We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,652)
Filter reviews
4,652 results
Traveller rating
2,950
1,127
359
147
69
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,950
1,127
359
147
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgold floorluana loungebrown's delihale kaispa without wallsnorth towerpresident's clubbrown's beach housefairmont orchidthe big islandsea turtlesfishsushi restaurantgolf courseour honeymoongarden viewpaddle boards
Filter
Updating list...
518 - 523 of 4,652 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2017

A fantastic location with beautifully manicured grounds, gardens, pool and beach area. Restaurants are expensive and as Kiwis, we really struggle with the gratuity system which we don't experience in NZ.
The BIG Island experience was amazing. The location of the Fairmont in the Mauna Lani Resort area at Waikoloa is just perfect and enjoys so much sun. The close proximity of the shopping villages at Mana Lani, Waikoloa and Waikoloa village provided everything else that was needed during our stay. Having a rental car gave us the flexibility to visit other beaches such as Hapuna which were stunning. hilo is a long but very interesting drive and to stop at the Mauna Kea visitor centre is a must. Viewing the lava entering the sea from the volcano was disappointing as the road was closed and only open to hikers who had sufficient water and attire to undertake a 3 hour return hike ! Overall the Fairmont Orchid was a fantastic Hotel and location and we would throughly recommend it.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with fairmont.com
Thank greerw2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontOrchid, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

How wonderful that you had an adventurous visit to Hawai'i Island! Thank you for your recommendation and we hope we can welcome you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

The Fairmont Orchid is a beautiful resort on the ocean. Snorkeling is also nice in the swimming area. The oceanfront view is beautiful to wake up to. The location is great and easily accessible. I would recommend this resort if you are interested.

Stayed: July 2017
1  Thank ajdubill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontOrchid, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Aloha,
We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay and thank you for your recommendation to fellow travelers! We hope to have the chance to welcome you again soon!

Mahalo,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

My wife and i have very high expectations when we travel. our expectations were met, or exceeded!

the property was magnificent. the service, the concierge, etc; were just great. our buffet breakfast was outstanding. the Orchid was not small, yet it had the personal touch of a propriety half its size.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with fairmont.com
2  Thank kennethsG1856FW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontOrchid, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Aloha,
We are ecstatic that we exceeded your expectations! Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Mahalo and a hui hou,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Driving in from the airport, we were a bit skeptical, as the terrain seen from the highway looks more like moonscape than tropical paradise. It's just rock from old lava flows. When we arrived at The Fairmont Orchid, all of our concerns vanished. The grounds are absolutely beautiful and are perfectly maintained. Every single employee we met was friendly, helpful, and obviously very well trained. Our room was lovely and the view of the ocean and courtyard was spectacular. We loved snorkeling in the protected lagoon. Just outside the lagoon, the snorkeling is even better, with all kinds of beautiful reef fish. My wife was even surprised by a sea turtle that swam within feet of her. They loan snorkeling equipment and other water toys like paddle boards. We were very happy with the unlimited use activity card for $75 for the duration of your stay. They even have prescription snorkeling masks available, which for us, made all the difference. The guys and gals working at the beach hut were very helpful and friendly. This is a really great place to play in the water. There is no need to go elsewhere to find great reef snorkeling.

Adjacent to one of the outdoor restaurants, overlooking the bay, there is a sandy/rocky beach where sea turtles hang out. Additionally, at night, the resort shines a bright light out onto the water. This attracts lots of zooplankton and, as a result, manta rays often cruise through the area for a snack. Several nights we were lucky enough to see these gentle giants cruising around.

The shoreline trail that runs along the beach is a wonderful way to get in a nice morning walk. We enjoyed the casual dining as well as the Norios Japanese Steak House. We really only just scratched the surface of available activities during our 5 night stay. We'll be back again, no doubt about it.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AHIDAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontOrchid, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Aloha and a huge mahalo for a wonderful and detailed review! We are thrilled you had such a nice stay and enjoyed several ocean activities. We're glad we were able to eliminate your concerns and you were able to find your paradise at the Fairmont Orchid. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

I live on the Big Island and take whatever opportunity I can to try out resorts and other places on the island. We just had an opportunity to stay at the Fairmont Orchid and are glad to have had the experience. The property is lovely, our room was clean and comfortable, and our ocean-front view was very nice. The only downside is that it's a very long walk, including up and down either stairs or elevators to get from the lobby to the ocean front area of the North tower where we stayed.The good news is that we're both quite able to walk and deal with the ups and downs. We also had a staff member who helped us with our luggage which, though not much, would have been a bit of a challenge with which to walk.

We had breakfast at the restaurant that serves breakfast and found the breakfast buffet very different from that of the other hotels in the area. It's nicely laid out and is full of artful displays and fresh food. All quantities of heated food were not very large and were replenished frequently. This, for example, is the first time I've had eggs benedict from a buffet where the yolk was not hard-cooked by the time I got to it. Whole fruit as well as the cut up variety was plentiful. The pastries were not huge and it was a treat to be able to try two rather than just one and not feel as if I had overdone.

I made the point in my review title of this being lovely for tourists. I do not believe we will go there again because it really is too touristy for my taste. We commented to one staff member about the fish ponds along the walks at the Mauna Lani, and he said that they had fish ponds, too. However, the Fairmont Orchid's fish ponds are beautiful Koi ponds. The Mauna Lani features old Hawaiian fish ponds along its walking trails. At the Fairmont Orchid, the corridors are inside, and I much prefer the outside corridors both at the Mauna Lani and the Hapuna Beach Prince.

A word to anyone who is a late sleeper: if you go for an ocean front room, you are likely to be awakened by the very loud sounds of the greens keepers at the green just to the side of the north tower.

Room Tip: Rooms in the north tower at ocean front/on north side are likely to be noisy in the morning with work on the nearby golf course green.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RGaitherHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews