We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“King of the hill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
Ranked #1 of 63 Hotels in Maret
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Could'nt recommend Sandalwood villas enough...
Every detail has been covered here. Service & Accomodation with a personal touch, boutique but far from pretentious, best spot on the island without a doubt. Lotus Villa would be our pick!For families i would suggest getting a car for a couple of days and touring the island and spending time at coral cove beach, drop off and pick up complimentary whenever you like, so "the Hill" was never a problem, in fact without it there would'nt be such a fantastic view here! ...Thankyou to all the staff for making this a memorable trip for our family.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Maverick1Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,076)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

623 - 627 of 1,076 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

What can I say that hasn't already been said. I love this place. My wife and I got married in Samui and stayed here after the wedding. We stayed in the Plumeria room. It was by far the best room Ive ever stayed in! The view is amazing, you get your own private plunge pool, free breakfast, free wifi. Everything from the food to the staff was excellent, the owner himself came up to greet us everyday and even gave us some pointers for the rest of the trip. The best part of our stay was Jip, one of the receptionist, she took care of our every need, from researching train tickets and times to setting up taxis and massages, along with great local tips on the island,we cant say enough about her, shes the best!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank demons851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

This was one of the most fantastic holiday experiences from the time we entered till the time we left. The views from the property are breath taking and Jip and her team ensured that we were more than well cared for. They truly embody service with a smile and went out of their way on several ocassions to accomodate any and every of our wishes.
The rooms were spacious and the views awesome. We spent a few nights in Plumeria and Leelawadee. The Plunge pool and the Infinity Pool were the high points of the respective rooms. The food quality was superb although the menu was a bit limited. We hired a bike to get around but found their daily pick up and drops to Chaweng beach to be of great use as well. They had a well stocked library full of reading material about Samui and surrounding islands.
Since Sandalwood is located on the top of the hill, do not expect to go there to find a happening party hotspot. Go there to truly have a relaxing, quiet holiday soaking up the sun while enjoying a martini or two as you wade around in the pool. In case you still want to experience the night life at Chaweng, the front desk folks wil be happy to arrange a cab for you at night.
We also met the owner - George who told us his fascinating tale of how he set up this place and how he has groomed the best staff in the world! We will definitely return - hopefully sooner rather than later! :)

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelgenie111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed in the Jumpee villa for 8 nights in February and it was absolutely wonderfull. I had been dreaming about going to the Sandalwood for several years after I found it on the internet through Trip Advisor - the reality was all we could have asked for.

The staff were wonderful, a real asset to the Sandalwood, nothing was too much trouble. We wanted to book a scooter for a couple of days, a car 1 day and wanted to book the Five Islands Tour and they did all the work for us so all we had to do was turn up at the alloted time and they took care of the rest. We also did the cooking school with Jip which was great, my husband even carved a rose out of a carrot! She took us to the local market to get our ingredients which is an experience in itself, and helped us try some different types of street snacks.

The meals in the restaurant were fabulous, though the trek to the restaurant on that first day was a bit daunting, but by the end of the week I had calves of steel and could do it in one hit! Once again the restaurant staff were attentive and friendly.

The view, well what can I say which hasn't already been said? Our villa I feel had the best view and it was really something to just walk out the door into the pool. The cleaning staff did a great job, they were so efficient and quick and the night time Kit Kat was always welcome!!

We will definately be back next year for our Sandalwood fix.

Thank you Pon for all your help, it was a real pleasure to have met you and your staff!!

Tina and Paul

Room Tip: The Jumpee Villa has the best view and a pool right outside the door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jezz43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

My wife and I recently stayed in the gardenia and plumeria rooms on our stay in Samui. The place is AMAZING!! Awesome view, excellent service and the restaurant food was unreal. Even though the hotel is located on the steepest hill I've seen, which really tested out our hired scooter, it made it that more seclusive and enjoyable. The staff were extremely friendly and knowledgable ad after talking to one of the owners he pointed us in the right direction for the best places to visit, both the walking streets in lamai and fishermans village and the Thai boxing night in lamai. Overall a great experience and we can't wait to head back next year with the whole family

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Masonsheree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maret
3.4 km away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
781 reviews
18.3 km away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
1.6 km away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 51 in Lamai Beach
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 km away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#4 of 185 in Bophut
1,637 reviews
9.9 km away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
11.2 km away
SENSIMAR Koh Samui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandalwood Luxury Villas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandalwood Luxury Villas

Address: 211/7 Moo 4, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Maret
#1 Romantic Hotel in Maret
#1 Spa Hotel in Maret
#2 Family Hotel in Maret
Price Range: ₹ 7,913 - ₹ 42,615 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandalwood Luxury Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beautiful island of Koh Samui, our fourteen Thai style pavilions are positioned around nine infinity edge swimming pools. Each intimate and secluded villa has a panoramic ocean view and is linked by landscaped gardens with intricate stone walkways. We provide exclusive and sophisticated accommodation while seamlessly blending traditional Thai architecture with a modern contemporary style. At Sandalwood Luxury Villas, we strive to give each guest an outstanding level of quality service with our warm Thai hospitality. From the moment our professional drivers pick you up at the airport, our staff is available to cater for your every need. Whether enjoying an authentic Thai meal in our Blue Ginger Restaurant or a massage at our Sanctuary Spa, our goal is to make your Sandalwood stay a special experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Sandalwood Luxury Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandalwood Luxury Villas Hotel Koh Samui
Sandalwood Luxury Hotel
Sandalwood Luxury Koh Samui
Sandalwood Luxury Villas Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing