We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Large, stylish apartment in peaceful location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Mellieha, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
PoTP
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Large, stylish apartment in peaceful location”
Reviewed 5 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had a lovely week in this beautiful apartment. It is well equipped and stylishly decorated and was a complete contrast to our cosy farmhouse that we stayed in Gozo in - but equally as lovely. Its very spacious, with sweeping curves, bold colours and great architectural lighting.
The pool deck - which is accessed from some lovely external stairs, is stunning with great views. It is only shared between 3 apartments and there is a jacuzzi, pool (unheated) and sunbeds. We didn't use the pool whilst we were there as it was early season and still a bit chilly and we opted to go out sight-seeing but in full summer I'd be in there constantly!

The apartment has its own outside area with table and chairs, outside lighting and gas BBQ which we used a lot. It would be perfect for families as its under the pool terrace so nice and shady with space to play.

The aircon units in the bedroom can provide heat as well as cooling which was helpful as we did have a couple of slightly chillier nights at the beginning of our week and an hour of heat did the trick to keep us comfortable. My mum did find the bed in the second room rather hard and preferred the single mattress to the double. The main room had a memory foam mattress so this wasn't an issue for us and the linen was good. Plenty of towels available.

We did have a number of plumbing issues whilst we were there which the owner was very embarrassed about and did get fixed - although I think maybe it might all benefit from being checked. Water is definitely a premium commodity on this dry island, so don't expect long, lazy hot showers like you might have at home. Maltese hot water tanks are tiny and empty quickly!

Alison, the owner is absolutely lovely and nothing was too much trouble. She even drove us to Sliema for a lovely boat trip she helped us book when the company forgot to pick us up, made them wait for us and negotiated us a free bar for the trip. She also provided a lovely, complementary, food starter pack and brought us some homecooked, traditional maltese dishes one night.

Eating out in Malta is very reasonable and the food is fantastic. Italian is probably the main influence with pasta, pizza and Mediterranean herbs but there were also some fantastic north african and arabic flavours too. Look out for local specialities like ricotta, capers, rabbit, fish, pastizzi (tasty little pea pies), Kinnie ( a local soft drink), carob syrup, strawberries, prickly pears, oranges, figs, honey, bean humous, ftira bread (traditionally served with tomato paste, tuna, capers and olives) and cheesy twistees (crisps).
The Blue Lagoon and Camino are a must and the waters around the islands are crystal clear, turquoise and stunning. Sadly, sea temperatures were rather chilly in April so we didn't venture in much but I'd love to go back diving later in the season.
Some of the roads can be decidedly dodgy (think rough, farm tracks) as can the driving (driving tests are a fairly new thing in Malta!) but the Maltese people - when not behind the wheel - are amongst the loveliest I've met.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rusell196...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Looks good- but it's better!”
Reviewed 26 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Stayed for a week with our 2 young kids. Pool great for our swimmers and warm enough in mid October. Maybe a bit deep for under 7 year olds but the beach driving out of town was shallow for a long way out and the water pretty warm. The apartment is amazing, huge! The attention to detail was great- fridge stocked with enough to get us going on a Sunday arrival with some nice extras. Even turned up with a mid week pasta bake on the nearest thing to a cold day mid week!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kris F
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful property, great views and welcoming hosts”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Blue waters is a great place to stay if you want a nice relaxing holiday. The property is modern and well equipped, it has a lovely pool area with fantastic views across the bay and the hosts are very warm and friendly, even bringing us dinner one night!
Mellieha is not a wild party town but has a good selection of bars and restaurants. We hired a car to go further afield and explore the island and neighbouring Gozo but the bus service on the island is very reliable, cheap and runs 24 hours.
I would highly recommend this property and would definitely return for another holiday.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xxkikitax...
Riga, Latvia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful place”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The apartment is situated in quite and picturesque place – wonderful view from the pool to the island and sea. The apartment has modern furnishing and has all you may need. The owners of the villa are very friendly and helpful. We spent there wonderful week!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lois81
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“wonderful hospitality with an excellent apartment”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just back from a wonderful week in Villa blue waters. Our hosts were more than thoughtful and considerate with some personal touches that reflected the friendliness of the people of Malta during our whole stay. The apartment was superb, so clean and spacious with air conditioned bedrooms. An excellent, well equipped kitchen with a lovely modern feel which was to be found in the whole apartment. The view from the apartment was beautiful by the poolside which was also spacious and was enhanced by the quiet neighbourhood.
A five minute walk to the local shops provided all we could need and evening meals were eaten at an array of wonderful restaurants within at 10-30 minute walk away. Transport was excellent...a day ticket was 1.50 euros and they were really regular and went to all the places we wanted to visit. The bus stops being at the local shops made travelling around so hassle free. The local beach is sandy and a 10 minute bus journey away. A beautiful part of Malta all in all enhanced by our relaxing stay in villa blue waters.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious, modern an able to relax at pool
Liked least: Bathroom needed a bin and soap otherwise faultless
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing