We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nadeem - The Perfect Host”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue On Blue Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 7 St. James B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 March 2008

My GF & I stayed for 5 nights at Blue-On-Blue and had a fabulous time. We were in the twin-bedded Curries Corner room, which like all the others, had fantastic views over False Bay.

Nadeem was the perfect host and his breakfast buffets were superb. Often when travelling one is confronted with the same selection each morning, but not at B-On-B. Each morning there were different treats on offer, and even my GF, who is a strict no meat, no fish vegetarian was spolied for choice.

Many other reviews have commented on the location of B-On-B with respect to Cape Town and the Cape Penisula, however for us the biggest advantage of the location was to be able to take the train from St.James Station, one stop into Kalk Bay, where there are many resturants, and feel safe enough to walk the mile home at around 10pm (22h) at night.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thistle-do-nicely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

215 - 219 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2008

We have just returned from a 4 nights stay in this B&B. It was an excellent choice. The host, Nadeem, is a right person at the right place. His engagement is really impressive. He booked for us one day safari, was a guide during winelands seeing and wine tasting and took us into the enormous township.
All the infos about B&B on their webside are truthful.
The B&B is beautifuly located with each room facing the bay. Rooms are clean, wery well maintained, furnished in a little bit old style, very comfotrable. We had booked all the 3 rooms, so we were the only guests in the house. Fully equiped kitchen, dinnig room, living room and the TV room were at our disposal.
Breakfast served by Nadeem are huge and very tasty.
In evenings we were dining at 2 little restaurants, located nearby. B&B has also a garden and patio. Sitting at patio, siping african wine and listening to the ocean waves was the most agreable way to spend evening hours.
I truly recommend Blue on Blue for a stay near Cape Town.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank opuntia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2008

We arrived in Capetown on the 31 of January and was met by our host Nadeem at the airport. After reading the previous reviews before our departure we was looking forward to our one week stay which lived up to our expectations and would recommend Blue on Blue to anyone who wants a peaceful relaxing stay with stunning views yet not so far away from the City. Nadeem was full of useful information about the area as this was our first visit to South Africa, Rihanna who assisted Nadeem was also very hospitable and made the perfect breakfast wether you wanted healthy or not, Blue on Blue is very clean and the bed we slept in was so comfortable my partner STEPHEN found it very hard to get up in the morning. Overall it was a perfect stay and hopfully we will return next year.We would recommend "roundabout car hire" which they deliver to your door at a very reasonable price.

Stayed: February 2008
1  Thank steve066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2008

We picked this B+B from the previous recommendations on tripadvisor and by george - they have been spot on !
We are two 30 something guests and after spending a week in central cape town then driving down the garden route, we wanted something peaceful for our last week in South Africa.
Blue on Blue fits the bill perfectly.
The location is 45 mins train journey outside of Cape Town Centre and is great for local attractions such as the Cape of Good Hope, Bolders Bay Penguins (a must !!) and the Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens
We enjoyed the master bedroom with its very comfy chinese bed. There are stunning views from the window and the bathroom tub which looks out over the ocean below.
Fantastic breakfasts every morning, with fresh breads from the local Olympia Bakery together with a hot breakfast if needed.
Nadeem our host has been a tour guide for over 15 years, he gave us a huge hug and made us feel at home straight away. He gave us valued, honest advice and took us on a township tour providing very valuable insights and helping us to relate to what life in South Africa is like, both now and in the past. He takes his work seriously and is always available for his guests which we found exceptional.

St James had some restaurants and I can recommend trying Sirocco for lunch and Cafe Olympia, Theresa's and Octopus for evening meals which are all within walking distance. What's more, there are far fewer concerns over personal safety in this area compared to the centre of Cape Town. We even tried the local railway which cost 17 rand return, from St James to Cape Town Central Station although I still would not recommend this journey after dark.
Great memories and we wish Nadeem and Blue on Blue lots of future success. if you are looking for somewhere relaxing with completely stunning views, you have found the right place!

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank aanLondonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2008

We booked Three nights at Blue-on-Blue following a search on Trip Advisor and several recommendations. This B & B is not as centrally placed in Cape Town as many may prefer being in the up an coming suburb of St James on False Bay, however the accommodation and hospitality is not to be missed. The house is set back and slightly up the hill from the main road that runs from Muizenberg along the seashore, so no noise from the road or parallel running light railway. We stayed in the sea-view room at the top of the house which was very spacious with a very comfortable antique chinese bed! Access to Cape Town is straight forward either by car or the local commuter train and St David's is particularly well placed if you wish to explore the Cape National Park, Cape Point and Cape of Good Hope.

However what really makes Blue-on-Blue is the hospitality of Nadeem the manager of this B & B. He cannot do enough to help you feel at home or make your stay really memorable. The breakfast's are certainly up with the best that we have experienced anywhere in SA and his unobtrusive company makes for a very enjoyable start to the day. He is all that a host should be, extremely hospitable and with a very cheery disposition.

For us though the icing on the cake is that the owner of this B & B is quite philanthropic working together with Nadeem in the local townships to create small sustainable businesses. The owner, an American, with the help of Nadime not only helping to set up small enterprises but also selling these hand made goods in the USA. Profits from this, and I am told the B & B, are put back into creating more jobs in the townships.

We would highly recommend this B & B to anyone who wishes to explore the CT area.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank WGF_BROCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. James hotels
0.2 km away
Sonnekus Guest House
Sonnekus Guest House
#1 of 7 in St. James
89 reviews
0.4 km away
St James Manor
St James Manor
#3 of 7 in St. James
54 reviews
0.2 km away
Rodwell House
Rodwell House
#4 of 7 in St. James
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
St James Homestead
St James Homestead
#5 of 7 in St. James
9 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Blue On Blue Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue On Blue Bed & Breakfast

Address: 9 Sandhurst Road, St. James 7945, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > St. James
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in St. James
Price Range: ₹ 3,589 - ₹ 5,063 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue On Blue Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue On Blue, a charming B&B at the foot of the Silvermine Mountains, is ideally situated one minute from the beach. Our romantic upper floor guest rooms feature panoramic views of False Bay and the Cape Peninsula. Walk to the tidal swimming pool, seaside tennis court, nature reserve, and local cafes & antique shopping. Centrally located between the city center, Cape Point and Winelands. Whale watch from your room (August-December)! We provide secure parking and personalized tours upon request, including in-depth visits to artist collectives and cultural community projects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Blue On Blue Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing