We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book now! This hotel is likely to sell out soon.
Autograph
$1,709
View deal
Vio.com
$1,621
View deal
Etrip
$1,621
View deal
Trip.com$1,666
StayForLong
Algotels
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,803)
Filter reviews
1,803 results
Traveller rating
1,231
355
119
60
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,231
355
119
60
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews copper bar hau tree mauna kea golf course manta rays main tower the big island beautiful beach mid century four seasons beachfront room golf view old hawaii banana bread beach staff best beach on the island breakfast buffet
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,803 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2022 via mobile

We’re still here and pretty disappointed by the entire experience. My family used to come here a long time ago and pretty much every except the beach has devolved into a rather run down experience. The food is bland, the employees seem disinterested, and the property is desperately in need of a major renovation. The grounds are not well kept. None of these issues would be worthy of complaint, but paying $15k for a trip warrants better. The luau uses plastic cups and ran out of food within 35 minutes. If your read this, do not book here. Go to the Mauna Lani. At least the place is updated and the staff are professional. It’s so sad to see a beautiful property fall into shambles.

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank travelingdad77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Mauna Kea Resort, Agency / Consultant at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2022

Aloha, Thank you for your review of Mauna Kea Beach Hotel. We appreciate your candor and honest feedback and have shared that with key team leaders. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2022

I was a bit concerned that the Mauna Kea would feel dated after so many years but still an incredibly lovely hotel on an amazing bay. Views and the beach are the tops! We were upgraded to an awesome spacious suite and we couldn’t have been happier with our stay. The staff was extraordinary and the service friendly and attentive.

Date of stay: May 2022
Thank will505
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Mauna Kea Resort, Agency / Consultant at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2022

Mahalo for joining us to experience the magic of Mauna Kea! We look forward to welcoming you back for many years to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2022 via mobile

Absolutely an experience of a lifetime! Ocean front room on top floor of tower..8th floor.. was amazing. Every amenity was perfect…water stations and water bottles to use and take home, first class Frette towels, great bath products, friendly and helpful service oriented staff! Great places to relax on the beach, on the grass area with shade. Inclusive use of ocean kayaks, body boards, etc. Outstanding food at all 3 restaurants. We didn’t get go to the golf course restaurant. And, the art…oh…living with this fantastic collection of art all around is such a privilege! I will never forget it! Stunning flowers, Manta rays at night from above! Perfection. Truly. Only downside is that we are now truly truly spoiled for anywhere else! Thankful that this iconic hotel, grounds and most importantly, the art is being maintained for generations to enjoy. Humbled by the Buddha from the 7th century everyday…

Room tip: Splurge for ocean front if you can! Copper Bar is great for dinner! Manta is wonderful for breakfast…a la carte is great!
Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Joan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Mauna Kea Resort, Agency / Consultant at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2022

Mahalo for joining us to experience the magic of Mauna Kea! We look forward to welcoming you back for many years to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2022

The hotel is a leisurely 40-minute drive from Kona airport. Check-in was concise, and the agent explained my benefits as a Bonvoy elite member. The welcome leis were a nice touch as well. We were upgraded to the Beachfront wing, which was appreciated since the location was quiet, and the walk to the beach only took a few minutes. The Kauna'oa beach was just breathtakingly beautiful. The waves were mild, the water perfect, and the area was never crowded. There were plenty of lounge chairs, and I did not have a problem securing front seats every day we were there. The on-site laundry at the Beachfront wing is a plus, as it was nice to wash those sandy swimwear after each dip. Copper Bar was the best restaurant in the property, and the food was delectable. Service was friendly, with a proactive attitude, and the staff always greeted us whenever we walked around the hotel. There are plenty of other luxury hotels in the area, but we will be back at the Mauna Kea, if ever we return to the Big Island.

Date of stay: November 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank marcvc2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Mauna Kea Resort, Agency / Consultant at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2022

Mahalo for sharing your positive review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your visit and hope to welcome you back one day soon. Aloha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2022

We booked 6 nights using Marriott Bonvoy points and as a Titanium Elite we are guaranteed a room upgrade and according to the website when I booked (Jan 2022) - a full buffet breakfast, and parking at $20/25 valet. Imagine our disappointment upon check in to be told we were not able to be upgraded and could only have continental breakfast, and parking was now $30. I tried to argue the point that the amenities at the time of booking should apply but was told the full breakfast was discontinued "a couple weeks ago" and that the hotel was completely full. I don't buy it that the hotel was full, it seemed quiet, the restaurants weren't ever very full and there were plenty of open beach chairs each day. It's frustrating to work hard to earn reward nights and status only to be treated as a lower status guest. We had intermittent maid service, things like tea bags and bathroom amenities were never restocked, breakfast was inconsistent in quantity. Our room had a view of parking at the golf course and the back of the restaurant so instead of listening to the waves I heard the HVAC from the restaurant. I blame both the Bonvoy program and this particular hotel for not honoring our booking as it was booked. Can you imagine paying cash for a room and being told at check in that you are not eligible for the room and features you paid for?
Further note- there are couple charges on our final bill that we have no clue what are - "gratuity at beverage cart" - we never saw a "beverage cart" but it is not worth sitting on hold to dispute a couple $5 charges.

The resort is lovely, the staff at breakfast at Manta and the beach hut were professional and kind. The beach is gorgeous as are the grounds of the hotel. It is quiet and peaceful - and in the evening I enjoyed the live music.

As lifetime Elite Bonvoy members we will seek other hotels who choose to value our status. Remember, we do drop bucks while staying at your hotel....this could have been a lovely experience but instead we are not returning.

Room tip: Don't count on Titanium Upgrades.
Date of stay: May 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chicogirl2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Mauna Kea Resort, Agency / Consultant at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2022

We'd like to sincerely apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Your feedback is integral to our ability to improve and we will share your experience with the team so we can address the issues you mentioned. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews