We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful place to come home to at the end of the...”

Review of Rodel Valley

Rodel valley
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rodel valley
Kitchen cabin one Bathroom with sauna cabin one
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
60 reviews
Rodel valley
Kitchen cabin one
Bathroom with sauna cabin one
Steam shower with sauna cabin two
Kitchen cabin two
Living room with wood burning stove cabin two
St Clements church at sunset
Rodel
Village of Rodel
Watch some Harris Tweed weaving
Loch walk near the cabin's
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Rodel, Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
worcester...
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to come home to at the end of the day.”
Reviewed 7 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

It's so nice to be able to write such a positive review about a place. We had not been to Harris/Lewis before, but it was a wonderful island and one of the best holidays I have had. The cabin was fantastic, very homely, with everything we needed and more. It is obvious that a great deal of time, effort and thought have been put into making the cabins feel very comfortable.

I could easily have stayed another week and would recommend the cabins to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: That we could not stay another week.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HKPiper
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Heaven is in the Hebrides”
Reviewed 23 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We (a couple with two boys aged 18 and 13) arrived at Rodel having stayed the previous weeks in London, Edinburgh, Aboyne, Helmsdale and Skye and were getting a bit travel/suitcase weary.

What a delight it was to arrive at Rodel Valley. Firstly Rebecca had mentioned in correspondence that we could leave her a mobile phone number and she was contact us if the cabin was cleaned early....and it was. We arrived to find this spotlessly clean and lovely cabin. A bottle of wine and some fresh eggs awaited and we unpacked.

The design of the cabin is well thought out. From the exterior it may look on the small side however for British readers it's a bit like Dr. Who's tardis. Don;t be deceived by photos of the outside because on the inside It's actually big on the inside it's actually a fair size and there is ample room.

A double bedroom, a room with bunk beds, a living room, a dining area in the kitchen, a wee area with a computer (yes, there's a desktop computer in the cabin with an internet connection as well as wifi if you prefer to use your own laptop); and a magnificent bathroom with sauna and a jacuzzi tub!

Bed linen and all towels are supplied and the kitchen contains everything you will need. To the rear there is a bench and seats as well as a laundry line and a pair of swings for kids. There is also a tumble dryer in the shed and a BBQ.

We were there is the summer and did not need to worry about heating however we did note that there were heaters in each room and a furnace/stove in the living room which appears to use wood as fuel.

To the front there is off road parking and a well kept garden.

Rodel itself is a quiet wee village and the church is worth a visit as is the Rodel Hotel. For those that enjoy fly fishing speak to the owner of the Rodel Hotel as he can issue permits for some of the lochs (we did this) and seems very knowledgeable. There are also fish to be caught from the rocks around the village including some very large sized pollock as we soon found out.

Within easy striking distance are the beaches of Harris (Luskentyre was our favourite) and there is also a small golf gourse not that far away. We took the ferry from Leverburgh to Bernerary and had a day trip to S Uist/Benbecula/S Uist.

Word of advice however. Don't make the mistake of driving to Stornoway on a Sunday. All we could find that was open was an Indian restaurant! Even the supermarkets and petrol stations were closed. Go to Stornoway on another day, it's a nice town.

The scenery around Rodel (and Harris as a whole) really is breathtaking. I have been to many of the islands and Harris is definitely my favourite.

No matter how good a place is, there are usually one or two small things that could be improved on, even if only from a personal point of view.

However, when it comes to the cabins at Rodel Valley and what Rebecca provides, I genuinely cannot think of anything! The place really is that good. We wish we could have stayed a lot longer. We thoroughly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property itself
Liked least: that we couldn't stay longer!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve123S...
Swindon, U.K.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxurious Comfort in Harris”
Reviewed 9 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

I will only write a trip advisor review if I can rate a place really highly - which is why I don't write up that much. This summer holiday in the Hebrides will make me busy for a while as the accommodation here is fantastic. This was our main base for a week and the place is designed around everything you could need and more. Sauna and Spa Bath are excellent - just the thing after a days walking. The whole lodge is very comfortable and clean - spotless. The Kitchen equipment is of a really high quality. Rebecca even came round during the week with Cup Cakes and eggs - which was a really nice touch over and above what you could expect. This is a great place for self catering and couldn't recommend this highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sauna
Liked least: There is nothing to criticise in the property.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyn D
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable friendly and a bit of luxury.”
Reviewed 24 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed here for a week and wish it could have been longer. Rebecca had the cabin spotless and welcoming with a delicious cake, fresh flowers, some wine and eggs from her hens. The cabins are well and sensibly designed to make living easy and comfortable, with everything you could possibly want. The bathroom is an amazing surprise - wish I had one like it at home!
The location is good and not far from the excellent mini market. I would recommend a stay here as you will be comfortable and warm whatever the weather.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audbod_13
Harthill, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 6 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

This is a fantastic place to stay. We had such a lovely welcome with home made cake , wine and flowers on arrival. The cabin is a home from home, very comfortable with all the home comforts in such a beautiful and peaceful setting. There is a hotel and restaurant on your door step, and the views from the cabin are just lush, hills and the sound of birds and lambs. Well worth the money, we would definitely stay here again.......and will be booking again for next year. We used this as a base, and travelled from here to all the islands....what a beautiful part of the country, an another world. Thanks to Rebecca and Steve for a wonderful stay.... Audrey Rose Karen and Joan xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home from home
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 112
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing