We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,212)
Filter reviews
1,212 results
Traveller rating
1,050
114
23
13
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,050
114
23
13
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steep hill infinity pool blue ginger restaurant mobile phone our honeymoon jasmine villa koh samui chaweng beach taxi service coral cove free shuttle milk bath views are breathtaking pick ups traditional thai style bedroom villa spa treatments
Filter
Updating list...
799 - 804 of 1,212 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We have just returned from Koh Samui where we were lucky enough to spend 2 nights at Sandalwood. Based on the recommendations from tripadvisor we decided to try this place and were very glad we did. We were only in Koh Samui for a short time as we were heading over to Koh Tao so we were not interested in the nightlife, shopping, or hustle bustle of Chaewang. Sandalwood kept us away from all that in a small pocket of luxury.

From the moment you are picked up at the airport it is clear that the staff have been well trained in customer service and courtesy. We were amazed at how high up the hill this place was but the views (as you can clearly see from the reviews) are spectacular. Our room (although we could not get the villas with the private plunge pool) was fantastic, spacious, and comfortable (we stayed in Jasmine) and it was close enough to a pool that it felt like our own.

As we were there in early September it was clearly their slower season and we felt like we had the resort to ourselves!!! Wonderful as I cannot imagine anything else.

As for the hill - yes it is steep - but if you are fit and active it is a great walk down to the bay below (Coral Bay) and once there you can swim or rent a kayak for 200baht and paddle around the island. The walk back is a killer but hey - you can work off the wonderful food. We did this both mornings we were there and loved it.

The food is great and all of the staff did their best to make our stay special and perfect. One of the owners was also there (Robert) during our stay and he also made a point to make it perfect and magical - even setting up a private dinner (complete with roses) on our balcony.

If you are looking to be away from the craziness of Chaewang but close enough to visit - this is your place.

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alisummers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Arrival:
We were met from our ferry by the hotel four wheel drive taxi and transported in style to the resort, which sits high up a steep hill. Once we arrived to the resort we were warmly greated by the receptionist on duty (Thaeg) who offered us a beautiful juice and then showed us around, leading us to our villa where our bags waited for us.

Villa:
We stayed at the Jumpee villa which can only be described as beautiful, the view from the room is amazing and we had a pool right outside the door which was not used by any other villa. We also had a jacuzzi at the side of the villa where we could relax and take in the views. On our first night this view including fireworks taking place on the beach and it felt very special.
The villa was extremely spacious and I loved the decor. It really seems like they put a lot of effort into designing the villas.

Food:
We ate dinner twice in the restaurant and found it be be pretty reasonable. The appetizers were always very tasty however the mains and desserts were just not as nice although still enjoyable. Breakfast was nice, nothing amazing.

Spa:
We had a massage during our stay and it was very reasonably priced which I think is great in a resort like this. The spa staff were very welcoming and the treatments were great, had we stayed longer I would definitely have returned for more.

Service:
This is what makes Sandalwood stand out, the service is simply amazing. The staff are extremely friendly, they make it a truly unforgettable experience. When doing the turndown service they leave chocolates/drinks on your pillow with a 'Sweet Dreams' message, they also give you a photograph of you when you leave. You just leave feeling great.

The best thing about this resort is the fact that despite the extremely high standard of accomodation and service offered the prices for food, drinks and spa treatments are extremely reasonable and there is free wifi and dvd/books loans, I would hope that this would not change as I plan on returning as many times as possible. The only negative was that we had to pay 500BHT for a transfer from our ferry, however we did get a free transfer to the airport when departing.

Room tip: Reserve the Jumpee villa
Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AG1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

My partner and I stayed at Sandalwood Luxury Villas at the beginning of September. Our aim for our trip to Thailand was to relax and Sandalwood allows you to do that. You don't have to worry about anything, they can organise everything for you. The customer service was second to none. They have pretty much thought of everything. They give you a phone to call them to pick you up, they leave gifts on your pillows, I could go on and on!
The view is breathtaking, we stayed in the Malee villa which is also very private. It is up a steep hill adding to the privacy but that is exactly what we wanted. If you want a place to relax this is the place to go. Thank you to everyone at Sandalwood for a truly amazing experience,!!

Room tip: The Malee Villa was private with a great view.
Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StellaK878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

The hotel is fantastic, the stuff is great. The hospitality is amazing, people in the reception office are ready to help you for anything at any moment. we stayed in Jasmine Villa, the view was incredibly beautiful. The room is very clean and they always leave small gifts on your pillows when they prepare the beds. The only problem can be that the hotel is top on a hill, and you need to give 20 euros each time you go down to the center and come back, which is very expensive for the distance you travel. I think the hotel should have a free shuttle at least 5-6 times a day, but a part from this it is a fantastic place to stay and we will definetely recommend to our friends and family.

Room tip: jasmine villa has a fantastic view
Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EceEnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

This is my first time travel advisor review and firstly I would like to thank all those people who have so correctly shared their wonderful experience at Sandalwood. We spent 12 wonderful nights in August, staying in Villa Malee.
Every positive comment is correct and the view, well what can I say, the view is exactly as you see on the web-site.
If you are looking to relax, re-charge your batteries and be a little bit away from it all this is the resort for you.
We concur totally with Ryan of New Zealand's comments.Yes the resort is secluded, this is what we were looking for. Yes you may need to pay 400 baht for a trip to Chaweng outside the free time, but how wonderful to have such beautiful friendly people and wonderful air conditioned cars available for travel to and fro. For us the service was perfect. We had read reviews and knew exactly what to expect.
We also experienced a black out one night due to the weather and had a wonderful time dining in the restaurant, so many candles, so perfect and no need for the many apologies for the staff.
We both enjoyed a cooking class, a great experience going to the market to buy our food and can I say so much food. As we cooked, we tried our recipes and back to the restaurant for dinner we had so much left over. Jeap, kup kun ka...I have successfully made spring rolls since returning home..
Our room was beautiful, the pools wonderful.
Pon, I could go on and on, I thankyou and your team for the wonderful time we had, we will be back..Hope all is well with Koy and there will soon be news of a baby and you are again an "Aunt"..
Deb and Dean - Adelaide, Australia

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews