We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
garima s

A must have experience of real Goa

Review of Cancio's House
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Nov 2023
This house was in my go to list from years. From the moment you step into their house , you will feel a sense of belonging to something extraordinary. Roberto and Raquel will make you feel like you have been coming to this house for years. The warmth of conversations with Roberto and the magic of Raquel's food is definitely a Godly match. The house in itself is beautiful and it's like a treasure trove from past. It's like a mini museum of things passed to them by legacy.
The rooms are very spacious and have their own personal entrance. Rest of the house is so magnificent as well. The view from the balcony is spectacular . Especially in the morning. The garden around the house is thriving with greens and amazing bird life. The house is in a part of Goa which is very quiet. It's a perfect vacation house. It is a perfect balance of luxury and sustainability. This is the part of Goa which everyone should atleast experience once. The hospitality and the luck of experiencing the actual Goan life can only be felt in homes like this one. Their many pets and Roberto's mom conversations are like cherry on a cake.
We ate our lunches and breakfasts here and the food is something you can never be disappointed in this house. The sheer extensive dishes prepared just fot the two of us was a showcase of their love they shower on all the guests. She made delectable desserts for us and the taste is impossible to find even in finest bakeries. I can't wait to go here again and enjoy the company of these beautiful people.
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
₹2,016
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    ₹2,016
  • Agoda.com
    ₹2,016
1.7 km from Cancio's House
₹34,093
No booking fees
    3.7 km from Cancio's House
    ₹10,635
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
      ₹10,619
    • Priceline
      ₹9,728
    • Hotels.com
      ₹10,619
    3.8 km from Cancio's House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    ac rooms with locker facility
    ₹2,016
    Fully refundable
    • Agoda.com
    4.7 km from Cancio's House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    ₹2,240
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
    4.6 km from Cancio's House
    ₹4,377
    Fully refundable
    Earn Trip Coins after your stay
      5.3 km from Cancio's House
      Additional mattress
      ₹2,016
      No prepayment needed
      • Trip.com
        ₹2,023
      • Agoda.com
        ₹1,613
      • Vio.com
        ₹1,758
      5.0 km from Cancio's House
      Free parking
      Restaurant
      Front View
      ₹1,059
      Go to your Happy Price
      • Booking.com
        ₹1,058
      • Agoda.com
        ₹1,058
      5.1 km from Cancio's House
      Restaurant
      Room service
      ₹1,400
      Fully refundable
      • Agoda.com
      5.7 km from Cancio's House
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      ₹2,625
      Fully refundable
      • Agoda.com
      • Vio.com
      5.7 km from Cancio's House
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      View more hotels in Aldona
      Reviews (198)
      Filter reviews
      198 results
      Traveller rating
      176
      21
      0
      1
      0
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      Traveller rating
      176
      21
      0
      1
      0
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews homemade jams roberto and raquel the main house home stay home away from home homestay experience loving family ancestral home real break authentic goan solar heating true goa caring hosts r r four poster bed lush greenery wonderful homestay
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      5 - 10 of 198 reviews
      Reviewed 3 June 2023

      I stayed with Raquel and Roberto for 10 days in February as I settled into my new job and a new beginning in Aldona. I couldn't be more grateful for them, they instantly made me feel at home making me fall in love with this beautiful little village even more. If you're visiting Aldona, don't miss the beautiful experience of living at Cancio's house. You'll leave with fond memories and life-long friends.

      Date of stay: February 2023
      • Trip type: Travelled solo
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      1  Thank Eeshita K
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 20 May 2023

      A wonderfully warm and hospitable home with hosts that taken you into the fold, ply you with homemade food and make you feel instantly at home - that’s Cancio’s house for you. It was the second time staying with them for us and we felt even more at home than before. The family will include their guests, if they do wish, into the celebrations that they host for family and friends. You walk into their kitchen to get your breakfast or tea and can let your hair down in the lush greenery of their well-kept garden. If you’re looking for a homely break for some R&R , then look no further!

      Date of stay: March 2023
      1  Thank Heyvaz
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 23 April 2023

      The perfect instance of a home stay is Cancio's House. It felt like home thanks to Roberto, Raquel, the kids, and the entire family. Raquel's delicious meals, their abundance of experiences and stories made you feel as though you had known her for ages. The kids are so adorable and friendly, they also invited me to play board games.

      The beautiful 500-year-old ancestral Goan home, which has a very well-maintained structure and lovely surroundings, made guests feel at home, also everyone contributed equally to keeping the residence in excellent condition. With chirping birds all around you all day, you can unwind from your daily lifestyle exactly like you would on a summer vacation at your grandparents house.
      My visit was regrettably extremely brief, but it was a beautiful experience and I got to know lovely couple and family.
      You truly felt like a member of the family thanks to everyone.

      Date of stay: April 2023
      • Trip type: Travelled solo
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      1  Thank Hesha_Shah94
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 8 April 2023 via mobile

      Set in the beautiful village of Aldona, this is a well maintained ancestral home with origins stretching back to pre-Portuguese times. Currently, there are two rooms set in a verdant, multiflorous, manicured garden, my wife and I were content to spend the days sat in front of our rooms, reading, taking in the atmosphere and chatting to our lovely next door neighbour.
      Meals are taken in the home and with the family and are stunning examples of home cooked Goan delicacies, some of the best I have tasted in nearly 3 decades of coming to Goa. All the family are very pleasant, both human and animal, and we enjoyed long, leisurely breakfasts.
      A highlight of our trip was the early evening stroll around the village, chatting with the friendly locals and admiring the gardens. There's a good Goan café, name escapes me, and some good food stalls in the centre. All in all, this place is recommended.

      Room tip: Despite being kept very clean, there are quite a few mosquitoes so bring some Odomos or similar.
      Date of stay: March 2023
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      1  Thank goanite
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 26 January 2023

      Roberto and Raquel are the best hosts. We stayed in Cancio’s house with my 18 months baby. They made our stay with baby comfortable. Raquel cooked special baby food for my son. What else mother can imagine on goa vacation.
      On our wedding anniversary they greeted us with homemade chocolate cake. It was a sweet gesture. Whole family is loving and kind in nature.
      I highly recommend this place for those who wants to explore different side of Goa and Goan culture.

      Date of stay: January 2023
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      1  Thank Curiosity54430417711
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews