We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very spacious and peaceful”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Hibiscus

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Mellieha, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Iloveholi...
1 review
“Very spacious and peaceful”
Reviewed 14 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The villa is very big. It has 2 very large bedrooms, 2 with en-suite. The bathrooms have been modernised and were very clean. The bedding was clean. The villa has everything you need to live your daily life. The pool was very clean too. The location is a little to far out without a car, however there is a local bus stop near by. I've never stayed in a villa before but I would definitely do it again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback! It is always a pleasure to note that our guests appreciate the upgrades done on the properties, and that you found all the amenities you required.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to Villa Hibiscus soon.

Kind regards

Dorothy Baldacchino
Director
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Reviewed 10 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
love29tra...
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Average villa with basic needs”
Reviewed 23 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I'm disappointed in the James Villas we've stayed in Mellihia, Malta (Hibiscus is one of them). We've had too many issues with it to make it enjoyable.

1) The floors are so dirty and you're not left with a proper mop to clean them. To buy a proper mop would cost 20 euros at the supermarket. When we told the rep he said all floors in Malta get dirty quickly! Well our floors were never clean to start with so that's just ridiculous. If you like your feet black from walking to the toilet to the bed then this is the place for you. The only way around it is to wear flip flops 24/7. Disgusting and annoying.

2) None of the doors have hooks so you can't hang towels anywhere.

3) No bedside tables in the 2nd bedroom in the Gardinia villa (also annoying).

4) The fridge is extra loud.

5) Appliances didn't work so we haven't been able to do our clothes washing or wash our plates in the dishwasher until things got fixed.

6) 2 bedrooms downstairs didn't have air conditioning working (in Gardinia).

7) The sink smelt downstairs so that had to be fixed.

8) you have to pay extra for air conditioning upstairs so the place is always hot because if you leave windows open you get attacked by flies and Mosquitos.

9) you have to pay extra for any TV channels other then the news channel

10) the kitchen is well equipped apart from the scissors not working.

11) The place echoes because of the marble floors so if you have noisy neighbours who slam doors expect a lot of noise :-(

12) The pool is freezing ALL the time. My 17month refuses to go in.

13) You can hear dogs barking most of the day.

The eating area on the balcony is lovely just bring ALOT of mosquito spray with you!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2014
Dear Sir,

Since you did not write your name on the review, we cannot trace your stay. however here are some replies to your booking.

First of all let me make it clear that I am replying on behalf of the owner of the Villa and not on behalf of James Villas.

- Cleaning of the villa. All our villas are cleaned before the guests stay (on the day of arrival) by a professional independent cleaning company. The villa is given to the client spotlessly clean. If a complaint has reached our company we would have remedied the situation within 24 hours by sending the cleaners again. Let me point out that cleaning products are available in all villas.

-Towel rings are available in all bathrooms
- We are surprised by your comment that one of the bedrooms doesn't have a bedside table. All our bedrooms have bedside tables.
-Fridges had been recently changed to Bosch brand and are definitely not super loud. We never received such complaints
- We received only one complaint this month on a washing machine which was last Saturday. Being a weekend no technician could visit the villa to remedy the situation. The Washing machine was replaced as soon as it was possible. No complaints were received by our company on the dishwasher.
- Again we received no complaints on airconditioners not working
- Agreement with James villas is that airconditions in the living room are not included in the stays. This was supposed to be forwarded to you before your booking
- We do not offer 'pay extra for extra tv channels' so I cannot see from where you got this information. We offer standard Cable TV system in all our villas with over 45 channels to choose from.
- The noises you mentioned have nothing to do with our ceramic flooring and definitely not within our control (such as dogs barking). Our villas are located within a neighbour hood therefore domestic noises are expected
-The pool is an outdoor pool and we never advertise our pool as heated.

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay at our property however we strive to offer high standard properties throughout our portfolio. We aim to solve any complaints received within 24 hours.

Yours sincerely
Janice Baldacchino
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave M
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Mothering in Law break”
Reviewed 11 September 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in this villa in June 2014 and we had a lovely week, the villa is very good and well laid out, could not fault it. There was a welcome pack when we got there, coffee, milk, butter, bread, ham, eggs, etc which was a nice touch.Sun on the pool most of the day. Nice to have breakfast and dinner on balcony over looking the pool.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing