We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort
Nearby Hotels
Cordial Green Golf(Maspalomas)(Great Value!)
US$ 135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Melia Tamarindos(San Agustin)
US$ 172
US$ 163
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 333
US$ 295
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 308
US$ 297
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 258
US$ 220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
ClubHotel Riu Papayas(Playa del Ingles)
US$ 195
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bungalows Cordial Sandy Golf(Maspalomas)(Great Value!)
US$ 193
US$ 156
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 193
US$ 187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 302
US$ 291
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,725)
Filter reviews
2,725 results
Traveller rating
1,025
1,107
374
126
93
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,025
1,107
374
126
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanimation teamsenior suitemain poolfive poolsmini clubpool barhalf boardgran canariafamily holidayevening entertainmentnature reserveyoung familiesgreat resortall inclusive packagelarge bathroomgreat holidaycourtesy bus
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
798 - 803 of 2,725 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Just returned from an excellent Easter break at this well-managed resort. We stayed in a suite which was just fine for us (2 adults, and kids aged 9 and 5). The sofa pulls out to two proper single beds. Two singles in the sizeable bedroom. Also large bathroom with good shower; suite kept impeccably clean. Small fridge in room. There's a safe, though oddly you need to pay a small fee to use it.
Opt for an (upper) reception level suite for more sun. Decent sitting out space though no towel dryer. The villas have a small kitchen area.
Extensive gardens mean that you don't feel part of an overbuilt resort. About 30 minutes from airport, 5-minute drive to nearest beach (shuttle offered). Note: Big waves at Maspalomas; you might want to head to the calm lagoon at Playa del Amadores with tinies, but it's smaller and very busy. We had a good lunch at the Amadores Beach Club overlooking the sea.
Taxis are pretty cheap to get around.
Dunas Suites offers a range of pools, although we stuck to heated one near to our suite. Open air ping pong, pool tables and playground will keep the kids busy. The Mini Club is really for under 7s. Our kids did not go, but made friends on site and ran around perfectly safely.
Evening entertainment is on the cheesy side, but good fun. Bike-riding parrots, magic and flamenco were among the shows.
We went half-board (fyi, drinks are extra) and were very pleased with the quality and range of food available. There's a short, but decent wine list with the most expensive bottle at 22 euro. Staff friendly, hard working and deserve tips!
The resort attracts a mix of European families (Spanish, Germans, Danes, Swedes - and English). Ramps everywhere mean access is good; potentially consider for wheelchair bound.
Among things to do, can recommend heading to Palmitos Park to get up close and personal with various animals (and fish!).
In sum, Dunas Suites exceeded our expectations.

Room Tip: Choose an upper level suite - will receive more sun and less noise.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Queen_of_NW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Manager at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review about your Easter holiday in our hotel.

It is nice to hear your positive comment about your suite, food and the resort.

We forward your praise to the staff and are sure it will be a big motivation for them to go on doing their most to satisfy every client.

Hope to see you soon.

Best regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

A really excellent stay for the week before Easter. No concerns at all and very good value. Surroundings were pretty, good choice of pools which were well heated (better than anywhere else I have been to in Europe). We have 2 children (3 & 5) who loved the whole experience. Food was great and did not get fed-up in a week (full board). Only challenge is the walk to the beach which is quite a long way for a 3 yr old. However, we took a buggy and with a scooter would not be a problem (it is about 1/2 mile) - there is also a free bus from the hotel. That said, we spent most days at the hotel because it was so good. Rare for me to say but I would go back here again!

Room Tip: If you have kids it may be worth getting a room/chalet overlooking one of the pools. If you want quite then ask as we did!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Duncan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, General Manager at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2012

Dear Duncan A.,

Thank you very much for your nice comment about our hotel.
We are happy that you, like most of our guests, complimented the pools, the beautiful surroundings and the food we had on offer.

We will do our best to keep up the good service and we would like to welcome you again in the future.

Best Regards from Maspalomas,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed at the hotel from 17/3 to 24/3.
Me, my wife and our daughters, aged 1 and 6. A very nice week indeed! Nice clean rooms (we had a suite) and the hotel area big and tidy.
Several pools to choose from should you not like the action at the main pool.
We had all inclusive and the food was good, plenty to choose from. The breakfast drink dispensers the only thing we were not too happy with.
Great location, not far from the beach and the dunes.
We can definitely recommend this place! We are already planning our next stay... See you!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anders1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Manager at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Dear Anders,
thank you for your nice review. We were more than pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also very happy that you were so satisfied with the beautiful surroundings and the food we had on offer.
Thank you for your critics concerning the drink dispensers. All the critics are welcome because that enables us to improve our service at guest´s satisfaction.
Thank you very much for recommending us to your friends! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed 1 week with 2 kids (4 and 6) at a suite in mid March. The resort is very clean, at least the part we stayed in, even public toilets are kept very clean. The garden is beautiful, very well maintained. There are 5 pools, the depth varies from 90cm to 1,70, + 3baby pools, about 50cm deep. Temperatures varied during our stay, some very warm, kids spent 2 hours there!!! , some freezing for us, but some people did not seem to mind.
Kids animation team was excellent, especially Claudia from Spain and Marek from Slovakia, speaking many languages and atracting kids to participate in the programme during the day and at the Mini Disco every night.Also, there is a nice playground for kids.
The staff was ok at the pool bar, friendly at the reception, housekeepers too, but the best are at the restaurant, hard-working but still very friendly and helping, smiling. I speak spanish so I could always have a 10 second conversation during seating and serving.
The rooms are spacious and clean, terrace and garden nice, we missed a rail outside where we could hang wet towels and swimsuites, we had to hang them on the chairs and the table.(villas have towel rail outside)
Now, the downsides...well, food was sometimes extremely salty, the warm vegetables buffet mostly..you could actually see the crystals of salt on the surface, it really puzzled me why.... On the other hand, there was always plenty to choose from: different kinds of meat, fish, large salad buffet, lots of fresh fruit and desserts, ice cream etc. And of course, french fries for kids who do not want to eat anything else on some days... I also need to praise the breakfasts, very large choice of food.
Secondly, what we hated, was the buffet at the pool. Since we travelled with little kids, we went All Inclusive to be able to get some snacks between the main meals. Unfortunately, it was the same 2 kinds of sandwiches every day and more or less the same cookies. But the worst were the pigeons eating it constantly, because the food was not covered properly. Quite disgusting!!! When I first spotted them, I went to tell it to the staff at the pool bar, but shockingly, they told me that pigeons were also included in the AI, ha ha!!! They made jokes about it!! Then went to chase the birds away, but since here was nothing to cover the food with properly, it took literally 10 seconds and the pigeons would continue with feeding. Very disappointing experience. So we had to take some fruit at lunch and kept it for the afternoon snack instead of the cookies and sandwiches, not that bad, after all.

Room Tip: Definitely at the reception level, you get more sun, not too close tothe reception and the main pool though, for it may be a little noisy for the animation programmes
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Manager at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Dear Andy,
thank you very much for your comment about your holiday at our hotel as it helps us to improve our service. We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with our resort, our friendly staff and the food we had offered. We forward your praise to our staff it will be a big motivation for them.
Thank you for your criticism concerning the food at the pool bar. It always helps us to improve our service.
Thank you again for your nice review and we look forward welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I stayed at Dunas Suites & Villas Maspalomas with my family, we stayed there for two weeks, and those two weeks were great! The animation team working at Dunas was for me, one of the things that made my holiday great, they were always friendly, and the shows they held every night were great! I haven't seen so dedicated and enthusiastic people in quite a long time, they looked like they had the best job in the world! Thank you so much, I can't wait to come back! :)
Max, Maja, Marek, Claudia, Choccolata (his real name is Daniel someting I think), the Dutch guy, whose name I can't remember and the Spanish girl whose name I can't remember, something with R in. If you read this, you guys were GREAT! :D Thank you for making my holiday great! :)
- Stine from Norway! ;)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StineVHansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Manager at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Dear Stine,
Thank you for your positive review about your vacation in our resort. We are happy to hear that you were so satisfied with our animation team. We will forward your praise to our staff and we are sure that it will be a big motivation for them to go on doing their best to satisfy every client.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews