We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book now! This hotel is likely to sell out soon.
Autograph
$1,709
View deal
Vio.com
$1,621
View deal
Etrip
$1,621
View deal
Trip.com$1,666
StayForLong
Algotels
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,803)
Filter reviews
1,803 results
Traveller rating
1,231
355
119
60
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,231
355
119
60
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews copper bar hau tree mauna kea golf course manta rays main tower the big island beautiful beach mid century four seasons beachfront room golf view old hawaii banana bread beach staff best beach on the island breakfast buffet
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,803 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2022 via mobile

Cynthia did a great job taking a family photo session. We have a two years old and she knew how to get our son attention and get him to smile for the pictures. Karly took her time reviewing the pictures with us and allowed us to take our time. We recommend PDH, Cynthia and Karly at Mauna Kea Hotel.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank myo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Mauna Kea Resort, Agency / Consultant at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2022

Mahalo for recognizing the staff and the wonderful service they provided to ensure that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay! Thank you for sharing your kind review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2022 via mobile

We stayed as a family of 3 for the week of the 4th of July. Things have vastly improved since our stay last year. All elevators were functioning, more staff were on site, and the whole place really came back to life.

You’ll have a hard time finding a nicer beach anywhere in Hawaii. Waves are usually minimal, and the water is clear, warm, and calm. Beach chairs and umbrellas are included for no fee, as are SUPs, kayaks, and snorkel gear. There’s also no “resort fee”. However parking is $30 per night. There’s a laundromat on site which offers free washing and drying and even includes free detergent. So it’s an expensive place, but you don’t get nickel and dimed here.

Granted, it was a holiday week, but I was somewhat surprised by how aggressive chair-saving was at the beach. The entire front row was typically reserved by 7 am, and there was a day when no chairs were available by 9am. Something to be aware of.

The hotel has a timeless elegance, and is a true architectural work of art. Amazing views can be had from about anywhere on the property. Photos don’t do justice.

The room was luxurious and comfortable, and best of all perhaps was the large balcony with a view to the ocean, complete with plush reclining chairs.

We ate at Manta, Copper Bar, Hau Tree, and. No. 3. Food overall is pretty good, but is not going to compete favorably with the many excellent eateries around the island. Still, for convenience we are most meals here and we were happy with the food and service.

Overall what has to be understood is that the hotel is, true to its name, oriented around the beach and the beautiful outdoor surroundings. It compliments its setting perfectly in an unobtrusive way. You don’t come here to be ensconced In modernity, or to be waited on, hand and foot. It’s instead a classy, laidback, peaceful vibe here, and we absolutely loved it. Where else can you go swim a short distance from your hotel’s beach to snorkel with a manta ray before retiring to your quarters?

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank wlp07
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Mauna Kea Resort, Agency / Consultant at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2022

Mahalo for joining us to experience the magic of Mauna Kea! We look forward to welcoming you back for many years to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2022 via mobile

We’re still here and pretty disappointed by the entire experience. My family used to come here a long time ago and pretty much every except the beach has devolved into a rather run down experience. The food is bland, the employees seem disinterested, and the property is desperately in need of a major renovation. The grounds are not well kept. None of these issues would be worthy of complaint, but paying $15k for a trip warrants better. The luau uses plastic cups and ran out of food within 35 minutes. If your read this, do not book here. Go to the Mauna Lani. At least the place is updated and the staff are professional. It’s so sad to see a beautiful property fall into shambles.

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank travelingdad77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Mauna Kea Resort, Agency / Consultant at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2022

Aloha, Thank you for your review of Mauna Kea Beach Hotel. We appreciate your candor and honest feedback and have shared that with key team leaders. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2022

I was a bit concerned that the Mauna Kea would feel dated after so many years but still an incredibly lovely hotel on an amazing bay. Views and the beach are the tops! We were upgraded to an awesome spacious suite and we couldn’t have been happier with our stay. The staff was extraordinary and the service friendly and attentive.

Date of stay: May 2022
Thank will505
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Mauna Kea Resort, Agency / Consultant at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2022

Mahalo for joining us to experience the magic of Mauna Kea! We look forward to welcoming you back for many years to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2022 via mobile

Absolutely an experience of a lifetime! Ocean front room on top floor of tower..8th floor.. was amazing. Every amenity was perfect…water stations and water bottles to use and take home, first class Frette towels, great bath products, friendly and helpful service oriented staff! Great places to relax on the beach, on the grass area with shade. Inclusive use of ocean kayaks, body boards, etc. Outstanding food at all 3 restaurants. We didn’t get go to the golf course restaurant. And, the art…oh…living with this fantastic collection of art all around is such a privilege! I will never forget it! Stunning flowers, Manta rays at night from above! Perfection. Truly. Only downside is that we are now truly truly spoiled for anywhere else! Thankful that this iconic hotel, grounds and most importantly, the art is being maintained for generations to enjoy. Humbled by the Buddha from the 7th century everyday…

Room tip: Splurge for ocean front if you can! Copper Bar is great for dinner! Manta is wonderful for breakfast…a la carte is great!
Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Joan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Mauna Kea Resort, Agency / Consultant at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2022

Mahalo for joining us to experience the magic of Mauna Kea! We look forward to welcoming you back for many years to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews