We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No dogs allowed ”
Review of The Sun Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Sun Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

Went for a drink and bar snack. Cumbria has a reputation for being dog friendly. Well not here! Dogs are not allowed. I can understand that in the restaurant area but not in the bar. It's a very ordinary bar with dated furnishings and carpet so I don't see why dogs can't come in - they are allowed in most other pubs in the area. I shan't visit again whilst this policy is in force.

The bar snack and beer were ok. Standard pub grub.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

We really enjoyed our meals here as we've been twice in the last 6 weeks
The food and service were great
Only slight downfall are the chairs are very uncomfortable and there are lots of flys you have to waft off your meals constantly!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank tracea1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

This was visited by myself and partner after seeing the reviews on trip adviser and I can honestly say it lived up to all expectations ,The staff were friendly and the evening meal was fantastic although I could not eat it all as the portions were huge,there is a great choice on the menu and also a specials board so always something for everyone's taste

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank M1chellexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

Recently stopped by for tea on our way home from the lakes. Couldn't find a single fault with the place, lovely ambience, friendly staff (nothing was any trouble) and the grub... well it was absolutely superb, I had the fish & chips which I can honestly say I've never had better and my wife and kids went for pizza which they scoffed before I could even get a slice!

Going back real soon!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank rgpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017

Absolutely brilliant, gem of an Inn. i do some travelling and i love this place. 1st visit and not my last, wonderful setting, Inn, Food, drinks, rooms i can not fault this establishment well worth a visit. Best place I have stayed in in a very long time.

Room Tip: Talk to Lucy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Reigny
4.1 km away
Travelodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith
#9 of 11 in Penrith
455 reviews
4.3 km away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
4.0 km away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#5 of 11 in Penrith
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
Edenhall Country House Hotel
3.1 km away
Tymparon Hall
Tymparon Hall
#46 of 65 in Penrith
28 reviews
8.1 km away
The Rebels Hide
The Rebels Hide
#3 of 3 in Clifton
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sun Inn

Address: Main Street, Newton Reigny, Penrith CA11 0AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith > Newton Reigny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Newton Reigny
Price Range: ₹ 6,700 - ₹ 6,958 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely little country pub. Beautiful beer garden for summer and double sided wood burner for winter. Homemade bar & restaurant food and good hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Sun Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing