We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“newly refurbished.”
Review of The Sun Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Sun Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2015

A party of 5 for lunch, the menu ......special for lunch.....a choice of 1,2 or 3 courses all sounded lovely scampi and chips were lovely well cooked, and on a large plate.
The newly refurbished pub was quiet but tastefully decorated. The tables were all adorned with fresh flowers...a nice touch. Reasonable priced.
Efficient polite staff. An enjoyable lunch with friends.

Room Tip: This is a country pub, excellent as a place t o aim for walking In the lake district, or enroute to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 61jantie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 57 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2015

we went as a family of eight, booking first, it was our first visit to this inn so didn't know what to expect and to say we were surprised is an understatement for a little village pub it is huge inside with a large and child friendly dining room, lovely smiling and welcoming young lady behind the bar who quickly served us with our drinks, people were chatty and very friendly and it was quite busy.
Through to the dining room, service was a bit slow but being Sunday lunch we could understand, we all had Sunday roast 2 courses for under £12.00 with a choice of lamb, beef or pork, and children's meals a lot less, all the food is fresh cooked and excellently cooked with large portions and meat cooked to perfection, sweets were "the best" a wonderful half day for a family meet up, highly recommend...

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Max T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2015

We have eaten here a few times since the new owners re-opened The Sun Inn. All the meals have been lovely tasting and of a good quantity. Thursday nights they do specials and last Thursday was "curry and quiz." I had the Korma and my husband had the Rogan josh, both were great and the best thing is you can have "half and half" ie chips and rice!

Quiz was good fun too, I thing they have Bingo some Thursdays if that is more your thing.

Room Tip: Rooms are not open yet.
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ellen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2015

Stayed locally en-route to Scotland and decided to try the Sun Inn for a bar meal. Thoroughly enjoyed it. The pub was warm and friendly and the choice of food was excellent. We liked the fact that there was a bar menu plus a 'a bit more' menu. We had the lamb and the steak pie. Both were delicious. Would definitely go again. Well done the chef.

Room Tip: A good pub after walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nelson7010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2015

We've eaten here a few time now and its a great little pub.

The service is excellent and the food is of good quality and reasonably priced. I've had the homemade pie a couple of times now and its very good.

The beer garden at the back next to the river is one of the best beer gardens in the area, can't wait to return in the summer to sit in it with a pint.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodders300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Reigny
4.0 km away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#5 of 11 in Penrith
908 reviews
4.3 km away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
4.1 km away
Travelodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith
#9 of 11 in Penrith
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
Edenhall Country House Hotel
3.1 km away
Tymparon Hall
Tymparon Hall
#46 of 65 in Penrith
28 reviews
8.1 km away
The Rebels Hide
The Rebels Hide
#2 of 3 in Clifton
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sun Inn

Address: Main Street, Newton Reigny, Penrith CA11 0AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith > Newton Reigny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Newton Reigny
Price Range: ₹ 6,706 - ₹ 6,964 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely little country pub. Beautiful beer garden for summer and double sided wood burner for winter. Homemade bar & restaurant food and good hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Sun Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing