We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic evening out all round!!”

Restaurante Pizzeria Da Giovanni
Reserve with
Restaurante Pizzeria Da Giovanni is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 188 Restaurants in Tossa de Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 36
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
Description: Closed until February 2019. New management since April 2016! An Italian chef will make you taste extraordinary dishes of Italian and Spanish cuisine at an good price . A fine cuisine in a renewed atmosphere and service professional waiters and bartenders will make you spend pleasant hours in front of the beautiful beach of Tossa de Mar. Hope see you soon!
Restaurant details
Description: Closed until February 2019. New management since April 2016! An Italian chef will make you taste extraordinary dishes of Italian and Spanish cuisine at an good price . A fine cuisine in a renewed atmosphere and service professional waiters and bartenders will make you spend pleasant hours in front of the beautiful beach of Tossa de Mar. Hope see you soon!
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Giovanni's was a treat! We were greeted by Giovanni on arrival - just as they opened. He has so much energy! We had a great table with a lovely view. The three of us shared the mussels, Caprese salad, calamari and pimentos to start - all was fabulous! The mussels were huge!!

For our main course, I had a pizza and my husband and daughter shared the mixed seafood platter. Both were awesome! My pizza, which I had with extra garlic, was the best pizza I have ever had!! The base was perfectly salted and moist, while crispy. Buffalo mozzarella was so tasty. The seafood platter was also really great.

We were so full, but managed some coffee afterwards, which was also good.

What a fantastic evening out! Giovanni adds an energy to the place which is catchy!

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Freebers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni V, Propietario at Restaurante Pizzeria Da Giovanni, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

Dear Freebers,
First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our restaurant.
It is a great pleasure to know that you received 'good service and good food from our staff.
We hope to see you again soon and be able to offer as always our kindness, availability and professionalism.
A greeting from all the staff of the restaurant
Best regards
Giovanni Vaccaro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (696)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 48 of 696 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

A good place with a great view of the sea!! The food taste very good..Amazing service...I strongly recommend this restaurant

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Sunshine2393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni V, Propietario at Restaurante Pizzeria Da Giovanni, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

Dear Giuseppe , first of all a wish to thank you for your marvillous commentary about our restaurant, we are very greatful !!hope see yoou soon in Tossa de mar and have as soon as possible another beautiful experience !
Best regards
Giovanni Vaccaro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

We were looking for a restaurant that was open for an early dinner with a view of the town and the Mediterranean Sea. We found Da Giovanni and it had it all.

Before getting into the detail, it is the saying "the first impression is so important". When we walked in we were greeted and seated by a young lady who had a warm welcoming smile and a friendly personality that confirmed that we made the correct choice for a restaurant.

We began with a Tinto de Verano, a perfect beverage for a warm day. The starters were Pawns and Spanish ham. These were the perfect size for two people.

I asked about the recipe of Giovanni's Tinto de Verano and to my surprise Giovanni came over to our table. Now the four of us began to have a discussion not just about the recipe but wine, food, language and culture. This spontaneity occurred because the restaurant was not busy at this time in the afternoon. We were fortunate to be the only guests that allowed for this opportunity.

We ordered a bottle of Rosé from a Catalonia producer -- dry, crisp, nice fruit on the palate. We made two selections for our principal dish with the help of Giovanni -- a personal sized pizza and Sea Bream. Both cooked and seasoned to perfection. Both portions of substantial size but not obnoxiously big and overflowing. Giovanni certainly has the skill to prepare a meal that satisfies your hunger without overindulging with too much of a good thing.

We found a gem of a restaurant that not only provides excellent food and service but has the passion, personality and professionalism of a perfectionist leading in the front and in the kitchen.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank kennuncorked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni V, Propietario at Restaurante Pizzeria Da Giovanni, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

Dear Kennuncorked,
first of all we would like to thank you for having chosen the restaurant Lilla. We can not describe the feeling we tested with you when they tested our restaurant. The entire team was delighted with you for your kindness and gratitude makes us. All the team hopes to be able to see you soon in Tossa de mar.

Wish you all the best
kind Regards
Giovanni Vaccaro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile


We visited Trattoria de Giovanni in October 2017, had 2 glasses of white wine, a pizza 'tricolore', a custom-made pizza with mushrooms and feta cheese and panna cotta for dessert.
The restaurant is located on a street facing the beach with the tables offering a beautiful ocean view over Tossa de Mar.
The waitress and the kitchen chief who seemed to be the owner both talked to us in a very kind way and were happy to customize a pizza. The food was absolutely amazing and very delicious!!!!For dessert we both had a panna cotta and afterwards a limoncello delivered by the chief for free, which was a very nice gesture. You must visit it in Tossa :)

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank michellemalue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni V, Propietario at Restaurante Pizzeria Da Giovanni, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

Dear Michellemalue,
First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our restaurant.
It is a great pleasure to know that you received 'good service and good food from our staff.
We hope to see you again soon and be able to offer as always our kindness, availability and professionalism.
A greeting from all the staff of the restaurant
Kind Regards
Giovanni Vaccaro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

Had lunch at the restaurant and the food was very good quality.
The menu has a good selection.
It was also good value for money.
Being situated on the front you also get good views.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank JohnH3759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanni V, Propietario at Restaurante Pizzeria Da Giovanni, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

Dear John,
First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our restaurant.
It is a great pleasure to know that you received 'good service and good food from our staff.
We hope to see you again soon and be able to offer as always our kindness, availability and professionalism.
A greeting from all the staff of the restaurant
Best Regards
Giovanni Vaccaro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Pizzeria Da Giovanni also viewed

Tossa de Mar, Costa Brava
Tossa de Mar, Costa Brava
 
Tossa de Mar, Costa Brava
Tossa de Mar, Costa Brava
 
Tossa de Mar, Costa Brava
Tossa de Mar, Costa Brava
 

Been to Restaurante Pizzeria Da Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing