eKhaya eKasi Center is also much appreciated. As you say, a little bit can go a long way toward helping people to help themselves.

All the best,
Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 145 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2011

Both my husband and myself had the most amazing week at 'Blue on Blue'. We were looked after like royalty, most of the time by Yoli as we were the only guests!! She provided excellent food, was extremely helpful and loved to chat with us, she also did my washing and was happy for us to use the computer whenever we wanted to, it was certainly home from home.
The house itself was quirky and interesting with amazing sea views. The location was perfect and we enjoyed the food in Kalk Bay every evening. The board walk and tidal pool were only a stones throw away and all in all it was the setting and location were also just perfect,
Thank you Nadeem and Yoli for a wonderful end to out African trip. The gifts I bought from the township were also very much appreciated!!!
We would love to come back again one day!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fraiser1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2010

Stayed at this small b-n-b near the beach for 5 days in October because it was supposed to be good for whale watching, which was the purpose of my trip. It didn't disappoint. Saw my first breech! Honestly, though, I would enjoy the views of the ocean, changing clouds and sunsets even without the whales. Breakfasts were very good and service was warm and friendly. The township tour by Nadeem was the highlight of my stay and I took advantage of their connections with local artists to snag some for family gifts. Really an amazing community project that this place has initiated. Wonderful place, big heart, and an amazing experience.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveMcMillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2010

I've been to the Cape many times and this is now my favorite (and future) place to stay. I came during the 2010 World Cup and I was not surprised when this gem of a B&B was completely full. Nadeem and Yoli handled the full house with grace and warm hospitality. Scrumptious breakfasts. It was a perfect place to be... close to the city, but not having to deal with the noise, etc. A real retreat, and perfectly situated for my trips to the Cape Point, Constantia Wine Route and townships. The 2-tiered property is truly unusual, and I loved the view from the top of the property among protea flowers, fruit trees and vines... just a bit of the wild in the midst of a sleepy neighborhood. Be sure to visit nearby Harbor House for a seafood meal, and walk just past it for the great crashing waves!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goboy776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2010

What a great little spot. Tucked away on a little side street, but blows you away with the sea views, and the beach is just below... November whale watching! The cool artwork is top notch. Really a funky local feel without catering to that stereotypical notion that Africa is all about brown stuff and lions. The garlic mushrooms were delish, and you will want to hug Yoliswa and Nadeem when it's time to go. An added bonus: Visited the community project they have set up in a shantytown on the Cape Flats. Fantastic fabric painting happening to employ local mothers. Can you imagine something like that in the USA? Nope!

Yes, my only regret was a shortage of time. Would have extended my trip if time permitted!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gillesz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. James hotels
0.2 km away
Sonnekus Guest House
Sonnekus Guest House
#1 of 7 in St. James
89 reviews
0.4 km away
St James Manor
St James Manor
#3 of 7 in St. James
54 reviews
0.2 km away
Rodwell House
Rodwell House
#4 of 7 in St. James
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
St James Homestead
St James Homestead
#5 of 7 in St. James
9 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Blue On Blue Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue On Blue Bed & Breakfast

Address: 9 Sandhurst Road, St. James 7945, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > St. James
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in St. James
Price Range: ₹ 3,599 - ₹ 5,078 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue On Blue Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue On Blue, a charming B&B at the foot of the Silvermine Mountains, is ideally situated one minute from the beach. Our romantic upper floor guest rooms feature panoramic views of False Bay and the Cape Peninsula. Walk to the tidal swimming pool, seaside tennis court, nature reserve, and local cafes & antique shopping. Centrally located between the city center, Cape Point and Winelands. Whale watch from your room (August-December)! We provide secure parking and personalized tours upon request, including in-depth visits to artist collectives and cultural community projects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Blue On Blue Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing