We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful cottage in the South Normandy...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Les Hortensias

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
2 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ducey, Manche, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 2 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Hugh H
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delightful cottage in the South Normandy contryside”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

A very well restored farmhouse in typical Normandy / Brittany design, situated just outside a quiet village in delightful open countryside. Lovely garden although the terrace is exposed to the wind and visible from the road. The cottage was very well equipped with all the usual facilities and no less than four toilets! Everything worked well and our welcome was warm, friendly and very attentive. We had one problem which was dealt with very quickly and efficiently.
We would have given the cottage five stars except for two things: the beds (in very pleasant and well appointed bedrooms) were not comfortable - very hard and very low. The other criticism was the lighting downstairs which was inadequate both in number of lights and their brightness. Very hard to wash up or cook in poor light and reading in the lounge was almost impossible at night. Otherwise, hard to fault the cottage or the hospitality and if the beds and lighting were improved, we would definitely come again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and tranquility in a countryside setting
Liked least: The beds and the poor lighting
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2015
Many thanks for your very kind feedback. We like sharing the spirit of our family house and each vacationer helps us to progress.You have identified some items to improve that's good points. The living room will be changed end of june and lightening modified also. We have choosen quite hard mattress for beds because it's recommended for the back pain but we will take into account your point of softer and higher beds.
You are welcome for a check
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and tranquility
Liked least: beds a little low, mattresses a little hard
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Oct 2014
Many thanks for your review
We love Normandy and the family house we have renovated and we are happy to share this peaceful location with our friend customers.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing