We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful, new find for us in Puako/Kohala coast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Puako
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 18 September 2017

After being disappointed at the Four Seasons Hualalai, we found the Fairmont resort to offer the peace and serenity we look for in an adult vacation. The grounds are beautiful, the pool meanders so it never feels crowded. Location is great with access to a wonderful, natural, 4+ mile ocean path from Puako to Mauna Lani Golf course. Rooms are nice and adaquete, could use a little TLC. Bed was very comfortable....great sleep quality. Spa locker area does not even begin to compare with Four Seasons. No outside showers and fitness is OK but again no where near to Four Seasons BUT for way less than half the money and they include a bountiful, wonderful breakfast, we've found a new home! Do cocktails at sunset at the Luana Lounge. You won't be sorry. Food options are also very good at the resort, but they have a shuttle to the Mauna Lani outside shopping area where there are other options and a really nice grocery. Do a picnic on your lanai one night...very fun!

Room Tip: AVOID garden level rooms that overlook the greenhouse, pool furniture storage area...NOT nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lindacrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontOrchid, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Aloha and thank you for being our guest and taking the time to write and share your recent experience with fellow travelers. We appreciate the positive review and extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (4,296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

184 - 188 of 4,296 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2017

A fantastic location with beautifully manicured grounds, gardens, pool and beach area. Restaurants are expensive and as Kiwis, we really struggle with the gratuity system which we don't experience in NZ.
The BIG Island experience was amazing. The location of the Fairmont in the Mauna Lani Resort area at Waikoloa is just perfect and enjoys so much sun. The close proximity of the shopping villages at Mana Lani, Waikoloa and Waikoloa village provided everything else that was needed during our stay. Having a rental car gave us the flexibility to visit other beaches such as Hapuna which were stunning. hilo is a long but very interesting drive and to stop at the Mauna Kea visitor centre is a must. Viewing the lava entering the sea from the volcano was disappointing as the road was closed and only open to hikers who had sufficient water and attire to undertake a 3 hour return hike ! Overall the Fairmont Orchid was a fantastic Hotel and location and we would throughly recommend it.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with fairmont.com
Thank greerw2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontOrchid, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

How wonderful that you had an adventurous visit to Hawai'i Island! Thank you for your recommendation and we hope we can welcome you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

The Fairmont Orchid is a beautiful resort on the ocean. Snorkeling is also nice in the swimming area. The oceanfront view is beautiful to wake up to. The location is great and easily accessible. I would recommend this resort if you are interested.

Stayed: July 2017
1  Thank ajdubill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontOrchid, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Aloha,
We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay and thank you for your recommendation to fellow travelers! We hope to have the chance to welcome you again soon!

Mahalo,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

My wife and i have very high expectations when we travel. our expectations were met, or exceeded!

the property was magnificent. the service, the concierge, etc; were just great. our buffet breakfast was outstanding. the Orchid was not small, yet it had the personal touch of a propriety half its size.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with fairmont.com
2  Thank kennethsG1856FW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontOrchid, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Aloha,
We are ecstatic that we exceeded your expectations! Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Mahalo and a hui hou,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Driving in from the airport, we were a bit skeptical, as the terrain seen from the highway looks more like moonscape than tropical paradise. It's just rock from old lava flows. When we arrived at The Fairmont Orchid, all of our concerns vanished. The grounds are absolutely beautiful and are perfectly maintained. Every single employee we met was friendly, helpful, and obviously very well trained. Our room was lovely and the view of the ocean and courtyard was spectacular. We loved snorkeling in the protected lagoon. Just outside the lagoon, the snorkeling is even better, with all kinds of beautiful reef fish. My wife was even surprised by a sea turtle that swam within feet of her. They loan snorkeling equipment and other water toys like paddle boards. We were very happy with the unlimited use activity card for $75 for the duration of your stay. They even have prescription snorkeling masks available, which for us, made all the difference. The guys and gals working at the beach hut were very helpful and friendly. This is a really great place to play in the water. There is no need to go elsewhere to find great reef snorkeling.

Adjacent to one of the outdoor restaurants, overlooking the bay, there is a sandy/rocky beach where sea turtles hang out. Additionally, at night, the resort shines a bright light out onto the water. This attracts lots of zooplankton and, as a result, manta rays often cruise through the area for a snack. Several nights we were lucky enough to see these gentle giants cruising around.

The shoreline trail that runs along the beach is a wonderful way to get in a nice morning walk. We enjoyed the casual dining as well as the Norios Japanese Steak House. We really only just scratched the surface of available activities during our 5 night stay. We'll be back again, no doubt about it.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AHIDAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFairmontOrchid, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Aloha and a huge mahalo for a wonderful and detailed review! We are thrilled you had such a nice stay and enjoyed several ocean activities. We're glad we were able to eliminate your concerns and you were able to find your paradise at the Fairmont Orchid. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puako
7.2 km away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
6.3 km away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
2.9 km away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.4 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
4 km away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
0.9 km away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Address: 1 N Kaniku Dr, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743-9731
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Puako
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Puako
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puako
#2 Green Hotel in Puako
#2 Family Hotel in Puako
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puako
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puako
Price Range: ₹ 23,038 - ₹ 57,817 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii 4.5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii is a Kohala Coast Hawaii oceanfront luxury hotel and resort with white sand lagoon, Hawaiian Spa Without Walls, golf, tennis, five restaurants, extensive meeting and event facilities, and a year-round children's program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii Hotel Waimea
Fairmont Hotel Kamuela
Fairmont Orchid Hawaii
Fairmont Kamuela
Kamuela Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing