We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
10 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
$943
View deal
Travelocity$943
Expedia.com$943
Official Site$990
Booking.com$1,256
Priceline$957
Tripadvisor$943
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (465)
Filter reviews
466 results
Traveller rating
399
36
21
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
399
36
21
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews canoe house surf shack newly renovated resort the big island uncle george four seasons stunning property star resort poolside service tide pools ice water kids club adult pool favorite resort hawaiian culture open air poke bowl
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 466 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2022

We have stayed at top notch hotels. This was our best vacation ever. Mauna lani had the best service. Everyone made you feel welcome and special. The suite was amazing, clean and spacious. The resort gave an authentic Hawaiian feel. The kids club was like no other. First off the kids club was included all you have to pay for is lunch. They take the kids on hikes, fishing and to pet sea animals in the tide pools. I can not recommend this place enough.

Date of stay: July 2022
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank ReemSood
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Matthew Felton, Guest Services / Front Office at Mauna Lani, Auberge Resorts Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2022

Aloha,

Mahalo nui loa (thank you so much) for sharing your kind words! On behalf of our entire 'ohana, we're thrilled to hear that staying at Mauna Lani was the best vacation you've experienced thus far.

Your compliments to Holoholo Kids Crew and the overall vibe of the resort are greatly appreciated. Thank you for making Mauna Lani your hale (home) away from home this summer - can't wait to celebrate the simple pleasures of island time with you and yours again soon!

Warmest regards,
Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2022

We stayed for 3 nights during a multi island trip, and chose the Mauna Lani after previous experiences with Auberge. The hotel is in a great location, and like others state, after the renovation everything looks and feels fresh and updated.
Our room deluxe with ocean views was well appointed with all amenities needed - though a bit on the small side.
Pool area and beach are great; as is the spa and the gym.
With regards to service and value for money, other hotels we stayed at during this trip (like the FS, the Halekulani) beat the Mauna Lani.
F&B was between good (breakfast and lunch) to great (we went twice to the CanoeHouse - the second time we got the tasting menu and asked for pairing drinks and were very impressed). A nice plus, you can BYO if the wine is not on their list. A minus and something that completely puzzles me is the Bed&Breakfast rate we paid for: we got a daily USD 80 allowance for the two of us…but the standard breakfast buffet is USD 55/person. I have never seen a system like that, and when paying USD 2000/night, doesn’t feel like good customer service…
The other attention point is the pool service/policy: they state they have a 30min policy (like we experienced one day, we put our stuff on sunbeds and went for breakfast to find our stuff taken away from the sunbeds upon return…) whereas we have also seen larger groups reserving sunbeds early morning only to show up late afternoon…without a problem. The lady at the pool was also pretty rude when we made a point about this…

So, a great choice and if they work a little on service and amenities, unbeatable.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank ErwinFromBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
David Stepetic, Guest Services / Front Office at Mauna Lani, Auberge Resorts Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2022

Aloha Erwin,

Thanks so much for visiting us at Mauna Lani! It was a pleasure to have you, and we sincerely hope you enjoyed your adventures throughout the Hawaii islands.

We're thrilled to hear that the grounds, the amenities and the dining options. Apologies for the subpar experiences with the breakfast buffet and the pool - by no means do we intend to confuse or offend our guests. Nonetheless, thank you for your constructive feedback.

On behalf of our entire 'ohana, thanks again for making Mauna Lani your hale (home) away from home. Hope to welcome you back to the Big Island again soon!

Warmest regards,
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2022

This is a wonderful property and location, and priced accordingly, but the service doesn't always match up to the property. Mostly a great resort and good experience. It seems like everywhere is struggling with staffing and experience these days, but for the $$ I'd have hoped for a little better.

Date of stay: July 2022
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank okevin7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Matthew Felton, Guest Services / Front Office at Mauna Lani, Auberge Resorts Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2022

Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of Mauna Lani. We are disappointed to hear that the service did not meet your expectations. It would be my pleasure to connect with you personally at your convenience to discuss your experience. Feel free to give me a call at (970) 980-6204.

Mahalo,
Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2022

the help was amazing they really took great care of you! they did everything they could to make your trip warm and amazing the pool service was perfect never hand there hand out for a tip they made you feel that you will have the trip of your life!!

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mbarton304
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Matthew Felton, Guest Services / Front Office at Mauna Lani, Auberge Resorts Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2022

Aloha,

Thank you so much for sharing your shining review! From the service to the amenities, we're elated to hear that your stay at Mauna Lani was amazing.

A hui hou / Until next time,
Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2022

The property is beautiful & well-manicured. The hospitality had us feeling like royalty! The staff are extremely service minded and the leaders can be found interacting with the guests frequently. I highly recommend staying at this property enjoying a nice “welcome home”

Date of stay: July 2022
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank chandlerkpearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Matthew Felton, Guest Services / Front Office at Mauna Lani, Auberge Resorts Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2022

Aloha Chandler,

You said it best - welcome home! We're so happy we got the chance to share memories in our little slice of paradise on the Kohala Coast.

Thanks so much for your compliments to the service and the grounds. A hui hou, or until we meet again!

Mahalo,
Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews