We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay(Montego Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 387
US$ 334
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Secrets St. James Montego Bay(Montego Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 357
US$ 347
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Breathless Montego Bay Resort & Spa(Montego Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 387
US$ 375
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay(Montego Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 229
US$ 169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sunscape Cove Montego Bay(Montego Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 245
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Altamont West Hotel(Montego Bay)
US$ 136
US$ 99
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wexford Hotel(Montego Bay)
US$ 108
US$ 85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Caribic House(Montego Bay)
US$ 102
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$ 122
US$ 78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 92/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,474)
Filter reviews
1,474 results
Traveller rating
1,256
134
44
23
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,256
134
44
23
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspineapple houseralph laureninfinity poolsemi private poolmontego bayprivate villathe cottagesvilla staffspa areabeach barbecuejamaica nightevery morningjamaican nightfitness centerkids clubtennis courtswater sports
Filter
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 1,474 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2017

We have stayed at Round Hill many time in past years, but our recent visit was our best trip by far! The manager, Josef, has truly done wonders! The staff was superb, the food delicious, and our accommodations were inviting, clean, and very comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning again!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bjoneslowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Dear Bjoneslowe,
Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay. We are happy to hear that we continue to please you over the years as we make upgrades to the property on an annual basis. Kudos to Josef who has been instrumental over the years in the hotel's transformation. We hope that you will continue to return to your home away from home each year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017

Like many others this fall, our trip to the Eastern Caribbean was disrupted due to the hurricanes. One year ago we stayed at Half Moon in Jamaica and ate at Round Hill and had a pleasant experience. This fall we stayed at Round Hill for five days and four nights. Several days were mostly cloudy and rainy. November is one of the rainier months in Jamaica. Most of the time the weather was pleasant and when the sun was out it was quite hot on the beach and by the pool.
The resort has a modest, curving beach. It isn't the prettiest sand or water in the region but the water is warm and the folks attending to the beach are quite good. Several days the surf was up which made for some dramatic waves with a red flag caution and the cancellation of water sports activities. The resort is in the flight path of the Montego Bay airport but the air traffice wasn't much of a nuisance.
You can stay in a villa or in the hotel rooms -- in the Pineapple House. We stayed in the Pineapple House. Our room was very well maintained. The housekeeping service was outstanding. You just never see them, but they get their work done quite efficiently. The rooms can be a bit noisy from people walking by the front door on the way to their room. And if you are on the end closed to the heart of the resort, you will overhear pool bar activity. If you like white rooms, this is the place for you. One very comfortable sitting chair and a day bed-type reclining sofa. We have been at other resorts in the Caribbean that have larger rooms for the price and more furnishings. This is not a room that you would want to spend all of your time in unless you like being in the bed a lot! So there! Two odd notes: they do not provide shampoo and conditioner in the batch but rather a conditioning shampoo which never seemed to foam. And the tissues in the room are the weakest you will ever find.
Round Hill has a modern, good looking spa with services priced in accordance with resorts in the Caribbean. Which probably accounted for the fact that it was never busy. (The resort seemed to be at about 65% occupancy when we were there.) It is quite a hike to the spa from the central part of the resort up and down stairs and over stone walkways overlooking the sea. It is a dramatic, attractive walk but one wouldn't want to try it at night or after several rum punches. The view of the sea from the lawn of the spa is terrific.
On site dining options are limited. There is room service of course. You can dine at the pool or on the beach or at the bar and select from a limited menu: the usual salads, burgers, and pizzas, etc. The main dining area serves indoors half of the times, and on rainy days, and outdoors the rest of the time. There are theme nights; e.g. Beach Barbecue and Jamaican nights. If you aren't into theme nights at the restaurant at around $ 55 US per person, then it seemed that the only options were room service or the limited menu at the bar. Food was good -- not excellent. Entrees priced from the high $20s up to $50 for lobster. Best dish all week was the beef stew! Curry night was very good as well. If you like spice, they'll heat you up.
The staff of the resort is unfailingly polite and courteous without being particularly warm and engaging. The restaurant staff is good at accommodating special requests. The treatment ladies at the spa did a bit of up selling for additional treatments but not in a pushy manner.
The clientele when we visited were mainly folks from the United States. But there was a mixture of European and South American visitors as well. Mainly couples with a few groups of 6 to 8 sprinkled within. One small wedding while we were there but it was not intrusive in the least.
There aren't a lot of "historic" resorts remaining in the Caribbean but this is one of them.. Going on 65 years, Round Hill has a pedigree that many in the region would envy. That's am important characteristic to us. If you are looking for flashy, trendy, or the latest thing, Round Hill is not for you. If, on the other hand, you don't mind dressing like an adult for dinner, having tea at 4:00 pm, cocktails at 7:00 pm, and dinner at 8:00 pm in a civilized atmosphere, Round Hill is an excellent option.

Stayed: November 2017
2  Thank Tom_ILM_Husker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

Dear Tom_ILM_Husker,
Thanks for taking the time to provide us with a detailed review. We are happy to hear that despite your initial plans being cancelled, you enjoyed your stay with us. We continue to polish the jewel after 64 years in operation so that we can continue to meet and exceed our customers' expectations. We hope that you will return to stay with us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017

The service, food and landscape are hard to top. The organic vegetables and fresh seafood only enhances your dinning experience. The beach is not crowded, the mountains and lust vegetation are a visual delight. If you need a place to destress, this is it.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank amosh810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

Dear Amosh810,
Thanks for selecting Round Hill as your place to de-stress. We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience. We hope that you will return to stay with us when you need a bit of R&R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017

First I must apologize to my beloved Jamaica. It has been far too long since we have spent time together. We abandoned Jamaica for Anguilla several years ago and, had it not been for natural disasters, this trip would have been to Anguilla again.

Our trip to Round Hill has showed us the best of Jamaica and that this island can challenge any competition.

We traveled to Jamaica November 5-9, 2017 with two couples.

What has always attracted us to Jamaica is its unequaled (in the Caribbean) natural beauty. The food in Jamaica has always been unparalleled. But, in the past, we have occasionally had challenges finding the perfect combination of lush beautiful tropical hotel, great beach and top-of-the-line service.

Round Hill provides that.

It was difficult for us, at first, to understand Round Hill. But I can summarize what I have found to be true:

1. Accommodations: Round Hill is not JUST a hotel. It is more. It is essentially a large gated neighborhood with a couple dozen homes (villas) that are owned by the VERY wealthy elite from North America and/or Europe. A small part of this neighborhood is the Pineapple House, which is the main hotel. We stayed in a room in the Pineapple house. It was clean. The bathroom was modern and the maid-service was excellent. If there are any needs that you may have while in the hotel they WILL accommodate.....you just have to ask.

2. Staff: Round Hill has selected the BEST staff. One of the things that hurts many vacation spots is the unreliability of seasonal workers. It seems like Round Hill has none of these but a seasoned staff that works year-round. Round Hill's staff all seem to have consistent training in customer service that is outstanding. Employees at Round Hill seem to truly love their jobs!

3. Food: I have seen reviews both raving and disliking the food at Round Hill. While Round Hill will occasionally have buffets and they have a set menu.....all things are negotiable here. On my first day at the resort I did not like the food....it didn't fit my palate. I told this to a bartender the next day.....he was visually shocked. He asked me what I needed and I told him. After that whenever I got a meal on the resort something had changed....I loved it. They had not only listened to me but made sure that whenever I was served I would have food the way I liked and expected it. The restaurant manager, Mark, is fantastic. He helped me understand that at Round Hill their aim in the kitchen is to please and it is NEVER a bother to ask for a certain meal made how you like it. You just have to speak up. This type of service and accommodation is amazing. Mark and Chef Martin you conquered the challenge of serving superior Jamaican cuisine.

4. Jamaica: Round Hill has excellent drivers. The drivers take you to your destination and wait for you as long as you want. They can take you all over the island and I highly recommend that you see Jamaica if you can. Jamaica has a uniqueness that you won't find anywhere. If you want recommendations on what to do and see please talk to the managing director, Josef. Josef is an incredible resource and always present.

5. Cost: We pay the same price here as any exclusive resort in Anguilla or Barbados and I felt good about it in the end because of the staff, food and overall experience. Round Hill is a great destination for any couple or family who want a true high-end Caribbean experience.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Work2vaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

Dear Work2vaca,
Thanks for taking the time to provide us with such detailed feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience with us. We hope that you will not stay away for too long and will come visit in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017

Over the top in every aspect of this resort. Superior rooms, food, beach, pools. Extremely friendly staff.
Easy access from airport. Very secure. Private. Well worth the price. Will definitely visit again!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank V9533LYnancyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

Dear V9533LYnancyb,
Thanks for providing us with feedback on your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you found Round Hill to be over the top and was well worth the price. All of us look forward to welcoming you back in the near future to enjoy more of our island hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews