We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopewell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My stay was all too short for this exquisite property. The service, the food, the beautiful landscaping and vistas all blended to create a perfect stay. From my room, the image of the sun rising over the Caribbean Sea in the early morning was mesmerizing.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank elizabeth876980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Elizabeth876980,
We are delighted to hear that you had a perfect stay with us and enjoyed the service, food, the landscaping the ocean views. We hope that you will return to stay with us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 1,371 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed at Round Hill many time in past years, but our recent visit was our best trip by far! The manager, Josef, has truly done wonders! The staff was superb, the food delicious, and our accommodations were inviting, clean, and very comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning again!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bjoneslowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Bjoneslowe,
Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay. We are happy to hear that we continue to please you over the years as we make upgrades to the property on an annual basis. Kudos to Josef who has been instrumental over the years in the hotel's transformation. We hope that you will continue to return to your home away from home each year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Like many others this fall, our trip to the Eastern Caribbean was disrupted due to the hurricanes. One year ago we stayed at Half Moon in Jamaica and ate at Round Hill and had a pleasant experience. This fall we stayed at Round Hill for five days and four nights. Several days were mostly cloudy and rainy. November is one of the rainier months in Jamaica. Most of the time the weather was pleasant and when the sun was out it was quite hot on the beach and by the pool.
The resort has a modest, curving beach. It isn't the prettiest sand or water in the region but the water is warm and the folks attending to the beach are quite good. Several days the surf was up which made for some dramatic waves with a red flag caution and the cancellation of water sports activities. The resort is in the flight path of the Montego Bay airport but the air traffice wasn't much of a nuisance.
You can stay in a villa or in the hotel rooms -- in the Pineapple House. We stayed in the Pineapple House. Our room was very well maintained. The housekeeping service was outstanding. You just never see them, but they get their work done quite efficiently. The rooms can be a bit noisy from people walking by the front door on the way to their room. And if you are on the end closed to the heart of the resort, you will overhear pool bar activity. If you like white rooms, this is the place for you. One very comfortable sitting chair and a day bed-type reclining sofa. We have been at other resorts in the Caribbean that have larger rooms for the price and more furnishings. This is not a room that you would want to spend all of your time in unless you like being in the bed a lot! So there! Two odd notes: they do not provide shampoo and conditioner in the batch but rather a conditioning shampoo which never seemed to foam. And the tissues in the room are the weakest you will ever find.
Round Hill has a modern, good looking spa with services priced in accordance with resorts in the Caribbean. Which probably accounted for the fact that it was never busy. (The resort seemed to be at about 65% occupancy when we were there.) It is quite a hike to the spa from the central part of the resort up and down stairs and over stone walkways overlooking the sea. It is a dramatic, attractive walk but one wouldn't want to try it at night or after several rum punches. The view of the sea from the lawn of the spa is terrific.
On site dining options are limited. There is room service of course. You can dine at the pool or on the beach or at the bar and select from a limited menu: the usual salads, burgers, and pizzas, etc. The main dining area serves indoors half of the times, and on rainy days, and outdoors the rest of the time. There are theme nights; e.g. Beach Barbecue and Jamaican nights. If you aren't into theme nights at the restaurant at around $ 55 US per person, then it seemed that the only options were room service or the limited menu at the bar. Food was good -- not excellent. Entrees priced from the high $20s up to $50 for lobster. Best dish all week was the beef stew! Curry night was very good as well. If you like spice, they'll heat you up.
The staff of the resort is unfailingly polite and courteous without being particularly warm and engaging. The restaurant staff is good at accommodating special requests. The treatment ladies at the spa did a bit of up selling for additional treatments but not in a pushy manner.
The clientele when we visited were mainly folks from the United States. But there was a mixture of European and South American visitors as well. Mainly couples with a few groups of 6 to 8 sprinkled within. One small wedding while we were there but it was not intrusive in the least.
There aren't a lot of "historic" resorts remaining in the Caribbean but this is one of them.. Going on 65 years, Round Hill has a pedigree that many in the region would envy. That's am important characteristic to us. If you are looking for flashy, trendy, or the latest thing, Round Hill is not for you. If, on the other hand, you don't mind dressing like an adult for dinner, having tea at 4:00 pm, cocktails at 7:00 pm, and dinner at 8:00 pm in a civilized atmosphere, Round Hill is an excellent option.

Stayed: November 2017
1  Thank Tom_ILM_Husker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Tom_ILM_Husker,
Thanks for taking the time to provide us with a detailed review. We are happy to hear that despite your initial plans being cancelled, you enjoyed your stay with us. We continue to polish the jewel after 64 years in operation so that we can continue to meet and exceed our customers' expectations. We hope that you will return to stay with us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The service, food and landscape are hard to top. The organic vegetables and fresh seafood only enhances your dinning experience. The beach is not crowded, the mountains and lust vegetation are a visual delight. If you need a place to destress, this is it.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank amosh810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Amosh810,
Thanks for selecting Round Hill as your place to de-stress. We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience. We hope that you will return to stay with us when you need a bit of R&R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First I must apologize to my beloved Jamaica. It has been far too long since we have spent time together. We abandoned Jamaica for Anguilla several years ago and, had it not been for natural disasters, this trip would have been to Anguilla again.

Our trip to Round Hill has showed us the best of Jamaica and that this island can challenge any competition.

We traveled to Jamaica November 5-9, 2017 with two couples.

What has always attracted us to Jamaica is its unequaled (in the Caribbean) natural beauty. The food in Jamaica has always been unparalleled. But, in the past, we have occasionally had challenges finding the perfect combination of lush beautiful tropical hotel, great beach and top-of-the-line service.

Round Hill provides that.

It was difficult for us, at first, to understand Round Hill. But I can summarize what I have found to be true:

1. Accommodations: Round Hill is not JUST a hotel. It is more. It is essentially a large gated neighborhood with a couple dozen homes (villas) that are owned by the VERY wealthy elite from North America and/or Europe. A small part of this neighborhood is the Pineapple House, which is the main hotel. We stayed in a room in the Pineapple house. It was clean. The bathroom was modern and the maid-service was excellent. If there are any needs that you may have while in the hotel they WILL accommodate.....you just have to ask.

2. Staff: Round Hill has selected the BEST staff. One of the things that hurts many vacation spots is the unreliability of seasonal workers. It seems like Round Hill has none of these but a seasoned staff that works year-round. Round Hill's staff all seem to have consistent training in customer service that is outstanding. Employees at Round Hill seem to truly love their jobs!

3. Food: I have seen reviews both raving and disliking the food at Round Hill. While Round Hill will occasionally have buffets and they have a set menu.....all things are negotiable here. On my first day at the resort I did not like the food....it didn't fit my palate. I told this to a bartender the next day.....he was visually shocked. He asked me what I needed and I told him. After that whenever I got a meal on the resort something had changed....I loved it. They had not only listened to me but made sure that whenever I was served I would have food the way I liked and expected it. The restaurant manager, Mark, is fantastic. He helped me understand that at Round Hill their aim in the kitchen is to please and it is NEVER a bother to ask for a certain meal made how you like it. You just have to speak up. This type of service and accommodation is amazing. Mark and Chef Martin you conquered the challenge of serving superior Jamaican cuisine.

4. Jamaica: Round Hill has excellent drivers. The drivers take you to your destination and wait for you as long as you want. They can take you all over the island and I highly recommend that you see Jamaica if you can. Jamaica has a uniqueness that you won't find anywhere. If you want recommendations on what to do and see please talk to the managing director, Josef. Josef is an incredible resource and always present.

5. Cost: We pay the same price here as any exclusive resort in Anguilla or Barbados and I felt good about it in the end because of the staff, food and overall experience. Round Hill is a great destination for any couple or family who want a true high-end Caribbean experience.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Work2vaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Work2vaca,
Thanks for taking the time to provide us with such detailed feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience with us. We hope that you will not stay away for too long and will come visit in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopewell
20 km away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,605 reviews
98.7 km away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,333 reviews
22.4 km away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 km away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#3 of 63 in Montego Bay
2,108 reviews
15.5 km away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
20.3 km away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Round Hill Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Round Hill Hotel & Villas

Address: John Pringle Drive, Hopewell, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Hopewell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopewell
Price Range: ₹ 20,023 - ₹ 59,747 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Round Hill Hotel & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Round Hill Hotel and Villas is situated on a lush 110-acre peninsula just west of Montego Bay, Jamaica. Boasting a guest list of world leaders, cultural icons and Hollywood A-listers, this classic resort continues to attract a jet-set from around the world who enjoy timeless glamour and understated luxury along with pristine natural beaches and the inimitable Caribbean waters. Accommodations include 36 Ralph Lauren-designed oceanfront guest rooms, 90 luxurious villa rooms and suites or a selection of 27 private 2 - 6 bedroom Villas – most with private pools. Other highlights include open-air terrace dining and The Grill at Round Hill, award-winning family programs, an infinity pool, tennis courts, and an Elemis spa located in a beautifully-restored 18th century plantation house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Prestigia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Round Hill Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Round Hill Hotel And Villas
Round Hill Resort
Round Hill Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing