We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Puako
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Having just checked in from the Four Seasons Maui, we were a little spoiled, however the rooms are badly outdated, looking like 1990's era decoration. Peeling paint, leaking toilet and a badly functioning shower head showed lack of investment in the property. I typically enjoy Fairmont properties, however this one eeds a refresh.

The grounds, pool, and landscape were beautiful though. brown's restaurant was quite impressive and the food was good. Short wine list but some good choices on it. The lobby lounges was nice with both indoor and outdoor seating for the sunsets. Service was very good, with courteous staff.

Room Tip: South tower seems to have better beach views. North tower has golf course views on one side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keithnewhook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (4,302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,052 - 3,056 of 4,302 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2012

Our daughter spent part of her honeymoon here and told us to include it in our trip. She said to be sure to check out the appetizers on the patio in the evening when there was live entertainment and the lighting of the Tiki Lights ceremony. Boy was she right. We actually had the majority of our "dinners" by having wine and appetizers. All the selections were really good and the fish sliders were a favorite. The setting of the hotel is spectacular and the secluded pond within the ocean is a very nice feature. Plenty of seating whether you want to use the pool or the ocean. The service was very good and the room was spacious and very classy. The staff was helpful at every turn and we especially enjoyed the service on the patio. We will go back again.

Room Tip: Really not a bad room on the property. Most have at least a view of the ocean and the layout is set...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pebblebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

The rooms are comfortable and well appointed. We are here with a large confererence, nearly 800 people and I find the staff a little overwhelmed and under prepared, for example the shuttle that takes you to the golf course could not handle all the demands. Why not two? After a Four Seasons experience, I have not found too many smiley faces on the staff. Tough to compare four seasons with anything else...

Room Tip: We stayed in the north tower and had a walk out to the garden. easy to get in and out, but one of u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Frances S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

First of all, I've stayed at the Four Seasons & the Mauna Lani here on the Big Island. I LOVE the Mauna Lani (probably biased because I got married there), but we have always gone to Brown's to have dinner on our previous visits and thought we should try the Orchid.

I was a bit disappointed with our first impressions. We were greeted with a lei, but it wasn't a fresh flower lei. There wasn't refreshing juice or a relaxed check in atmosphere. In fact, it was very pedestrian and was just like any other hotel (not including Four Seasons our Mauna Lani).

Our room was nice, we had a South side ocean view room that had a gorgeous view. We had a lovely view of the ocean and the koi ponds below. The room had a really nice feature with a Keurig coffee machine plugged in, ready to use in the credenza under the tv. The coffee was fantastic and house keeping was on the ball refilling our choices. The rooms have a refrigerator, it was pretty disappointing though that the rooms don't even have water in them.

TIP - if you are sensitive to light, bring an eye pillow. They have sliding wooden shutters that let in light. There are no curtains. The only rooms with curtains are the Gold level rooms.

We had dinner at Brown's. Actually this was our 3rd or 4th time there. Dinner was very enjoyable. We had a table right along the beach and sunset was gorgeous. The restaurant was incredibly sensitive to any allergies which was nice. They also had a nice menu for "alternate" choices, ie: diabetics, gluten free.

We didn't travel with our two children this time, but I can see how this would be a nice place to bring small children. The beach has a lagoon with easy lapping waves so it's really great for young kids. I saw a number or 2-4 year olds running in the sand and running away from the water. Snorkeling is ok. Visibility was cloudy, but it was easy to get into the water. Was able to see turtles, rays, moray eel. It's suggested to wear water shoes as there are lava rocks on the sand.

The $14.99 per day for internet access charge is real annoying.

TIP - There is a Foodland grocery store at the Mauna Lani Shops which isn't too far away. If you have a rental car, I suggest you stop in at the store before checking in at the hotel. The store has a nice wine selection, plus all the snacks you could think of.

The rooms have a refrigerator, it was pretty disappointing though that the rooms don't even have water in them.

Overall the Orchid is beautiful, grounds are great, seems a bit pedestrian for the price. I would go back but it would have to be at an attractive price in a Gold Level room.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Manateegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We stayed here 2 summers ago and were so pleased with the whole experience: our room, service, facility, luau, location, etc. A very lovely and elegant property on a beautiful beach fronted by a family friendly cove, great for snorkeling, swimming and canoeing. We just returned from another stay and were a little disppointed with the "value" equation this go around. Our "partial ocean view" room this time -- not! If you leaned way over the patio/balcony and then craned your neck 90 degrees, you might snatch a crescent view of the ocean. And the room was just a regular "motel like" room with a couple of queen beds -albeit a very nice "motel room", but nothing like the "2 queen bed/partial ocean view" room we had a couple of years ago. I also have a thing about clean glassware in hotel rooms; I kinda think it represents cleanliness in the rest of the hotel room. Need I say more? I kept putting the dirty looking glassware out to be taken away and the same dirty (with the same dirty splotches and crud!) kept reappearing on (new) paper doilies. Really? It just seemed like the whole experience was not as impressive this time around, and not worth the price. For instance, the menues in the hotel restaurants were way overpriced, the hotel's "King's" luau performance seemed shorter and had lost a little of its "wow" factor (although the performers still impress!). However, the staff was still very friendly, always ready with a smile and a quick "aloha!", so they still rate a 5-star in my book. It's just the diminished price-value equation, and I may look south to the Waikaloa hotel area the next time we go back to the Big Island.
.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LiquidSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puako
7.2 km away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
6.4 km away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
2.9 km away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.4 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
4 km away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
0.9 km away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Address: 1 N Kaniku Dr, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743-9731
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Puako
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puako
#2 Spa Hotel in Puako
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puako
#2 Family Hotel in Puako
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puako
#2 Green Hotel in Puako
Price Range: ₹ 23,087 - ₹ 42,028 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii 4.5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii is a Kohala Coast Hawaii oceanfront luxury hotel and resort with white sand lagoon, Hawaiian Spa Without Walls, golf, tennis, five restaurants, extensive meeting and event facilities, and a year-round children's program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii Hotel Waimea
Fairmont Hotel Kamuela
Fairmont Orchid Hawaii
Fairmont Kamuela
Kamuela Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing