We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,177)
Filter reviews
1,177 results
Traveller rating
1,018
112
23
12
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,018
112
23
12
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteep hillinfinity poolmobile phoneblue gingerjasmine villaour honeymoonkoh samuichaweng beachcoral covetaxi servicemilk bathfree shuttleviews are breathtakingpick upstraditional thai stylebedroom villaspa treatments
Filter
Updating list...
1,020 - 1,025 of 1,177 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2009

I first saw this hotel via a postcard that a client who lives in Ko Samui sent me . I was entranced by the photo on the postcard and stared at it with a dropped jaw, lost in a sea of warmth and memories from prior trips to Thailand. But this time was different. This time I needed paradise. This time I was taking the love of my life with me. I needed someplace special.

And I got it....

Sandalwood Luxury Villas is like something out of a dream. Villas built right into a cliffside with sparkling infinity pools that stare over a glistening Chaweng Bay. I'm not ashamed to say I spent a lot of time at the edge of the pool, Singha in hand, lost in space at the gorgeous scene unfolded before me. But that's what vacation is about, right? Finding that place that soothes the soul and eases the mind. Sandalwood is that place.

Then there's the staff. How friendly and warm can people be before you suspect they're putting something in the water? The two masseuses at the spa became best friends with my finacee, and took her to town to shop and eat the way real islanders do. David (the owner) took me out for coffee and conversation while my financee went to a beauty salon. "Above and beyond" is the only way to describe the treatment we got, which started when we were picked up from the airport in a plush air-conditioned van, our spines tingling with excitement because we knew we were in for something special.

Ko Samui has many wonderful nooks and crannies to explore. The whole island is easily accessible by bus, taxi, or motorscooter. But to me, the trip is defined by where you spend your sunset. And spending it perched on a cliff, drinking in the azure Chaweng Bay as the sky paints purples, tangerines, and crimsons on it's canvas; then watching darkness descend as fireworks explode over the beach, all while being swathed in opulent luxury and friendly warmth........

now that's a vacation.

And Sandalwood Luxury Villas is the epicenter of that paradise.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank applejackrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
konadavid, owner at Sandalwood Luxury Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2009

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us such a wonderful review. I personally will tell the staff about this. We hope to see you again soon. David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2009

Sandalwood Villas was by far the most amazing place i have stayed. We stayed in the Lotus room, which was absolutely beautiful! It was an amazing 2 story villa that had an incredible view from our jacuzzi tub!! Outside, on our private deck, we had the most fantastic views...My favorite was looking down onto the secluded beach of coral cove. The Staff of Sandalwood were so accommodating and friendly. They helped us book amazing tours, which i highly suggest doing...the elephant and tree zip line tours were incredible! We started every day with a spa treatment! The girls there are very professional and are amazing at what they do. My favorite treatment was the neck and back massage! I was surprised at the variety of food they offered... i tried a different thing every meal and was more than pleased with every choice.

I am so happy that i came and stayed at the Sandalwood Villas!!! I loved my stay sooo much and i am for sure coming back!

Thank you sooo much Sandalwood!!!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank HImissy808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
konadavid, owner at Sandalwood Luxury Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2009

Dear Missy Hi, this is David of Sandalwood. Our staff is happy that they were able to provide you with a wonderful stay during your holiday with us. Please come visit us again when you have time. All the best to you, David
PS. Thank you for the photos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2009

This is certainly a wonderfull view but the hotel is at the top of a very steep road. Walking to and from the hotel is an inpossibility and we are the sort of people who like to explore. Car hire is not really an option as the low powered jeeps which are the norm on Samui would have no chance of getting up the road to the resort. I cannot describe how steep the road is. My other concern is that I have hired cars here with inadequate breaks. I dread to think what woiuld happen if beaks failed on the way down.

Rooms are excellent but the restaurant does not make any use of the views on offer. Swimming pool has great view but extrememly precarious and I would not let children anywhere near it!!

In short a great view but I would not climb everest either. If total seclusion is what you want OK

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank SimonGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
konadavid, owner at Sandalwood Luxury Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2009

Sawasdee krup and thank you for your review. We appreciate hearing your comments about transportation. We do have new rental cars for hire that are very dependable, and also a complimentary shuttle available daily to and from town or shopping areas. We also provide 24 hour reliable taxi service as well. Sandalwood Villas is more secluded and private that many other resorts in the main tourist areas, yet, only about 10 minutes by car. We do hope you come again to visit Koh Samui as there are many choices of accomodation available. Sincerely, David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2009

After a year of correspondance with Sandalwood my fiance and 29 of our friends and family arrived for what was to be the holiday of a life time and a wedding that one could only dream of.
It was absolute paradise.
The website only touches on the dream that is Sandalwood. One really has to visit to immerse themselves in its magic.
From the moment we set foot inside the complimentary jeep from the airport to arriving at the resort and throughout our whole stay the staff were absolutely amazing. They are the warmest, most efficient and fabulous staff.
The manager Pon who we were corresponding with was a jewel, she was always smiling and bent over backwards to meet our every need. She is wonderful and all the the staff are equally as helpful and a pleasureto to be around.
On the lead up to the wedding they made us feel so comfortable and they were unbelievably organised, nothing was ever a problem.
Pon and her staff organised everything from luxurious accomodation onsight, to the flowers in the church, transportation for all our guests including the ones that werent even staying in sandalwood, a champagne beach reception followed by a spectacular array of dishes for our meal on arrival back to sandalwood.
Pon also organised our photographer a man called A who was as wonderful as all the Sandalwood staff. He managed to capture all of the days most wonderful moments and provided us with a gorgeous album.
The food was delicious, the service excellent, the decor of the function area fabulous, the smiling staff heart warming and the overall ambience unimagineable.
Our guests and we had a truely unforgetable time. The cake was the most delicious cake either of us have ever tasted.
Throughout the holiday the dream continued. Every detail of the resort was intricate.
The villas are fabulous each one having its own unique touches from private jacuzzis to private pools to breath taking views. The villa we stayed in was Plumeria and the staff did everything to ensure that its standard was far above that of honey moon sweet. On the day of our wedding during our breakfast the room staff artfully made swans from towels on the bed and decorated the bed with beautiful orchids.
In the jacuzzi on our private balcony there were floating rose petals and at night the water changed colour. It was a haven for periods when we had enough partying.
The views are spectacular from every corner of the resort. Our guests often bickered over whose villa was the most beautiful as they were all gorgeous.
The food was always delicious starting with breakfast which is extremely tasty to light snacks and mouth watering dinners.
Overall we had an amazing wedding and holiday in Sandalwood. We have many memories that we will never forget. The magic that Sandalwood and its staff have to offer helped us to mould our dreams into reality and unforgetable moments.
Sandalwood is truely magical and has so many qualities that are indescribable.
We are forever indebted to all in Sandalwood who helped us create the dream that we could never have expected.
Claire & Enda

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank endmclovin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
konadavid, owner at Sandalwood Luxury Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2009

Sawasdee krup, This is David, a Sandalwood owner. Thank you for the most gracious review. I have now complimented our staff on the great service they provided for your wedding and holiday with us. Porn and her staff try very hard to create a most beautiful weding experience, and it is nice to hear feedback that it was most enjoyed by you and your guests. Please come join us for your anniversary. All the best from the entire Sandalwood staff. Sincerely, David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2009

Juwel in the mountains!
Sandalwood is an outstanding place. We had been there for the second time... and we came back to paradise! The staff is perfect, extremely friendly and helpful in everything. The villas are individually decorated in a wonderful Thai style, each is a juwel for itself. A wonderful peaceful place to relax and enjoy great views and sunsets.

Very nice breakfast place, very tasteful Thai food, also for snacks during the day and in the little restaurant for dinner.

Altogether a place in heaven! Something special for honeymooner, but also for a family like us. Our girls enjoyed the individual pools and the jacuzzi in our villa very much. If you want beach or nightlife just rent a car and go there. The friendly staff will easily arrange for you. But you will be happy to return into your oasis of relaxation in the mountain!

Stayed: January 2009
1  Thank m0rninggl0ry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews