We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“going back - again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pergola Club Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pergola Club Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Mellieha
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“going back - again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

My family (Mum, Dad, Son 11 Daughter 13) have stayed at the pergola 3 times since 2007, always in July/August and I have already booked for later in 2012.
First time we had a 1 bed appartment and B&B, booked through "on the beach" at a very good discounted rate.
Second time we booked the same again but on a half-board basis (we found the standard of food at the hotel so good the first time)
In 2011 we booked a 2 bed appartment as my mother in law came with us. They obviously have a limited number of 2 bed appartments and I booked direct with the hotel. Even tho I haggled with them over the rate I got a lovely appartment with an absolutely stunning view of the bay and church.

The hotel does have an odd layout as it is built into the side of a hill, I have always found the staff ready to help with directions and we're all used to it now anyway. There is an underground car park with maybe 12 spaces, if it wasn't charged as an extra I suppose it would be permanently full, I think it's worth a few quid to have somewhere shaded to park in August.

I have always found all the staff to be helpfull, friendly and polite, they are obviously very busy in peak season but have always made our holiday a good one.
The standard of cleanliness is very good, both in the rooms we've had and in the public areas, in my experience anything out of place is attended to promptly.
The food is excellent in terms of quality, quantity, freshness and variety - not much in the way of "kiddies food" but I count that as a positive. Breakfast and dinner are buffets with a good range of hot and cold, at breakfast eggs are cooked to order, themed evenings and a barberque once a week, bieng in the middle of the Med you would expect fish to be varied, fresh and plentifull - it is, and plenty of other choices. Meal times here are something to look forward to.

The hotel and Mellieha overlook Ghadira bay which has the best sandy beach in Malta, this gets very busy in August but the water is very clear and at a good temperature and shallow, so well worth a visit or several. The road down to the beach is steep and twisted and about a mile, I wouldn't reccomend the walk in either direction - especially not back up the hill. Catching a bus to the beach can be difficult at peak times as most buses are full by the time they get to Mellieha, coming back is much easier as they are near the start of the route in this direction.

Bieng of strategic importance in the Med, Malta has a very rich and varied history and is well worth exploring. If you are well organised this can be done by bus but it is easier to hire a car (drive on the left of the road). Although it is at the North of the island Mellieha is a good base for this because the Island is not very big and if you stay here you are near the best sandy beaches for when the exploration gets too much. Scuba diving is also worth a try also - explore the sea as well, My daughter and I love it and reccomend the Seashell Cove dive school located in the Tunny net complex in the bay, a very proffesional, family run business.

really looking forward to our next visit

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to hear that not only you already enjoyed three family holidays at the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa, but you are trusting us with a fourth stay! We assure you that we shall be doing our very utmost in ensuring that you will once again have an excellent holiday experience.

While thanking you for taking the time in sharing your feedback, we remain

Yours sincerely,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    580
    194
    94
    55
See reviews for
404
678
54
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

We found the hotel staff very helpful and friendly nothing was to much trouble food was good always something to choose from would stay there again

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hedle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementPergola, Manager at Pergola Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Dear Guest,

We are extremely pleased that you have enjoyed your recent stay within the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa, and have dedicated some time to share your positive experience publicly.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to our resort in the very near future, and while thanking you in advance for reading our feedback, we take this opportunity to wish you and all of our Trip Advisor readers, all the very best for 2012!

Yours Truly,

Pierre Agius
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ansbach, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Pergola Club Hotel and Spa was a great place to stay on the island of Malta. The room was clean and decorated prettily with nice furnishings and color scheme. The people were friendly and helpful, too. The hotel offered a nice spa, a few restaurants, and indoor and outdoor pools.

I enjoyed the location as it was in the city of Mellieha across from a big, beautiful church. Mellieha is a pretty town in the northern part of the island. It is a little ways from the busy, touristy areas of the central island, but only a short bus ride to all the sights. Popeye's Village was only a short walk (3 km) from the hotel.

I plan to go back and stay at the hotel in the future!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the ocean and church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Gina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 January 2012
Dear Guest,

We are ever so pleased to hear that you found the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa to be a great place to stay! We shall looking forward to having you back on board, in months to come.

Best regards,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

I have never written a review before but having just returned from a nightmare week over new year at the Pergola I felt obliged to warn you to save your money and avoid booking here. We had a two bedroom appartment, described on the website as 'deluxe with a full kitchen' - it was shabby, dirty and the oven (which only comprised of an old mircrowave combi oven) actually caught fire! No joke, I was shaking for hours afterwards. The small, dark indoor pool, which was surrounded by soggy floor tiles, had lots of sand at the bottom and the water was revoltingly cloudy - even my children didnt want to swim in it and not much will deter them usually. When I complained about this to the management they said they were aware of it and that the filter wasn't working properly but it was safe to swim in. Well, we didn't fancy risking getting sick so had to use a pool in another hotel down the road. The beds had no mattress or pillow protectors so the thin sheets were just straight on top of grimey pillows and mattresses. To the fair, the housekeeper did get this sorted once I had complained but we came in once day when the maid was in and all I can say is, I got my anti-bacterial wipes out after he'd 'cleaned'. The walls were paper-thin so you could hear other people in their bathrooms - horrible. The sofa was greasy. You had to pay 50 euros extra for utilities, plus you had to pay if you wanted pool towels, car parking, dvd player rental, use of the safe. A really bad place. We even tired to get flights home after 3 days and move hotels but all booked up. Avoid this place like the plague. Go to the Solana up the road which looked much better.

Room Tip: If you must go here, make sure you get a room over-looking the pool/church. The other side is a dar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank BucksTopcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementPergola, Manager at Pergola Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 January 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for finding the time to share your opinion on your recent stay with us.

At the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa, we are mostly recognized for our exceptional standards where it comes to customer comfort and cleanliness, thus it leaves us confounded to learn that certain aspects related to these roots, may have unenthusiastically affected the comfort of your experience with us.

Like any other hotel, we are not perfect, yet neither do we believe in making up excuses or going deep into actual facts. It is worth pointing out that we appreciate all of our guests’ constructive criticism, as these opinions help us to improve and make every effort for better customer contentment.

While thanking you in advance for reading and evaluating our feedback, we kindly encourage you to contact us directly should you wish that we discuss your recent accommodation experience together.

Yours Sincerely,

Pierre Agius
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

We were here over Christmas. Great food for the holidays in their restaurant. We stayed in a 2 bedroom. There was some construction going on, but we were warned before we committed and it was not that noticeable anyway.

Malta has some of the nicest people I have ever met. This hotel was no exception. They were all very helpful.

Room Tip: The rooms are all fine, so it is only a matter of size. I suggest a 1 or 2 room depending on your s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementPergola, General Manager at Pergola Club Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 January 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to hear that you found both the Maltese people and the Team at the Pergola Club Hotel & Spa to be nice and friendly and that your overall experience was a very positive one!

We very much trust there will be another opportunity where we can welcome you again!

Kind regards,

Elaine Cutajar Debono
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mellieha hotels
0.3 km away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,961 reviews
3.2 km away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
4.1 km away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#6 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
3.4 km away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,691 reviews
2.1 km away
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Mellieha Bay Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pergola Club Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pergola Club Hotel & Spa

Property: Pergola Club Hotel & Spa
Address: Adenau St, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 2014, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mellieha
#5 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,894 - ₹ 19,595
Hotel Class:4 star — Pergola Club Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Pergola Club Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pergola Club Hotel Mellieha
Pergola Club Hotel And Spa
Pergola Hotel Mellieha
Pergola Club Hotel & Spa Malta/Mellieha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing