We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely roof terrace”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Shower room
Sitting room
Kitchen
Yacht marina just down the road
Marina just seconds away from Penthouse
Main double bed
Double bed main
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Ta' Xbiex, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
SD12015
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely roof terrace”
Reviewed 8 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This is a great apartment from which to explore Malta - and also in which to relax on the large sunny well-furnished roof terrace, which is a real bonus after a long day sight-seeing. It's located one street back from the yacht harbour at Ta'Xbiex [pronounced Tash Bish], an area with a mix of residential apartments, small shops, yacht clubs, embassies in imposing villas fronting the harbour and restaurants. [Mamma Mia, 2 minutes away on the harbour, is well worth a visit.].
A car is not essential. Buses in Malta are frequent, cheap and, we found, punctual. Within 2 minutes walk of the apartment there are buses to Valletta and within 15 minutes, on the other side of the harbour, [bus stop Kulleg] buses go to the Gozo ferry, Mdina, St Pauls and Golden Bay. Ta'Xbiex is less touristy and noisy than nearby Sliema, whose shops, bars and ferries are also walking distance. Gala supermarket in Testaferrata Street, about 10 minutes walk away, will deliver your shopping for free that same day if you spend more than Euro 40 - ideal if, like us, you are staying for some time and don't rent a car.
The apartment is well-organised with plenty of local information and Ivan and Claudia are on hand if required. We had a small problem with the apartment which was fixed within an hour of us reporting it.
If we return to Malta, we would certainly hope to stay there again.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2017
Thank you very much for the wonderful review and am glad that you have enjoyed Malta and the penthouse. Hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEOFFREY...
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“SECOND STAY AND NOT THE LAST”
Reviewed 20 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Stayed for 30 nights during Jan/Feb for the second time in 12 months.
The penthouse is a clean well equipped and maintained property, with plenty of light from the huge sliding windows leading to the fabulous terrace. Ideal for a solo traveller like myself or a couple.

The main bedroom has a comfortable double bed with loads of storage space.

Electricity is supplied by a pay as you go meter so stock up on 1 and 2 euro coins.

The location is perfect for transport links as the bus service stops right by the building. It's a lovely walk to Valletta or the other way to St Julians via Slima.

There is a convience store which is about 5 minutes walk and the Gala Supermarket just a little further on making self catering easy. Plenty of coffee shops and restaurants in the area. My favourite being the Water Polo Club with its quality food and excellent ambiance and service.

Ivan and Claudia are pleasant and friendly hosts. Help is at hand if you need it but at the same time your privacy is respected. I will be booking again for next year.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2017
Thank you very much for the wonderful review. We are glad that you enjoyed yourself and looking forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertybuoy
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely place... But a little small for a large family”
Reviewed 21 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Such good value for money - Ivan is a great host and very helpful. Apartment was ideal for two of us, as we used the second bedroom as a dressing room.
The rooms are small, but this is more than balanced by the terrific roof terrace- it's got everything you could need... Barbecue, dining table, soft seating, patio heater, hammock, sun beds, shower, hi-if and even a washing machine!!
We barbecued for 10 people in comfort in February and had a great time.
Well located next to local shops and cafes - a short walk from Busy Bee if you enjoy quality local food at really good prices!
Just behind the embassies and multi million euro blocks of flats, so no nice views, but easy access to the marinas or either Sliema to the NE or Pieta/Floriana/Valletta once around Msida creek.
Would definitely use again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam H
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 24 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
4
people found this review helpful

This apartment is in a great location. It is not touristy so you are not bothered at all by touts trying to lure you in to listen to spiels about timeshare. There is a bus stop around the corner to go to Valetta (about 10 minutes on the bus) and Sliema is within easy walking distance in the other direction. There are lots of nice places to eat close by. The apartment was of a good size for both of us and would be okay for a couple with a child. It says that it can accommodate more but personally I think that would be squeeze, and not suitable if privacy is required since the double bed is behind a curtain in the living area and the other double is the sofa bed in the living area. The apartment was acceptably clean and tidy. If you are a light sleeper then earplugs are recommended. There is a fairly busy road below the sun terrace with traffic noise early in the morning, the workings for the lift are outside the front door and could be clearly heard when the lift was in operation. Also, on our last night a downstairs neighbour played loud music until after midnight, not much fun when we had an early start for our flight the next morning. The flat was quite cold and the bedding, as a result, felt damp. There was, however, a gas heater that we made use of to warm the place up. There is parking outside the flats if you hire a car, but if you go out don't come back before 5pm as all the spaces are taken up by local office workers. We felt the cost of the electricity, which had to be paid separately, was pretty expensive. We never watched tv, in fact we turned it off as it was sitting on standby, neither did we have the air conditioning (we turned the standby off on this too) or electric heating on, nor did we cook a lunch or evening meal. We were out most days from 9am until at least 4 pm and then usually out again from 6pm until at least 9pm for our evening meal. In short, electricity was confined to boiling the kettle a couple of times a day, using the toaster once a day, putting on one light in the living room area in the evening, charging up a kindle and 2 mobile phones and using the washing machine on an economy wash twice but somehow in 11 days we managed to get through 60 Euros worth, we were beginning to think we were paying for the Christmas lights in the street below!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The cost of electricity
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harun Ümi...
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2018 for a stay in October 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing