We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,486)
Filter reviews
1,486 results
Traveller rating
1,264
136
46
23
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,264
136
46
23
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pineapple house ralph lauren infinity pool montego bay semi private pool private villa the cottages villa staff spa area beach barbecue every morning jamaican night romantic getaway fitness center kids club water sports tennis courts
Filter
Updating list...
278 - 283 of 1,486 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2017

One of the best vacation resorts I've ever been! You won't be disappointed! Great service, great staff, great location. Now it is considered expensive sosave your coins...you're gonna need them if you never leave the resort, but I suggest a meal at MVP and the Pork Pit. Awesome!!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2017

Dear Anthony J,
Thanks for letting us know that you had a wonderful stay and that we are one of the best vacation resorts. We are glad that the staff too really great care of you and hope that you will return in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2017

We only spent one night at the Round Hill, but it was absolutely luxurious! When we arrived we were upgraded to a semi-private villa. When we walked up the stair to the villa we were amazed! We had a pool, outdoor living and dining area and every need we had was taken care of by our "staff". The ladies were amazing and it felt so special. The Round Hill is a must stay if you are in Montego Bay! One thing "gents"...they have a "strict" dress code for dinner...nice shirt and regular dress pants are the minimum dress code for dinner. I came to Jamaica with nothing but shorts so we had to eat in the lounge.

Room Tip: You need to stay in a Villa! Give you the best experience at the Round Hill.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jdfink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2017

Dear jdfink,

Thanks for such lovely feedback on your short stay with us. It is great to that you had a wonderful time in one of our beautiful villas. Our apologies for our dress code for dinner in the evenings. We hope that you will return to stay with us for a little longer in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2017

Round Hill's (RH) tagline reads: "Timeless elegance. Understated luxury. Warm Jamaican heart." No truer words have every been written.

The RH is located outside of Montego Bay an approximate 40 minute drive from the airport. It is in a secluded location wrapped around a quiet cove of Montego Bay itself.

The resort has an ambiance that seems to have been frozen in time some fifty or more years ago. The decor has a 1960s-1970s feel to it. On the one hand, one might argue that the resort is in need of an upgrade. I would argue that any upgrading to more contemporary decor would detract from the timeless elegance that make RH so special. My wife and I stayed in Villa 28, which is a four room villa at the very top of the resort perched on a hillside. The four rooms share a common living room, kitchen and pool. However, we had the entire villa to ourselves which was magnificent. A large covered terrace off of the master bedroom suite overlooked a panoramic view of Montego Bay. The covered terrace captured the cooling breezes off of the Bay and the serenity and vista was so splendid we just wanted to spend most of our time just lounging out on the outdoor terrace. As our villa was at the very highest point on the resort, it was a 5 minute walk down the hill to the center of the resort and a brisk 10 minute walk back up the hill. You could call for a complimentary golf cart transport to take you to and for, but we preferred the exercise.

If you're expecting a Four Seasons style resort with contemporary updated decor, you might be disappointed. Again, a large part of the charm with RH is that the ambiance embraces a decades old era. .

Jamaican hospitality is second to none. The service staff is abundant and at times it felt there were more service staff than guests. We opted for an in villa prepared breakfast by the staff assigned to Villa 28, a nice but expensive indulgence. Your entire stay at RH can be characterized as an expensive indulgence for that matter. In fact one evening, we hired the cook assigned to the villa to prepare us dinner served out on the terrace. I encourage visitors to bring lots of tip money as I believe you will want to tip generously and it seemed expected.

There are no TVs in the villa rooms, but this is the sort of place where you should want to get away from your normal daily routine. The lush tropical vegetation is abundant and well maintained in a very natural state; nothing contrived about the RH.

I didn't find the food at the restaurants anything special, but dining out on the seaside terrace is nice.

Both the spa and fitness center are nice but quite a hike from the villas.

No real gripes, but a few imperfections. None of our dinner reservations, confirmed in writing, were registered at the dining facilities nor was my spa reservation. The bathroom in the master suite was somewhat inadequate and poorly designed.

All in all, my wife and I left discussing how soon we could come back to this very special place.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TripTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2017

Dear TripTex,

Thanks for such a wonderful review on your stay with us. It is delightful to hear such wonderful feedback. We hope that you will return to stay with us in the future and experience more of what makes Round Hill magical.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2017

We returned to Round Hill for our annual MLK weekend pilgrimage, and it is better than ever. The grounds are spectacular with a lovely new sea wall and water sports building. The menus are fresh and interesting and the 6 course dinner on Sunday was top notch and a very good deal. The gardens in which they grow their own herbs and vegetables are expanding and continue to provide them with great food. The service and staff at this resort are so wonderful that it is hard to compare with any other spot in the Caribbean. We can't wait to return next year.

Room Tip: The cottages are amazing.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Waylandtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2017

Dear Waylandtraveller,

Thanks for your great review on your recent trip back with us for another MLK holiday weekend. We are happy to hear that your you enjoyed all the wonderful improvements along with dining in our Chef's Table restaurant, the Restaurant at Round Hill. All of us look forward to welcoming you back for another great vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017

This place has a lot of charm. Everything is easy and after the first day you feel like you have been there for a few days already. It's great for kids, the place is good at keeping them busy. The staff is very honest, very friendly and warm. What I liked what that you saw families who have been going there for 20 plus years. The food in Jamaica all around is not supposed to be good but the food here was pretty good. I would definitely to the option where you can eat all you want vs. them charging you meal by meal. Especially if you like to drink alcohol or have kids (those actually would go hand in hand now that I think of it!). Anyway - great place, great vibe and beautiful bay that is warm, no big waves and very relaxing. And lastly, the Spa is phenomenal. Excellent spa, excellent products, all top of the line.

Room Tip: If you are going with family get a room close to the pool or even a villa if you can splurge.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Maryam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2017

Dear PickyPerson82,
Thanks for your beautiful review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. and enjoyed the vibe of the resort. We hope that you wil return to stay with us in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews