We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Hesha

Best home stay experience and lovely family

Review of Cancio's House
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Apr 2023
The perfect instance of a home stay is Cancio's House. It felt like home thanks to Roberto, Raquel, the kids, and the entire family. Raquel's delicious meals, their abundance of experiences and stories made you feel as though you had known her for ages. The kids are so adorable and friendly, they also invited me to play board games.

The beautiful 500-year-old ancestral Goan home, which has a very well-maintained structure and lovely surroundings, made guests feel at home, also everyone contributed equally to keeping the residence in excellent condition. With chirping birds all around you all day, you can unwind from your daily lifestyle exactly like you would on a summer vacation at your grandparents house.
My visit was regrettably extremely brief, but it was a beautiful experience and I got to know lovely couple and family.
You truly felt like a member of the family thanks to everyone.
Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
    1.6 km from Cancio's House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Pool
      0.6 km from Cancio's House
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • MakeMyTrip
      • Expedia.com
        ₹10,635
      • Booking.com
      3.8 km from Cancio's House
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      7.4 km from Cancio's House
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      6.3 km from Cancio's House
      Free parking
      Pool
      • Vio.com
      • Agoda.com
      0.0 km from Cancio's House
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      6.4 km from Cancio's House
      Free parking
      Pool
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      4.0 km from Cancio's House
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      1.6 km from Cancio's House
      Free parking
      Pool
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      3.4 km from Cancio's House
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      View more hotels in Aldona
      Reviews (198)
      Filter reviews
      198 results
      Traveller rating
      176
      21
      0
      1
      0
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      Traveller rating
      176
      21
      0
      1
      0
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews homemade jams roberto and raquel the main house home stay home away from home homestay experience loving family ancestral home real break authentic goan solar heating true goa caring hosts r r four poster bed lush greenery wonderful homestay
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      8 - 13 of 198 reviews
      Reviewed 8 April 2023 via mobile

      Set in the beautiful village of Aldona, this is a well maintained ancestral home with origins stretching back to pre-Portuguese times. Currently, there are two rooms set in a verdant, multiflorous, manicured garden, my wife and I were content to spend the days sat in front of our rooms, reading, taking in the atmosphere and chatting to our lovely next door neighbour.
      Meals are taken in the home and with the family and are stunning examples of home cooked Goan delicacies, some of the best I have tasted in nearly 3 decades of coming to Goa. All the family are very pleasant, both human and animal, and we enjoyed long, leisurely breakfasts.
      A highlight of our trip was the early evening stroll around the village, chatting with the friendly locals and admiring the gardens. There's a good Goan café, name escapes me, and some good food stalls in the centre. All in all, this place is recommended.

      Room tip: Despite being kept very clean, there are quite a few mosquitoes so bring some Odomos or similar.
      Date of stay: March 2023
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      1  Thank goanite
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 26 January 2023

      Roberto and Raquel are the best hosts. We stayed in Cancio’s house with my 18 months baby. They made our stay with baby comfortable. Raquel cooked special baby food for my son. What else mother can imagine on goa vacation.
      On our wedding anniversary they greeted us with homemade chocolate cake. It was a sweet gesture. Whole family is loving and kind in nature.
      I highly recommend this place for those who wants to explore different side of Goa and Goan culture.

      Date of stay: January 2023
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      1  Thank Curiosity54430417711
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 16 January 2023

      A very idyllic setting. Room was very clean and well maintained. Super, friendly and caring hosts. We shared a home- cooked meal with the family - a delightful and authentic Goan experience. We had access to a reliable taxi service arranged by the hosts.

      Date of stay: January 2023
        • Value
        • Sleep Quality
        • Service
      1  Thank 417ashan
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 24 December 2022

      We spent a very restful and enjoyable week here. The room was large with a very comfortable, large bed, facing onto a beautiful garden, full of beautiful flowers, mature trees, and a chorus of birds every morning. The owners stress the sustainability of their house. The clean and fresh water is sourced from their own well and is heated by solar panels. Seemingly, some parts of the house date back to pre-Portuguese times. The owners house exudes charm and an old world atmosphere. But what made our stay really pleasant was the many interesting conversations we had with our hosts and family at mealtime. Yes, the matron of the house will serve meals in their home upon request, and she is an excellent cook. There is also an excellent restaurant within easy walking distance nearby called Charlies. So if you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of Panjim and the coast, this is the place to go.

      Date of stay: December 2022
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      1  Thank Cuhulain
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 14 December 2022

      Cancio’s House was a really good find! The ancestral home is beautiful and the cottage I got was spacious and well maintained. The family is very friendly and welcomes you into their home (breakfast is typically in the main house). Owner, Roberto, went out of his way to make sure I was comfortable. Appreciated the facilities like wi-fi, drinking water in the room and solar heating. Also enjoyed the homemade jams and excellent tea :).
      I very much look forward to revisiting for a longer stay.

      Date of stay: December 2022
      Trip type: Travelled solo
      1  Thank Happiness32639975013
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews