We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Keith & Iris” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort
Ranked #39 of 220 Hotels in Maspalomas
Certificate of Excellence
Chorley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Keith & Iris”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We could not have been happier than we were with this excellent complex. There was plenty of room around the three swimming pools even though it was a busy time of year. The food was superb, very varied and very plentful nobody could be disappointed. For this type of accommodation the complex was closer to the beach than any others that we saw. The suite was complete with fridge, microwave, toaster coffee maker and two ring hob. The sofa bed in the lounge was really comfortable - real bonus if one of your party snores!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Manager at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Dear Keith C,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback about our resort.
We are very glad that you enjoyed totally your time in our hotel.

Hope to see you soon!

Kindest regards from all of us!

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,071 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    766
    839
    292
    102
    72
See reviews for
1,153
586
45
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Just returned from an excellent Easter break at this well-managed resort. We stayed in a suite which was just fine for us (2 adults, and kids aged 9 and 5). The sofa pulls out to two proper single beds. Two singles in the sizeable bedroom. Also large bathroom with good shower; suite kept impeccably clean. Small fridge in room. There's a safe, though oddly you need to pay a small fee to use it.
Opt for an (upper) reception level suite for more sun. Decent sitting out space though no towel dryer. The villas have a small kitchen area.
Extensive gardens mean that you don't feel part of an overbuilt resort. About 30 minutes from airport, 5-minute drive to nearest beach (shuttle offered). Note: Big waves at Maspalomas; you might want to head to the calm lagoon at Playa del Amadores with tinies, but it's smaller and very busy. We had a good lunch at the Amadores Beach Club overlooking the sea.
Taxis are pretty cheap to get around.
Dunas Suites offers a range of pools, although we stuck to heated one near to our suite. Open air ping pong, pool tables and playground will keep the kids busy. The Mini Club is really for under 7s. Our kids did not go, but made friends on site and ran around perfectly safely.
Evening entertainment is on the cheesy side, but good fun. Bike-riding parrots, magic and flamenco were among the shows.
We went half-board (fyi, drinks are extra) and were very pleased with the quality and range of food available. There's a short, but decent wine list with the most expensive bottle at 22 euro. Staff friendly, hard working and deserve tips!
The resort attracts a mix of European families (Spanish, Germans, Danes, Swedes - and English). Ramps everywhere mean access is good; potentially consider for wheelchair bound.
Among things to do, can recommend heading to Palmitos Park to get up close and personal with various animals (and fish!).
In sum, Dunas Suites exceeded our expectations.

Room Tip: Choose an upper level suite - will receive more sun and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Queen_of_NW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Manager at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review about your Easter holiday in our hotel.

It is nice to hear your positive comment about your suite, food and the resort.

We forward your praise to the staff and are sure it will be a big motivation for them to go on doing their most to satisfy every client.

Hope to see you soon.

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

A really excellent stay for the week before Easter. No concerns at all and very good value. Surroundings were pretty, good choice of pools which were well heated (better than anywhere else I have been to in Europe). We have 2 children (3 & 5) who loved the whole experience. Food was great and did not get fed-up in a week (full board). Only challenge is the walk to the beach which is quite a long way for a 3 yr old. However, we took a buggy and with a scooter would not be a problem (it is about 1/2 mile) - there is also a free bus from the hotel. That said, we spent most days at the hotel because it was so good. Rare for me to say but I would go back here again!

Room Tip: If you have kids it may be worth getting a room/chalet overlooking one of the pools. If you want qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Duncan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, General Manager at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Dear Duncan A.,

Thank you very much for your nice comment about our hotel.
We are happy that you, like most of our guests, complimented the pools, the beautiful surroundings and the food we had on offer.

We will do our best to keep up the good service and we would like to welcome you again in the future.

Best Regards from Maspalomas,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaasa, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed at the hotel from 17/3 to 24/3.
Me, my wife and our daughters, aged 1 and 6. A very nice week indeed! Nice clean rooms (we had a suite) and the hotel area big and tidy.
Several pools to choose from should you not like the action at the main pool.
We had all inclusive and the food was good, plenty to choose from. The breakfast drink dispensers the only thing we were not too happy with.
Great location, not far from the beach and the dunes.
We can definitely recommend this place! We are already planning our next stay... See you!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anders1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Manager at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Anders,
thank you for your nice review. We were more than pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also very happy that you were so satisfied with the beautiful surroundings and the food we had on offer.
Thank you for your critics concerning the drink dispensers. All the critics are welcome because that enables us to improve our service at guest´s satisfaction.
Thank you very much for recommending us to your friends! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed 1 week with 2 kids (4 and 6) at a suite in mid March. The resort is very clean, at least the part we stayed in, even public toilets are kept very clean. The garden is beautiful, very well maintained. There are 5 pools, the depth varies from 90cm to 1,70, + 3baby pools, about 50cm deep. Temperatures varied during our stay, some very warm, kids spent 2 hours there!!! , some freezing for us, but some people did not seem to mind.
Kids animation team was excellent, especially Claudia from Spain and Marek from Slovakia, speaking many languages and atracting kids to participate in the programme during the day and at the Mini Disco every night.Also, there is a nice playground for kids.
The staff was ok at the pool bar, friendly at the reception, housekeepers too, but the best are at the restaurant, hard-working but still very friendly and helping, smiling. I speak spanish so I could always have a 10 second conversation during seating and serving.
The rooms are spacious and clean, terrace and garden nice, we missed a rail outside where we could hang wet towels and swimsuites, we had to hang them on the chairs and the table.(villas have towel rail outside)
Now, the downsides...well, food was sometimes extremely salty, the warm vegetables buffet mostly..you could actually see the crystals of salt on the surface, it really puzzled me why.... On the other hand, there was always plenty to choose from: different kinds of meat, fish, large salad buffet, lots of fresh fruit and desserts, ice cream etc. And of course, french fries for kids who do not want to eat anything else on some days... I also need to praise the breakfasts, very large choice of food.
Secondly, what we hated, was the buffet at the pool. Since we travelled with little kids, we went All Inclusive to be able to get some snacks between the main meals. Unfortunately, it was the same 2 kinds of sandwiches every day and more or less the same cookies. But the worst were the pigeons eating it constantly, because the food was not covered properly. Quite disgusting!!! When I first spotted them, I went to tell it to the staff at the pool bar, but shockingly, they told me that pigeons were also included in the AI, ha ha!!! They made jokes about it!! Then went to chase the birds away, but since here was nothing to cover the food with properly, it took literally 10 seconds and the pigeons would continue with feeding. Very disappointing experience. So we had to take some fruit at lunch and kept it for the afternoon snack instead of the cookies and sandwiches, not that bad, after all.

Room Tip: Definitely at the reception level, you get more sun, not too close tothe reception and the main pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunashotels, Manager at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear Andy,
thank you very much for your comment about your holiday at our hotel as it helps us to improve our service. We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with our resort, our friendly staff and the food we had offered. We forward your praise to our staff it will be a big motivation for them.
Thank you for your criticism concerning the food at the pool bar. It always helps us to improve our service.
Thank you again for your nice review and we look forward welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maspalomas hotels
2.4 km away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#22 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,964 reviews
6.0 km away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#6 of 19 in San Agustin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,542 reviews
1.9 km away
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
#61 of 220 in Maspalomas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#4 of 220 in Maspalomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
1.0 km away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#13 of 220 in Maspalomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
5.7 km away
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort

Property: Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort
Address: Avda. Sunair s/n, 35100, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
#27 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,892 - ₹ 15,714
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its architecture and the horizontal layout of its Villas, Suites and Senior Suites, located amidst a subtropical garden of over 75,000 m2, make this a unique resort within the Canary Islands. It is located next to the Maspalomas golf course and the Dunas de Maspalomas nature reserve, whose beach is just 800 metres (approx.) from the resort. This hotel is ideal for families, couples and golfers, who want to enjoy a holiday in a haven of peace and open spaces, giving freedom of movement to our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dunas Suites And Villas Maspalomas
Dunas Suite Hotel Maspalomas
Dunas Hotel
Hotel Dunas Suites And Villas Resort Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing