We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveller rating
231
27
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
231
27
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskalk bayfalse baycommunity centerlocal townshipeach morningyogurtgarlic mushroomswalking distanceother guestsdelicious breakfastour honeymoonguest housemuizenbergbnbolympiasa
Filter
Updating list...
228 - 233 of 260 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2008

We have just returned from a 4 nights stay in this B&B. It was an excellent choice. The host, Nadeem, is a right person at the right place. His engagement is really impressive. He booked for us one day safari, was a guide during winelands seeing and wine tasting and took us into the enormous township.
All the infos about B&B on their webside are truthful.
The B&B is beautifuly located with each room facing the bay. Rooms are clean, wery well maintained, furnished in a little bit old style, very comfotrable. We had booked all the 3 rooms, so we were the only guests in the house. Fully equiped kitchen, dinnig room, living room and the TV room were at our disposal.
Breakfast served by Nadeem are huge and very tasty.
In evenings we were dining at 2 little restaurants, located nearby. B&B has also a garden and patio. Sitting at patio, siping african wine and listening to the ocean waves was the most agreable way to spend evening hours.
I truly recommend Blue on Blue for a stay near Cape Town.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank opuntia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2008

We arrived in Capetown on the 31 of January and was met by our host Nadeem at the airport. After reading the previous reviews before our departure we was looking forward to our one week stay which lived up to our expectations and would recommend Blue on Blue to anyone who wants a peaceful relaxing stay with stunning views yet not so far away from the City. Nadeem was full of useful information about the area as this was our first visit to South Africa, Rihanna who assisted Nadeem was also very hospitable and made the perfect breakfast wether you wanted healthy or not, Blue on Blue is very clean and the bed we slept in was so comfortable my partner STEPHEN found it very hard to get up in the morning. Overall it was a perfect stay and hopfully we will return next year.We would recommend "roundabout car hire" which they deliver to your door at a very reasonable price.

Stayed: February 2008
1  Thank steve066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2008

We picked this B+B from the previous recommendations on tripadvisor and by george - they have been spot on !
We are two 30 something guests and after spending a week in central cape town then driving down the garden route, we wanted something peaceful for our last week in South Africa.
Blue on Blue fits the bill perfectly.
The location is 45 mins train journey outside of Cape Town Centre and is great for local attractions such as the Cape of Good Hope, Bolders Bay Penguins (a must !!) and the Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens
We enjoyed the master bedroom with its very comfy chinese bed. There are stunning views from the window and the bathroom tub which looks out over the ocean below.
Fantastic breakfasts every morning, with fresh breads from the local Olympia Bakery together with a hot breakfast if needed.
Nadeem our host has been a tour guide for over 15 years, he gave us a huge hug and made us feel at home straight away. He gave us valued, honest advice and took us on a township tour providing very valuable insights and helping us to relate to what life in South Africa is like, both now and in the past. He takes his work seriously and is always available for his guests which we found exceptional.

St James had some restaurants and I can recommend trying Sirocco for lunch and Cafe Olympia, Theresa's and Octopus for evening meals which are all within walking distance. What's more, there are far fewer concerns over personal safety in this area compared to the centre of Cape Town. We even tried the local railway which cost 17 rand return, from St James to Cape Town Central Station although I still would not recommend this journey after dark.
Great memories and we wish Nadeem and Blue on Blue lots of future success. if you are looking for somewhere relaxing with completely stunning views, you have found the right place!

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank aanLondonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2008

We booked Three nights at Blue-on-Blue following a search on Trip Advisor and several recommendations. This B & B is not as centrally placed in Cape Town as many may prefer being in the up an coming suburb of St James on False Bay, however the accommodation and hospitality is not to be missed. The house is set back and slightly up the hill from the main road that runs from Muizenberg along the seashore, so no noise from the road or parallel running light railway. We stayed in the sea-view room at the top of the house which was very spacious with a very comfortable antique chinese bed! Access to Cape Town is straight forward either by car or the local commuter train and St David's is particularly well placed if you wish to explore the Cape National Park, Cape Point and Cape of Good Hope.

However what really makes Blue-on-Blue is the hospitality of Nadeem the manager of this B & B. He cannot do enough to help you feel at home or make your stay really memorable. The breakfast's are certainly up with the best that we have experienced anywhere in SA and his unobtrusive company makes for a very enjoyable start to the day. He is all that a host should be, extremely hospitable and with a very cheery disposition.

For us though the icing on the cake is that the owner of this B & B is quite philanthropic working together with Nadeem in the local townships to create small sustainable businesses. The owner, an American, with the help of Nadime not only helping to set up small enterprises but also selling these hand made goods in the USA. Profits from this, and I am told the B & B, are put back into creating more jobs in the townships.

We would highly recommend this B & B to anyone who wishes to explore the CT area.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank WGF_BROCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2008

Not knowing what to expect, The moment we landed it became a dream come true. Nadeem meet our family at the airport,and greeted us with such a warm welcome,from there til departure we had such a beautiful time sightseeing and visiting many different places enjoying the S.A. culture learning the history tasting the foods, and the Blue on Blue Bed &Breakfast was a lovely place well kept, and that's definitely a place i'd recommend to any and everyone to stay if thier in S.A. we had a great time and was very glad to have Nadeem to host us .

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank reti3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews