We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 144/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Travelodge Penrith(Penrith)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 110
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$ 164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 104
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$ 156
US$ 152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 171
US$ 163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveller rating
48
11
7
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
11
7
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat local pubfish chipspretty villagelarge showermashsuperb foodovernight stopquiet villagestayed here for one nightcooked breakfaston arrivalgrubmotorwaychristmasaccommodation
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 72 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2015

we went as a family of eight, booking first, it was our first visit to this inn so didn't know what to expect and to say we were surprised is an understatement for a little village pub it is huge inside with a large and child friendly dining room, lovely smiling and welcoming young lady behind the bar who quickly served us with our drinks, people were chatty and very friendly and it was quite busy.
Through to the dining room, service was a bit slow but being Sunday lunch we could understand, we all had Sunday roast 2 courses for under £12.00 with a choice of lamb, beef or pork, and children's meals a lot less, all the food is fresh cooked and excellently cooked with large portions and meat cooked to perfection, sweets were "the best" a wonderful half day for a family meet up, highly recommend...

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Max T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2015

We have eaten here a few times since the new owners re-opened The Sun Inn. All the meals have been lovely tasting and of a good quantity. Thursday nights they do specials and last Thursday was "curry and quiz." I had the Korma and my husband had the Rogan josh, both were great and the best thing is you can have "half and half" ie chips and rice!

Quiz was good fun too, I thing they have Bingo some Thursdays if that is more your thing.

Room Tip: Rooms are not open yet.
Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ellen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2015

Stayed locally en-route to Scotland and decided to try the Sun Inn for a bar meal. Thoroughly enjoyed it. The pub was warm and friendly and the choice of food was excellent. We liked the fact that there was a bar menu plus a 'a bit more' menu. We had the lamb and the steak pie. Both were delicious. Would definitely go again. Well done the chef.

Room Tip: A good pub after walking.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nelson7010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2015

We've eaten here a few time now and its a great little pub.

The service is excellent and the food is of good quality and reasonably priced. I've had the homemade pie a couple of times now and its very good.

The beer garden at the back next to the river is one of the best beer gardens in the area, can't wait to return in the summer to sit in it with a pint.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodders300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2015

We visited here last week for a family meal (8 adults, 3 year old and 18 month old). There was a few tables in but wouldn't say it was super busy. We had to wait for over an hour for starters and the children's meal (they were getting very restless!) quite a long time considering only 4 people had a starter, then another half an hour wait for mains. Normally if it was just us a couple who has gone out I wouldn't have minded the wait but because other members of the family had their children I thought more of an effort would have been made to get their food to them quicker. Gutted that they had ran out of roast beef (I really wanted to try that!) but settled for roast chicken. Food was good, but by the time it came I was starving. Slightly disappointed as its less than a mile from us and our local, but a bit of a bad first impression. judging by the previous good reviews they were maybe just having a bad night so we will maybe try again, just hope it's not as long a wait!!

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank 87Jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews