We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice Hotel, Shame about the miserable staff” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunas Mirador Maspalomas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
Ranked #64 of 221 Hotels in Maspalomas
cleveland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Shame about the miserable staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

I travelled with my partner and a few friends to the Dunas Mirador, Maspalomas for one week during April 2012. The hotel looked nice and the rooms were spacious and sufficient for our needs.
We were all inclusive and these arrangements suited our party, the food was typical all inclusive with salads, some attempt at rice dishes (how on earth do you make a rice dish so bland?). There was a strong emphasis on fish dishes. (Ok if you are a fishy person but not for us). There was also a meat choice on the grill mainly Pork, but one day of chicken and one day of steak.

The all inclusive drinks were the usual local beer, local spirits and a selection of soft drinks. However on the first day one person at the bar allowed a dash of lime for the ladies and on the second day the lime was not all inclusive. The bar person was quite rude with this and would not allow lime to be added to the drinks.

Whilst i am on with the bar staff, one particular day I was allowed to convey some drinks to the table using the tray, providing that i returned the tray ASAP but on the second day the tray was not allowed. Although some Spanish groups that were staying at the hotel used the tray regularly??

The poolside snack bar had a very rude and arrogant person that regularly ran this food area, Benito, you need some manners and some training in customer relations and if you are going for some training then take SNTA Lopez with you as she also could benefit from this type of training too.

The only bar that would serve drinks to us was the pool bar that was open until 11:00pm but if you chose to sit in reception next to the adequately equipped bar then you had to pay for drinks as this bar was not all inclusive. Therefore you had to walk in the dark to the pool bar up various steps and ramps dodging sunbeds and chairs then carry the drinks back.

The restaurant staff were also very rude and unhelpful unless of course if you have the native tongue, then they are prepared to bend over backwards for you.
All in all had a good week but this was due to the group of people that we travelled with, what I would like to say to the hotel management team, you need to assess where the financial revenue is generated and ensure that all the staff treat people equally and with respect.
Can’t forget the entertainment team, they work tirelessly throughout the day and are really good with ALL the people there.

Room Tip: Rooms in the B block face the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank renault1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Dunas Mirador Maspalomas, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Dear renault1,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays and sharing your comment on Tripadvisor. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and were happy with your room and the entertainment.

However, we were alarmed by the fact that you encountered some rude behaviour by our bar and restaurant staff. One of the main goals of our staff is to make our guests feel happy and welcome and the story you told us did not correspond to what we want to offer. Our sincerest apologies if you did not get this kind of image from us. It is very important for us to hear your thoughts and concerns in order to improve our service.

We hope to be able to welcome you again to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Dunas Mirador Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    1,037
    628
    206
    160
See reviews for
918
1,084
73
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

stayed at this hotel for 10 days all inclusive from 2nd to 12th of april dont listen to the moaners we had a great time hotel staff were all very friendly bar staff very efficient the food was good for a 3 star with plenty of choice not much around the hotel but only 3 euro into town in a taxi we also met some nice people overall a very good holiday would return

Room Tip: we had room a216 great view over the pool and large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andyk6666n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Dunas Mirador Maspalomas, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Dear andyk6666n,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays and sharing your comment on Tripadvisor. We are glad to know that you had good time here with us and enjoyed your room and our services. We hope that we will be able to see you again soon at our hotel.

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,

Dunas Mirador Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Went with my 17 year old son all inc for a week, 9th to 16th April via Thomas Cook. The hotel was well presented, the staff were very pleasant and helpfull. The room was nicely furnished, twin beds and a nice bathroom, maid service very good. The pool area was fab, lots of sunbeds, pool bar was as expected, snacks during the afternoon cakes at 4pm! Will mention the animation team, they were very pleasant, funny and organised lots of things to do.
The Food on the whole was very good, breakfast a bit routine and probably the worst of the lot, lunch and dinner had a good variety of food which was well cooked, various things cooked to order by a chef each evening. The only drawback to the place was location, no bars or nightlife nearby, nothing to do after 10 pm. One other annoying feature, all inc was not available in the hotel lobby bar, you had to use the pool bar or disco. Maybe I am being a bit picky...would I go back, I think so...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Dunas Mirador Maspalomas, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Dear paul b,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your vacation and sharing your comment on Tripadvisor. It is important for us to hear what are guests have to say and we are glad to hear that you and your son enjoyed your time here with us. Your comment has given us ideas how to improve our service and we hope that we will be able to implement them soon.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Dunas Mirador Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

I have just returned from a week all inclusive holiday from the 4th to 11th of April! Really enjoyed my stay at the Dunas Mirador and would definitely go back! Very nice looking hotel with good facilities. Our room in block A was clean and we had a lovely big balcony. Although the location is a bit out of the main area we enjoyed taking a walk down to the lovely area of Meloneras where there are beaches, sand dunes, designer shops and lovely restaurants. The hotel also has a bus service in the morning to this area or it is only 5euros in a taxi. We also took a taxi to the main strip in playa del ingles at nights for livelier pubs for 5 euros. The food in the hotel is great value for what we paid. There is a wide variety of food daily at breakfast, lunch and dinner. The food is always fresh and the staff work extremely hard to ensure that food is regularly replaced and a high standard is maintained. The hotel was extremely busy over the easter period and the staff have to be commended at how hard they worked. I certainly enjoyed the food having second, and sometimes even third helpings at each course! :) The pool area at the hotel is lovely and again staff work hard to maintain this. I did have to be up early to get a sunbed each day. The main pool is still quite cold and it took me until my last day to summon the courage to take a dip but it is very refreshing once you are in! The pool looks lovely at night when lit up. The animation staff were great and I enjoyed participating in zumba and aerobic classes. I have to admit I looked forward to the animation team's morning dance! The entertainment in the disco area at night kept us sufficiently entertained at whilst we enjoyed our all inclusive drinks. It is still quite cold at night so my advice to anyone travelling out there soon is to pack some warm clothes so you can sit out in the pool bar at night as it is chilly. In all this is a great hotel and I have nothing but positives to say about it!

Room Tip: Room 116 Block A with a pool view. Our room was at the end so we could see both the pool and the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Dunas Mirador Maspalomas, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Dear Steph H,

Thank you for sharing your comment on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your vacation here in Gran Canaria and at our hotel. We will let the animation staff know about your friendly words, they will be glad to hear that you were happy with their effort to make you and our other hotel guests feel welcome.

We hope we will be able to see you once again at our hotel.

Looking forward to hearing from you soon.

Kind regards,

Dunas Mirador Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Just got back from a week's all inclusive with the family. Brilliant holiday all round. Don't be put off by negative reviews... I think some people expect far too much for their money. Always plenty of choice in the dining room. The freshly grilled fish was particularly good and pancakes at breakfast were lovely. Pool was very cold... but it's bound to be at the start of the year and we still managed to have a good swim.

As for the staff they were all very pleasant. The animation team were fantastic and, although we had none in our party, if you're travelling with young children they'll never be stuck for something to do. They were really friendly and offered lots of things for both children and adults to do day and night... and the daily Danza Kuduro was always a good laugh!

Rooms were kept clean with plenty of linen changes. Our room in block C by the main road was a little noisy with the doors open but was fine when we shut the balcony doors. The location's not perfect but there were various free or very cheap buses and taxis were very cheap... I think the location is a small sacrifice for such a good price.

Overall a really lovely holiday... I enjoyed it so much I'm going back in a few months! Thanks :)

Room Tip: Pool view if you want to leave your balcony doors open overnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebekah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Dunas Mirador Maspalomas, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Dear Rebekah B,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your vacation and giving a comment on Tripadvisor. We were very happy to know that you had spent good time here with us and that you enjoyed our entertainment, food and the cleanliness of our rooms. These words will motivate us to work even harder to make our guests enjoy their time at our hotel.

We are glad to hear that you would like to return and we hope to be able to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,

Dunas Mirador Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
2.0 km away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#22 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,680 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort
2.3 km away
Axel Beach Maspalomas
Axel Beach Maspalomas
#8 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
eo Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado
eo Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado
#57 of 221 in Maspalomas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
5.8 km away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 20 in San Agustin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,455 reviews
4.2 km away
Beverly Park Hotel
Beverly Park Hotel
#108 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunas Mirador Maspalomas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunas Mirador Maspalomas

Property: Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
Address: Calle Einstein s/n, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 221 Hotels in Maspalomas
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,240 - ₹ 11,537
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunas Mirador Maspalomas 3*
Number of rooms: 437
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The varied entertainment program for all ages and its spacious double and family rooms make this the ideal place to make the most of every minute of a family holiday. Located in Sonnenland (Maspalomas), there is a free shuttle bus service to the beach several times a day. Relax in the jacuzzi between 2 swimming pools and let us keep your family amused with our extensive entertainment program. This hotel is ideal for families or couples seeking a fun place to be and who want to enjoy the day with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Dunas Mirador Maspalomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas Hotel Maspalomas
Dunas Mirador Hotel Maspalomas
Maspalomas Dunas Mirador Hotel
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing