We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare in Knokke” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marie Siska

Marie Siska
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Knokke-Heist
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Marie Siska
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nightmare in Knokke”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

we waited in vain for more than 75 minutes. and than the owner did not appologize, but just told us that he would cancel the order, so that we could leave.

In this tourist trap we weren't surpirised to see a personell. But by the size of the place, we expected reasonable food and a quick dinner.
so after waiting 45 minutes we asked the chief waiter. this man was not interested at all. he did not bother to check in the kitchen, but preferred to just say : 10 more minutes,
when these 10 minutes became 30 minutes, we asked the owner whether anything had gone wrong, or whether dinner was indeed being prepared at that moment.
Mr Arrogance himself than told us to forget about our food, and suggested us to leave.
So we left, after 75 minutes, with an empty stomach and a spoiled evening.

Makes you wonder why such people decided to work in the service industry.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank EwaldV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    19
    7
    9
    60
See reviews for
71
10
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

We were having lunch (bill of over 500 EUR) at the restaurant. Service is arrogant. Quality is bad. PLEASE TELL whoever you know to stay away!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
28 Thank Esmeralda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Knokke-Heist hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Munchen
Level Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

I can only confirm the other reviews. Having a table of 10 people, and a 1 year old baby we asked the waiter for an embrella, to protect the baby, and kids, from the sun (it was 29 degres...) The waiter simply respond us he didn't have time and walked away. We were so shocked that nobody answered. When coming back, we kindly asked him if he could tell us where we could find an umbrella (the foot and support for an embrella is built in the table) and he asked us if we wanted to touch the sweat on his back for us to realize how bussy he is...!!!!!
It went on like this the whole time. When he finally brought us the food (we should have left immediately, but we waited quite a long time for a table and were hungry) he asked us who was going to help him to put fork and knives on the table, nobody replied immediately (we were stunned again) so he threw simply everything on the table....He missed up the drinks with another table. After asking 2 times to bring the right drinks we got them ourselves at the reception. When ordering more waffles, he brought them, but our table was full: he simply pilled some empty plates on our full table, put some glasses away on put them somewhere on the table. We asked if he could take away the empty plates, he just told us he is not responsible for this...
By far the worst service I had in my entire life!!! The waiter was an older man. NEVER EVER GO THERE

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
24 Thank y850tdm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

Having read about the famous waffles at Marie Siska we walked all the way there from our hotel in the middle of Knokke to try them. We arrived and were greeted (coldly) before being seated, when we enquired about a waffle menu we were told they wouldn't be serving them until 2pm as it was Sunday lunch time, not waffle time. We decided to play a round of mini-golf (only good thing about this place) and returned over an hour later. We were seated and once again asked for a waffle menu only to be told they weren't serving waffles for another half an hour. We mentioned to the older lady who was serving us that we had been told to come back at 2pm, this lady responded in an insulting manner, she called out to the waiter who had told us 2 o'clock, they then had a conversation over our heads that we couldn't understand but which blatantly inferred we were lying. She then turned back to us and said "no waffles". Even though I had begun to feel uncomfortable and would rather leave than give them a penny of my money I was actually supposed to be researching restaurants in the area so said we would wait for half an hour and could we have something to drink. We couldn't. We had to order food or get out. I find it hard to understand this level of unpleasantness, or why anyone would choose to dine unfriendly place. Pretty to look at but very ugly underneath.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
20 Thank WellWell_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knokke
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2010

We have been quite a few times to Marie Siska. Everytime service was rather unfriendly and we had to wait for more than 1 hour to get our order. But as the children always had a good time we came back.

This time not only did we have to wait almost one hour and a half, but we were present with very low quality food. The children's chicken was overcooked to the point of barely being eatable, our meat was presented on a plate where it clearly had been lying around for at least half an hour. The vegetables were at least from the day before, the sauce already had a darkened skin on top of it and the french fries were cold. On top of it all, we had a dead fly under our meat.

When asked, the waiter could not see anything wrong. Worse the person responsible told us they do not need "cheap" customers like us (our bill was for almost 250 euros) and that we were way too critical.

DO AVOID.

Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
20 Thank cirrus4700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Knokke-Heist hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel St. Pol.
Hotel St. Pol.
#3 of 32 in Knokke-Heist
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
4.3 km away
Hotel Du Soleil
Hotel Du Soleil
#4 of 32 in Knokke-Heist
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
2.8 km away
La Reserve
La Reserve
#5 of 32 in Knokke-Heist
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Lebeau Hotel Zoute
Lebeau Hotel Zoute
#25 of 32 in Knokke-Heist
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
1.6 km away
Lugano
Lugano
#7 of 32 in Knokke-Heist
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Pavillon du Zoute
Hotel Pavillon du Zoute
#21 of 32 in Knokke-Heist
3.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marie Siska? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marie Siska

Property: Marie Siska
Address: Zoutelaan 177, Knokke-Heist 8300, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Knokke-Heist
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Knokke-Heist
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing