We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,176)
Filter reviews
1,176 results
Traveller rating
1,017
112
23
12
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,017
112
23
12
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteep hillinfinity poolmobile phoneblue gingerjasmine villaour honeymoonkoh samuichaweng beachcoral covetaxi servicemilk bathfree shuttleviews are breathtakingpick upstraditional thai stylebedroom villaspa treatments
Filter
Updating list...
763 - 768 of 1,176 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2011

This was the second time we've stayed at Sandalwood. We were married there last year and went back for our one year anniversary.

The personalised service we received was fantastic. We were greeted in our villa by a lovely display of flowers and a handmade greeting card. They put our wedding photo on the board in reception. The staff remembered our names.

Our villa was beautifully decorated, clean and well equipped. We had our own pool.

The staff are always there to help with a smile. They rented a motorbike for us and dropped us off for tours. On our last day there, or driver stopped off for us to buy souveneers on the way to the airport! This sort of 'above and beyond' service is the norm at Sandalwood.

Sandalwood is a perfect location for relaxing, peace and quiet. It is close to all of the attractions, yet its location up the hill allows you to be away from all of the tourist insanity.

We will be back for a third time!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weaselfactory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. This was the third out of five stops on our Asia vacation, and it was nice to take a break from sight seeing to just relax.

I find it difficult to review places in "remote" resort locations such as this, because I need to remind myself that "five star" for north American hotel standards is not generally the same as "five star" in tropical holiday destinations. If you keep this in mind, you will less likely be disappointed.

Sandalwood does quite a good job in doing its best to live up to its rating. Some of the things that it has going for it, that live up to a five star standard no matter which scale you use:

- friendly service. All the staff are extremely polite and attentive. No attitude whatsoever.
- absolutely amazing views. If you want a high rise hotel with hundreds of rooms and businessmen wandering around in suits, then this place is not for you. If you want a quiet place "away from it all" with amazing scenery, then this resort with only a handful of rooms provides that private touch.
- comfortable beds. I am extremely picky about having impeccably clean linens and fluffy pillows... These beds were amazingly comfortable, I literally slept all day in them.
- free wifi. No limitations on number of devices, no set wifi areas. Wifi is available in your room, in the restaurant... Everywhere! This is great when you just want to chill out all day with your iPad or ebook.
- free airport transfer. Even most hotel chains do not over this service. This was a very nice touch.

What would I have liked to see to make the accommodations more on par with luxury hotel standards?

- hotter cooked food. Breakfast is included, which is a nice touch. It's not a huge expansive breakfast, but does the job. I don't think it's realistic to set out a hotel-style grand buffet when there are only a free couples staying in the hotel... That would probably be a waste of a lot of food. But we did stay at the resort restaurant a lot for lunch and dinner (too lazy to go out and didn't find any spectacular restaurants in town) and I would have liked to see the main dishes and the rice come out hotter, temperature-wise. It is more of a "bed and breakfast" feel dining establishment - so if you are foodie snob, this may not wow you.

- fluffier white towels. Having nicer bath towels, and more than just two in the bathroom would have made a huge difference, although I appreciate I am getting picky here. On the same note, most higher end hotels are now going with higher end or spa-quality toiletry products (e.g. Aveda, etc.)... This would also make the "resorty" bathroom feel more luxurious.

- additional shuttle stops. The price you get for staying in a more secluded resort is that you have to pay to travel into the city or beach area. I don't mind paying for the taxi service, as I don't expect it to be included. They offer a free shuttle to the beach once a day, and a return trip at 5 pm. I think that's great. Perhaps one additional midday drop off and pick up (say around 2 pm) and or evening pick up (say around 10) would have been a treat though, even if for a nominal fee, since currently we are now paying as much for a return taxi fare (800 baht) as we are for dinner in the city.

All in all, this was a pretty good choice.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Digicision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We have just returned from Koh Samui where we were lucky enough to spend 2 nights at Sandalwood. Based on the recommendations from tripadvisor we decided to try this place and were very glad we did. We were only in Koh Samui for a short time as we were heading over to Koh Tao so we were not interested in the nightlife, shopping, or hustle bustle of Chaewang. Sandalwood kept us away from all that in a small pocket of luxury.

From the moment you are picked up at the airport it is clear that the staff have been well trained in customer service and courtesy. We were amazed at how high up the hill this place was but the views (as you can clearly see from the reviews) are spectacular. Our room (although we could not get the villas with the private plunge pool) was fantastic, spacious, and comfortable (we stayed in Jasmine) and it was close enough to a pool that it felt like our own.

As we were there in early September it was clearly their slower season and we felt like we had the resort to ourselves!!! Wonderful as I cannot imagine anything else.

As for the hill - yes it is steep - but if you are fit and active it is a great walk down to the bay below (Coral Bay) and once there you can swim or rent a kayak for 200baht and paddle around the island. The walk back is a killer but hey - you can work off the wonderful food. We did this both mornings we were there and loved it.

The food is great and all of the staff did their best to make our stay special and perfect. One of the owners was also there (Robert) during our stay and he also made a point to make it perfect and magical - even setting up a private dinner (complete with roses) on our balcony.

If you are looking to be away from the craziness of Chaewang but close enough to visit - this is your place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alisummers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Arrival:
We were met from our ferry by the hotel four wheel drive taxi and transported in style to the resort, which sits high up a steep hill. Once we arrived to the resort we were warmly greated by the receptionist on duty (Thaeg) who offered us a beautiful juice and then showed us around, leading us to our villa where our bags waited for us.

Villa:
We stayed at the Jumpee villa which can only be described as beautiful, the view from the room is amazing and we had a pool right outside the door which was not used by any other villa. We also had a jacuzzi at the side of the villa where we could relax and take in the views. On our first night this view including fireworks taking place on the beach and it felt very special.
The villa was extremely spacious and I loved the decor. It really seems like they put a lot of effort into designing the villas.

Food:
We ate dinner twice in the restaurant and found it be be pretty reasonable. The appetizers were always very tasty however the mains and desserts were just not as nice although still enjoyable. Breakfast was nice, nothing amazing.

Spa:
We had a massage during our stay and it was very reasonably priced which I think is great in a resort like this. The spa staff were very welcoming and the treatments were great, had we stayed longer I would definitely have returned for more.

Service:
This is what makes Sandalwood stand out, the service is simply amazing. The staff are extremely friendly, they make it a truly unforgettable experience. When doing the turndown service they leave chocolates/drinks on your pillow with a 'Sweet Dreams' message, they also give you a photograph of you when you leave. You just leave feeling great.

The best thing about this resort is the fact that despite the extremely high standard of accomodation and service offered the prices for food, drinks and spa treatments are extremely reasonable and there is free wifi and dvd/books loans, I would hope that this would not change as I plan on returning as many times as possible. The only negative was that we had to pay 500BHT for a transfer from our ferry, however we did get a free transfer to the airport when departing.

Room Tip: Reserve the Jumpee villa
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AG1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

My partner and I stayed at Sandalwood Luxury Villas at the beginning of September. Our aim for our trip to Thailand was to relax and Sandalwood allows you to do that. You don't have to worry about anything, they can organise everything for you. The customer service was second to none. They have pretty much thought of everything. They give you a phone to call them to pick you up, they leave gifts on your pillows, I could go on and on!
The view is breathtaking, we stayed in the Malee villa which is also very private. It is up a steep hill adding to the privacy but that is exactly what we wanted. If you want a place to relax this is the place to go. Thank you to everyone at Sandalwood for a truly amazing experience,!!

Room Tip: The Malee Villa was private with a great view.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stella K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews